Bigger Rims

sas_world

Hi ya,

i know there are many wheels/rims/tyres sifus in this forum..

i wanna know, before i start upgrading my rims size, will i lose power in terms of acceleration, high speed, bhp and torque after i change for bigger rims size??

if there will be some loss,
1) how much loss will i get?
2) can i really feel the differences?

I'm aiming to change my rims from 16inch to 19inch with 235 front and 265(or 255) rear tyres..

i'm aware i will damage the shocks and crack the rims if the wheels are too big..

please advise me.. :confused:

cheers!

of coz the heavier ur rims, the slower pickup u'll get... so if u wanna change into larger rims, prepare to lose some acceleration.. larger rims should be good and stable on cornering as larger amount of tyre will be touching the ground to provide grip (the bigger the rims, the wider they are rite??)... as for ride comfort, according to AAM, it would be less... i'm not sure about this coz since the car is more stable, why uncomfortable pulak??...

anyway, thats the theory i have... practicality, i havent changed any rims before... so, no experence to tell u... muahhahaa...

dude what car are u driving? its always recomended to get a inch or 2 from the standard rims size.....but its up to u anyway...if u want for looks and dont mind the car slowing down then can get a big (bling bling wheels) hehehe but bigger rims need smaller tyres( low profile) and will be much more expansive..

heheh... I guess if u r driving a CLK, don't need to care about the slight power loss.. best go bling bling..

yerp...no need to worry abt power loss and $$$ hehhe
do get 18 or 19 inch wheels
get low profile tyres...walla...a perfect ride..... :)

part 1

bigger rims less comfortable because you ahve more contact. more feedback, especially if your tyres are thin. with all the uneven surface, you won't need the in car massage :D

judgong by the width diff, I'm guessing you're driving a RWD or at least a AWD, with more power to the rear wheels. If not, then your rear wheel would be adding a lot of drag. Especially if FWD and your changing for looks.

In terms of power, the larger wheels(hence tyres) changes the gear ratio. The only way is to keep the new and old tyre diameters the same, but might mean you have to get really thin tyres. Not really advisable in M'sia. Unless of course you opt for a change in gear ratio :D

Its not easy to say how much % of accel will be lost.. but generally a larger rim wheel be heavier to spun up due to more rotational weight at the outer diameter of the wheel (due to the wheel is wider and weight is further from the center)

Diff u will feel is better handling performance due to wider contact patch and a bit more vibration due to the thin tyres (less ability to absorb shock), abit slower acceleration, however cruising at high speed is better..

modmaestro....our taiko here is driving a merc clk..hehehehhe
anyway with bigger rims and if yr car is lowered...u will get better cornering and stability because when yr car is low the center of gravity is lower and thus it will be more stabil.
but about comfort i dont think it will effect much as the merc clk is already comfort enuff ( good)

part 2

here's a handy formula for determining the tyre diameter and your ratio

tyre diamater = 2 x (section width x aspect ratio/2540) + rim diameter.

so let say you use 195/60/16 OEM

tire diameter = 2 x (195 x 60/2540) + rim diameter. thus meaning you have 25.2 inch diameter

now let say you go up to 265/40/19

then using the formula, you have a new diameter of 27.3. an increase of 2 inches.

the solution for this is to either reduce the tyre thickness(which is not really advisable) or tyre width, change the gear ratio or up the horsepower.

in case you want to change the ratio(but your CLK wouldn't be a manual one, would it) the formula is this

effective ratio = (old tyre diameter/new tyre diameter) x original ratio.

this won't exactly solve your power loss problem completely. At least you can choose wheter to sacrifice acceleration on launch or your top speed.

Thank you so much sifus-sifus!!! :D

I've changed my spring for H&R, hence the car is already lowered.. just it is not enough bling! :rolleyes:

ANyway, there must be a lot wheel sifus there!!

Please, i need more advise!!

Cheers!

eh sas_world

CLK comes with 16s ka? I change my rims, going up 3 inches from oem. top speed ceiling drop from 190km/h to just 165km/h, I drive a Volvo la.

but going to put power mods, so that balance out. lowered would be a problem if you keep the original track, put spacer.

erm, my own opinion, i've used a jrd 15" which is damn heavy before and i did use an RP01 japan made which is quite light and now kspeed te37 which is moderate.

all i can say is, u won't feel any difference except for high FC, and bad uphill driving

- make sure you get the correct wheel width & offset , do google search for offset info
- make sure you get the right tyre ( aspect ratio - 45/40/35 ) , too small will make ride little bit more uncomfortable. choose the one that suit you
- think about camber as well , you might wanna get some camber adjustment kit ( too wide/too thin/too -ve camber not good )

my 2cents.

i was told that if you go from 14" to 17", your speedometer will not be accurate,
any workshop at Klang valley can do the adjustment for speedometer?

samurai

yeah, I think the rule is PlusZero, PlusOne and PlusTwo. Above that, your speedo would not read correctly. Dunno exactly what the rules are though.

you should be able to adjust your speedo at most of the shops with a dyno. not sure if they can do it without one though.and they have to know the ECU of your car as well.