B20B Conversion Discussion

yes... I have xperience on that game as well. From starting till 400M Vtec 2L smoke the VR4!!! the gap almost 1 car behind

cakkang said:
i heard... one of 2L just tapau 2.4L VR4(otai) last few weeks. at Utara zone. any one hear that???

shiroitenshi said:
This is assuming these cars aren't running crazy compression numbers. Remember that these are estimates based on the limitations of having ONLY 4 pistons, short rod ratio, and limited bore widths.. :P

I don't think 2L is good for dragsters, since it's pretty much limited in terms of high RPM.. it has good low end torque though.... but then.. most honda g/boxes are close ratio transmission! (X_X)

I'm going for 2L because I want a powderful daily driver.. :P Then I can mount some stupid ass big-rims with tires and still have enough power to move em'... :P.. High RPM also desired.. but must understand the limitations of a short block... :P (unlike the mat salleh with thier tall blocks that poke out the hood)

For me, I think B18CR has more potential for high-rpm specific applications. :P But the price kills most people.. since it's close to the price of a built B20B.

never underestimate that. with a professionally built engine, you can rev up to 11,000 with a b20b block. for drag racing only lah.. the r/s ratio theory is sometimes has been overstated....

zaki said:
never underestimate that. with a professionally built engine, you can rev up to 11,000 with a b20b block. for drag racing only lah.. the r/s ratio theory is sometimes has been overstated....

True.. the r/s theory is just a guide to building 'streetable', reliable engines.
With the exception of the 2.3L.. the 2.0 and 2.1L is quite reliable if you don't rev the shit of of them.

Even a stroked and bored 2.3 litre B20B can eat the sleeves like nobody's business.. and that's not a daily driven car.. (O_o)

With racing.. those rules can be bent and broken..

revving up to 11K puts a lot of wear on a lot of parts... for the average unsponsored enthusiast.. mati lo!!! :P

That's why my numbers you might say on the low side...

But I think the mat salleh still err on the side of caution and run longer rods in their setup.. which is why adding height to the stock block is 'marketable' there.

hattech-v said:
ok guys... here we go... some pics to differentiate between type r block n b20b block...

typer-2l-block-compare.jpg

good pics....now those JPJ and police can easily check out the engine number been punched or not....die laa we all b20 punya.........

why? B20B can be JPJ approved mah.. got a few done before.

It's your fault you want to 'disguise' your B20 as something else so you can tapau B16A fellas.. :P

aiyaaa... its very easy to identify the b20b block...
btw, i did send this pic to jpj last 2 years ago.... :P

hattech-v said:
btw, i did send this pic to jpj last 2 years ago.... :P

avantech is working on a partnership with JPJ all this time :regular_smile:

hattech-v said:
ok guys... here we go... some pics to differentiate between type r block n b20b block...

typer-2l-block-compare.jpg

Just noticed that the B16B block and head is similar to B16A..It's oso like the B16A when I went and check.. (O_o)

b-eater said:
avantech is working on a partnership with JPJ all this time :regular_smile:

haha no laa...
actually its good only for education purpose...
we work closely with the MOE.. to educate the secondary students to learn somthing about honda engine... haha

shiroitenshi said:
True.. the r/s theory is just a guide to building 'streetable', reliable engines.
With the exception of the 2.3L.. the 2.0 and 2.1L is quite reliable if you don't rev the shit of of them.

Even a stroked and bored 2.3 litre B20B can eat the sleeves like nobody's business.. and that's not a daily driven car.. (O_o)

With racing.. those rules can be bent and broken..

revving up to 11K puts a lot of wear on a lot of parts... for the average unsponsored enthusiast.. mati lo!!! :P

That's why my numbers you might say on the low side...

But I think the mat salleh still err on the side of caution and run longer rods in their setup.. which is why adding height to the stock block is 'marketable' there.

Stock block can "tahan" if you know which crank and conrod to use. Currently there are a few teams playing 11,000rpm in KL . So these numbers is not magical anymore. B20 is suitable for drag providing they know what parts to use:mouth_closed:

2 years back, yes most of the team still playing 9200-9500 rpm with a bent conrod, but now 11,000 "cincai' already. For your info, 11,000rpm will do 12 flat at Sepang.

V8_nutter said:
Stock block can "tahan" if you know which crank and conrod to use. Currently there are a few teams playing 11,000rpm in KL . So these numbers is not magical anymore. B20 is suitable for drag providing they know what parts to use:mouth_closed:

2 years back, yes most of the team still playing 9200-9500 rpm with a bent conrod, but now 11,000 "cincai' already. For your info, 11,000rpm will do 12 flat at Sepang.

This "cincai" 11k rpm is 2L or 1.7L in stock block b20?

There is a Honda OEM combo that can rev 11k, but only 1.7L in stock block b20...

Ha ha... I'm not saying this 1.7L can do flat 12 or even 13 at sepang, but it can rev 11k only.. and its utilize only honda oem parts.. no superlite I-beam rod and no arp2000 rod bolt!

hattech-v said:
block n head similar which part?

Those two arrows pointing at those parts.. B16A is also like that..

V8_nutter.. thanks for the info.. still.. I don't think your idea of 'lastability' on those kinds of setup is for the daily driver.. more like for a competitive drag team of enthusiasts.. :P

hattech-v said:
btw, i did send this pic to jpj last 2 years ago.... :P[/QUO

grrrrrrrrrr:baring_teeth: ............eheheheh :P

shiroitenshi said:
why? B20B can be JPJ approved mah.. got a few done before.

It's your fault you want to 'disguise' your B20 as something else so you can tapau B16A fellas.. :P

b20 tapau b16a????beware bro......:P