hi people...im just wondering if any of you all know how much roughly cost to build a b20b block with b16a head+ gearbox+ecu last time someone tell me amoil can do for less than RM10k.....thanks in advance for any advice
akuma said:J101,
whoa..now u very fren2 w JC arr??heheh
J101 said:long term business my friend :)
minivan said:Actually... a basic standard 2L conversion is not that powerful... nothing much over a mildly modded b16...
coz a b20 requires a complete job... the simple logic is a bigger block sucks down much more volume of air and fuel mixture. With this, it also would need to release more...
so... headjob has to be comprehensive if you want a more meaningful b20 conversion...
head job would include bigger TB and Intake mani, PnP head, cams with bigger lift and duration... that leads to requiring better valve springs and retainer, adj cam pulleys maybe... then theres the bigger injectors to consider, fuel regulator maybe.... with all that new hardware, you'll want a management or at least a VAFC...
Then theres the exhailing part... properly worked out exhaust piping... usually around 2.5"...
Then theres work to the block itself. After the machining of fit it to the b16 head... you want proper compression, custom pistons are needed... for reliability you may consider the need for oil squitters, block guard, better con rod and con rod bearings...
a b20 conversion requires a complete job... thats why you sometimes you hear stories of b20s kena tapau...
minivan said:Actually... a basic standard 2L conversion is not that powerful... nothing much over a mildly modded b16...
coz a b20 requires a complete job... the simple logic is a bigger block sucks down much more volume of air and fuel mixture. With this, it also would need to release more...
so... headjob has to be comprehensive if you want a more meaningful b20 conversion...
head job would include bigger TB and Intake mani, PnP head, cams with bigger lift and duration... that leads to requiring better valve springs and retainer, adj cam pulleys maybe... then theres the bigger injectors to consider, fuel regulator maybe.... with all that new hardware, you'll want a management or at least a VAFC...
Then theres the exhailing part... properly worked out exhaust piping... usually around 2.5"...
Then theres work to the block itself. After the machining of fit it to the b16 head... you want proper compression, custom pistons are needed... for reliability you may consider the need for oil squitters, block guard, better con rod and con rod bearings...
a b20 conversion requires a complete job... thats why you sometimes you hear stories of b20s kena tapau...
shouldn't different type of header setup leads to different kind of powerband?V8_nutter said:In my opinion, custom parts is the way to go. To have a fast B20,,these parts needs to custom, whole exhaust system & intake manifold. By customizing these parts, we can "tune" the car the way we like.
For the aftermarket products (exhaust & intake) do give horsepower, but we cant tweak the powerband.
V8_nutter said:For the exhaust, saying that b20 requires 2.5 inch piping is a "layman" kind of thingking. Tuners will set/fabricate the exhaust base on compression & setup,,,not cc.
shiroitenshi said:Isn't that what B20 is all about? You can built it up slowly, and upgrade parts along the way.. if K20, 50K is the price of entry + halfcut + mounts and other relevant parts. Adoiiiiii!