B8 owners... let's share your B8's experience

wanted to ask all the sifu do they know this guy by the name VTEC FEH LOH ??? my friend is converting his vtec from him ...it seems he said he has an eg than can tapau any turbo in 400m ....
my friend car is dropping in a B16A engine it seems the engine is done up from japan but donno what la he is going to use 2.0 block 2.0 pistons and DC5 cams inside .....he wants to play with my couz B8 ....the B8 is stock but boost running at 0.9 can the B8 makan the vtec ???
thank u

looks like one more vtec is going to get smoke by mazda .....
every 5meters throw one langsat.....
jarsofclay u know what i mean...

rajie said:
wanted to ask all the sifu do they know this guy by the name VTEC FEH LOH ??? my friend is converting his vtec from him ...it seems he said he has an eg than can tapau any turbo in 400m ....
my friend car is dropping in a B16A engine it seems the engine is done up from japan but donno what la he is going to use 2.0 block 2.0 pistons and DC5 cams inside .....he wants to play with my couz B8 ....the B8 is stock but boost running at 0.9 can the B8 makan the vtec ???
thank u

uhm...quarter mile with proper launching would give the vtec a hard time bro...good luck...just make sure boost is consistent throughout all gears...

dun give in any lesser than quarter mile...

B16A/B0B 2 liter hybird VTEC can be pretty fast, but also can be very very unreliable if the engine is not setup properly. Items like block guard, bigger cooling system, lower temp termostat, proper fueling, and sometimes, oil coolers deem necessary if one were to build a powerful 2 liter hybrid. The rule of thumb, dissipate as much heat as possible. Max rev will need to be lowered to maintain a reliable drive. The reason is simple; undersquare engines are not rev-happy engines.

provided if both the cars are healthy, it will be a close fight. Either sides has a chance to win (if not, why ask a b8 to play? better play with kancil, right?).

What's more important is off the line acceleration. turbocharged cars have greater torque, which also off the line will be quite tricky. Unless do like our taiko tkk, pour in 20 bucks of fuel, and practise and practise and practise launching skill :retarded:. Experienced vtec boys can launch their cars at as high as 7000rpm (heck, that's already rev cut for b8s).

Jez my 2 cents.

Anyways, good luck. Let us know the result, ya?

Cheers.

rajie said:
thank u

Did you just said DC5 cams into B16A head? That's not possible chief!

rajie said:
thank u

talking of rev at launching.. what is the best rev to maintain in order launch properly.. minimal wheel spin, boost maintain.. how arr? giv some tips laa taiko

vf10,
this is a very subjective question la. it all depends on the setup of the car. ie x torque produced at y rpm, tyre selection (normal or semi slick etc), weigh of car etc etc etc.

better ask tunjuk ajar from tkk

VF10 said:
talking of rev at launching.. what is the best rev to maintain in order launch properly.. minimal wheel spin, boost maintain.. how arr? giv some tips laa taiko

normal tyre laa.. where got money to use slick tyre daily driving lor.heheh

5krpm? no joke kaa man? sure tyre wont spin like hell arr? hahaha

i think 5k too high d..unless ur torque for 1st gear is really high...
mayb4-4.5 to minimise wheel spin...

about the cams i was also wondering some people also told me that DC5 setuf is different than B16a and the cams cannot fit in ..... we shall wait and see how fast is his car with the 2.0 things inside .... currently the B8 is a stock wan but going to drop in a VF10 turbo, feul regulator, and bigger injectors and boost will be at 1.0 bar....

VF10 said:
normal tyre laa.. where got money to use slick tyre daily driving lor.heheh

5krpm? no joke kaa man? sure tyre wont spin like hell arr? hahaha

5k no joke ehehee
for vtec mah
b8 also can if u can launch la
ehhehehehee

but i dont know how to launch properly also with 3000 or 3500
so dont ask me
eheheheheh

i am just a noob come out buat kacau only
:cyclops:

i've tried to lauch at 4k rpm....no way i can control unless i let go pedal....i've tried 3k+ spin less....im still using the clutch from the halfcut....hehehe...still can pakai....

ya laa... 4k n above confirm my tyre spins & burning rubber...

hahaha... my problem with revving 6k & above still not settled lar.. fuel pump changed... the only thing i haven't change is the spark plug.. iridium good arr? some one sell HKS iridium (2nd hand)... which one u think better? NGK, Denso or HKS?