B20b????

suggest stick with 84mm forged piston for reliability, just nicely fitted into b20b without bore. if u have budget, u may also replace the b20b conrod n crank with b18c-r conrod n crank(a few things to b done in the block). toda type-C. twin power. e-manage. nice hi rev.... i've tried it on my car...nice feel:) dynoed 215.7hp@8208rpm, 196Nm@5642rpm. just wanna share......dont flame me ar......

basahboy said:
For starters no need TODA or JE forged pistons...you can increase the comp of your B20B block in a lot of ways..but again, you want reliability, it comes with a price...block b20b with 85mm JE piston is being sold at N1 for about 4.5k...you can check with desmond...with TODA, more expensive...my mechanic uses a 1.8L block with 85mm TODA piston...plus the bore charges close to RM8K...

i suggest co with the basics and ask your foreman to increase the comp to 12.1 (if you want)...play around with it and if you are not satisfied then go for forged...again...putting in the piston is not as simple as plug and play...it is a complete overhaul and engine balancing is a must...so again, do you want to go through it again or just one time terus kari taruk semua...your call....for me, stick with the OEM (more reliable) and buy Haltech or ApexI FC...they can tune your car up to 20% increase for NA....so with the recommended set up you can get about 205- 210whp...take that against a 20% decrease to the crank you get...250hp...BUT your torque would be gilerrr.....

wei taiko.....when wanna meet up??? say wanna yam cha since the last time....
hey come out ler... i will bring along a few evo 6 frens. v both take them for supper ok??? wakakakaka

Jun_EK9 said:
thicker than usual i guess

basah boy.. where is workshop located? near pandan indah snooker there o not?

sorri geng...was outstation....

ah lai workshop at pandan indah industrial park....his workshop is full of lorries as that is full time business....

ARTA said:
Piston Size -- Compression B16A --Compression B16B --Compression B18C-R
81.00mm --11.6 : 1 --11.0 : 1 --12.3 : 1
81.25mm --11.7 : 1 --11.1 : 1 --12.4 : 1
81.50mm --11.7 : 1 --11.1 : 1 --12.4 : 1
82.00mm --11.9 : 1 --11.3 : 1 --12.6 : 1

For convenience , here's the list of high comp forged piston offered by TODA, never seen any 84mm in any 2003 TODA catalogue. :) 85mm for B20 got la... Can even find it in AMOIL if i'm not mistaken, it also can be found in the webpage Bro SiGNAL quoted :D
sifu arta... do u know wat actually cr if b16b piston mix to b16a...? some said 12.1 some said 11.1...????? very scare la wanna try...

Assuming you use OEM head gasket, (u only mentioned B16B piston rite..) the CR is calculated to be 10.8

basahboy said:
sorri geng...was outstation....

ah lai workshop at pandan indah industrial park....his workshop is full of lorries as that is full time business....

thanx..but indah industrial park is very big!! which part?izit near the old redsun?

zamrioo2 said:
sifu arta... do u know wat actually cr if b16b piston mix to b16a...? some said 12.1 some said 11.1...????? very scare la wanna try...
mr arta...
how come 10.8... bcoz the b16a block shorter... errr... confuse le... sorry if i'm wrong...

U see bro zamrioo2, U mentioned using B16B piston, so i only assume that u ONLY have B16B piston replaced with the stock B16A's piston. The CR for stock small V (PR3) is 10.2 , so assume u use B16B piston (PCT) on B16A head, block, with OEM head gasket, and piston to deck height remained same since OEM B16A and B16B's the same. So, u get the CR 10.8, close to 11...but not 11

I assume u only change the piston to B16B's. B16B piston have bigger piston dome displacement, so u get higher CR compared to B16A's. 10.8 is the only CR u get unless u use a metal head gasket or thin gasket or skimmed head...then tats different story....

Changing to B16B head and block wont make any changes to the CR either as it gives the same CR as the B16A's . Unless u change to JDM B18C5 block using JDM B18C5 piston, tat will give CR 11.1 (but JDM B18C1 using JDM B18C1 piston will give 10.38 CR. Using JDM B18C1 block on a B16A head will give lower CR compared to using it on a JDM B18C1 head) Other factor like skimming head and use of thin head gasket will also be taken into account.

ARTA said:
Changing to B16B head and block wont make any changes to the CR either as it gives the same CR as the B16A's . Unless u change to JDM B18C5 block using JDM B18C5 piston, tat will give CR 11.1 (but JDM B18C1 using JDM B18C1 piston will give 10.38 CR. Using JDM B18C1 block on a B16A head will give lower CR compared to using it on a JDM B18C1 head) Other factor like skimming head and use of thin head gasket will also be taken into account.
mr. arta...
thanx 4 d info... with ur explaination... i get more confuse... from wat i red... cr seem like linear to com in cylinders... from wat i understood from ur statement... cr is not related with comp in cylinders... m i rite...? if u don't mind... would u give me more explaination about link between comp n cr... tq...

zamrioo2 said:
mr. arta...
thanx 4 d info... with ur explaination... i get more confuse... from wat i red... cr seem like linear to com in cylinders... from wat i understood from ur statement... cr is not related with comp in cylinders... m i rite...? if u don't mind... would u give me more explaination about link between comp n cr... tq...

I was just simply giving you comparison of wat CR u get from different combination. of head and blocks with their OEM pistons. Wat do u mean by comp??
Ok, just simple, if u do nothing else, just by changing the B16B piston, the CR will increase,not too much like up to 12. Assuming u ONLY change piston, the only thing that make CR change is the piston dome displacement (u see the pointed or dome head on the B16B piston ?) i dun get your meaning "cr seem like linear to com in cylinders". Are you saying that as comp increase , the cr increase?? Also plz define your "comp" Btw, u also mentioned that i said CR is not related with comp in cylinder. CR IS comp in cylinder. Sorry , maybe i'm bad in explaining. ;)

zamrioo2,

CR = Compression Ratio in each cylinder. B16A and B16B has the same bore x stroke therefore swapping pistons will not increase compression ratio. yes b16a is a shorter block compared to B16B but because of the same bore x stroke, the compression ratio remains 10.8 which is the same as b16b. The short/long block only comes into play when you wanna stroke up (ie installing stroker kits). That's the reason why b16a can only fit 1.8L stroker kits while b16b can fit 2.0L stroker kits.

Hope this clears your confusion.

guyz, i need your help.... im still a newbie here

if I run a b16a std, jz change the pistons to OEM b16b....wats the diff? compression ratio stay same?

SiGNAL : Well put. i think tat answered zamrioo's doubt. Thanx :D

Bro TODA: like me and SiGNAL mentioned previously, yes, COMPARED to B16A's. Like your case, it should have 10.8 CR in your engine now. CR has changed from your B16A's 10.4 to B16B's 10.8

ARTA said:
I was just simply giving you comparison of wat CR u get from different combination. of head and blocks with their OEM pistons. Wat do u mean by comp??
Ok, just simple, if u do nothing else, just by changing the B16B piston, the CR will increase,not too much like up to 12. Assuming u ONLY change piston, the only thing that make CR change is the piston dome displacement (u see the pointed or dome head on the B16B piston ?) i dun get your meaning "cr seem like linear to com in cylinders". Are you saying that as comp increase , the cr increase?? Also plz define your "comp" Btw, u also mentioned that i said CR is not related with comp in cylinder. CR IS comp in cylinder. Sorry , maybe i'm bad in explaining. ;)
hmmm... b4 this... my mech had checked my compression in each cylinder with ... (sorry... i dun know what name of d equipment)... it shown 16... ( sori once more... i didn't get d parameter) i asked him y the compression too hi... he said it's normal in most na engines... i told him about cr 10.4.1... he replied... ooo... that is cr... the equipment juz shows actual compression in cylinder... so mr arta... i duno how to ask u... but from wat i know... if we reducing head to block clearence... automatically d compression increase rite...? eg: using thinner gasket, milling head n so on also replacing b16b piston... ( as we know... the b16b piston has higher crown n dome)

Maybe i wasnt clear wif wat u mentioned as the 'comp', yup tats different with CR.
Bout the CR,
bro...plz read carefully...i never say it wont increase. :)also, all this time i was talking bout only swapping to B16B piston ONLY. If u were to mention previously bout head skimming, thinner gasket, yes, it will increase the CR even higher. Changing the piston will ONLY give u up to B16B's CR which is 10.8 since the STROKE and BORE is SAME between B16A AND B16B. U see, B16A's 10.4, after u change B16B piston it becomes 10.8. Isnt there an increase ? So, i never say it wont increase :D So u say by reducing head to block clearence, there shud be increase in CR. Yes, there will be an increase but u never mentioned anything bout reducing the clearance, so all this time i assumed u did no other changes than B16B piston swap. ;)