B20b????

hi every sifu. i was using 85mm piston in my crv block...currently my car got white smoke came out from the exzos when my vtec on at 5100k...what is the posiblility of problem that having in my car..i think is my piston n link condem so i plan to change all..will there another problem that cause the white smoke out?

mr.arta~u using b20 84mm rite? how much u convert to b20 lst time n wat u have change when u convert to b20

gavinsiew said:
hi every sifu. i was using 85mm piston in my crv block...currently my car got white smoke came out from the exzos when my vtec on at 5100k...what is the posiblility of problem that having in my car..i think is my piston n link condem so i plan to change all..will there another problem that cause the white smoke out?
sounds like lean combustion after vtec on

Bro gavinsiew : Could it be valve seal leaking? :)

Bro ADVAN : Around 2.5K here to swap the block in my area... Change wat ah...Already change to ITR cam, installed VAFC using Jun clone chip,H22 injectors. i'm desperately looking for ITR header and Intake Manifold and bigger mid muffler to open up the breathing.. I've got the intake manifold, now looking for header.. No point using B20 if u restrict the airflow(for me laa...many swap B20 block only is enuff :D), really big difference.. For example, using OEM and aftermarket exhaust on OEM B16/B20 hybrid(even with B16A header n intake manifold) really make big difference.. But to say just swap the block, its reccomended u use H22A injectors and tune it using VAFC. Else the B20 potential seems 'wasted'.. I used F20 injectors before and it don't suit...so i change to H22's. Btw, anyone want my F20 injectors :D ?? Rm150 only :D

If piston ring worned out, u should have white smoke in every rev range even when ur vtec dont engage. If during normal driving it doesn't emit white smoke, then it should ok, normally it's caused by worned out valve seals like sifu ARTA saying.

thanks guys..i hope that it really the valve seals worned...can save a lot money from changing the piston...haih,need to visit my mechanic again...

Bro gavinsiew, u better ask your mech to verify before change, if tats not the cause, dont blame us woh..:D

MY ARTA...of cos i will ask my mech to check for me first..so don worry...i wont blame anybody.

agreed with mr arta n signal... d smoke only come out while vtec engage...? if black smoke normal 2 vtec i guess... white smoke arr... maybe valve springs out of tension while switch 2 hi lobe...

ARTA said:
Oit..i'm not sifu.. :D
arta man or signal man...
have u ever change ur standard oil pump (not fuel pump eh)...? do u have any info for performance oil pump...?

Let me enlighten you guys...

Specs sheet to follow..

B20B Block
B20A Crank
B16A Conrod
86mm piston (Turbo Car piston is better but need to mod the piston head to hi-comp)

MUST DO.
Oil squiter
Block guard
Check engine oil level as often as possible
Call your bank to give your extra credit limit.. Hahahahahahaha

This will give your 2.2L monster..

Xenix said:
Let me enlighten you guys...

Specs sheet to follow..

B20B Block
B20A Crank
B16A Conrod
86mm piston (Turbo Car piston is better but need to mod the piston head to hi-comp)

MUST DO.
Oil squiter
Block guard
Check engine oil level as often as possible
Call your bank to give your extra credit limit.. Hahahahahahaha

This will give your 2.2L monster..
asking pls mr xenix... y use b20a crank...? oil squiter...? :eek:

Xenix,

Is the B16A conrod a typo? I thought oil squiter is something in your piston? Can custom made one? pls enlighten :)

yup, i heard the extra oil squirter is sumthing that aftermarket piston made in their piston. Thanx sifu xenix :D Also, i'm wondering how does the B16A conrod and B20A crank combination gives 95mm stroke ? :)

oil squirters r only found on the dohc vtec blocks. the b20b, b18b blocks do not have them. the b20b, b18b blocks have to be machined to install the squirters. nothing to do with pistons. they serve to cool the pistons down with oil during engine operation.
conrod length has no correlation with the stroke of the engine.
the b20a crank (prelude) has a 95mm stroke, hence shitty conrod to stroke ratio hence not advisable for constant 8-9k revs.