BMW SR20DET\Convert JAP FORUM HERE!!

mista_M...ikut mekanik kat tmpat u la..kalau mekanik tu pro conti-japs...bleh la masuk japs engine..kalau x brapa expert...maintain ori engine...belambak kat sana..kat msia ni h.cut e30 dh pupus n harga melambung...so..think wisely like bro fardell said...if u are highway cruiser better go for bmw engines...if u are traffic light crazy...go for japs...

Safwan, indeed the half cut for E30 is in its extinction stage but as an alternative way, there are E34 half cuts available,I mean the M20 engine model. If not mistaken, these engine are actually cheaper than a 1JZ or RB20 but IMHO the price is very attractive. There is nothing much to do when transplanting this engine into the E30 as the mounting is the same but need to redo the wiring system, IMHO the best time to do it when transplanting this engine. Mista_m I have used an E34 520i (converted to M20B25B engine) and u said that there not enough power, i think you need to do your homework again bro, the torque was immense that one who is not an expert in handling a Bimmer might end up on a divider. That's why I have always appreciate the German technologies.

Converting into a Japanese engine may sounds pleasing for you as you get yourself instant power but, you IMHO may have wasted a huge sum of money whereby if u use the original engine, you save a lot a lot of money. In my case for example, I only spent RM10,000 to rebuild back my 16 year old ride and these including respray the car, overhauling the gearbox and other miscellaneous expenses. A simple math will do bro. Cheers...

e34 same price with e30 rm 3.5k-6k...e36 318is/318ti rm5.5k-7k...my car already have rb20 inside..so rebuid my rb20...i think to put back m20 but u know la fardell...i'm independent on this topic..huhu...i have my own e30 with japs engine and i know m20 is very "sedap"...but sometimes when i think back i feel satisfy with rb20 that served for me almost 4years (6years include previous owner) without any problem...just change wear n tear parts and do some mounting work...so mista_M...if u are already use ori engine...dont swap it to japs if ur engine still good...if already kaput then just ask your pocket and decide japs or bmw...

e34 same price with e30...about 3.5-6k..for me...i'm not interested at e34 h.cut because i want to use bodypart,interior and engine...before i rebuid back my rb20...i think to put back m20 but price too costly...let say..h.cut rm4.5k..labour cost 2k...wear and tear 2k..total 8.5k..huhu...can get another std e30...better i buy another e30...right fardell?i can enjoy both if my e30..haha..for mista_M if u are using ori engine and still in good cond..dont swap to japs...lot of parts available there...use that opportunity..if u come back here nothing u can do...very2 pricey here...huhu..right mr fardell?

hye guys..tanx for those info..
ya.. i agree wit mr orange n mr fardell also..but to be honest iv been thinking abt a bmw wit a jap motor since long time..n yipp u cn say that the bmw engine is powerfull with high torque and what..
but frankly speak,how much do u need to put out cash in order to get that 325i motor the same capabiltity like the japs motor.
-if i got bundle of cash i totally wont disturb the bmw engine coz i know iv got the bucks for all the performance stuff..but in my case here(act not only my case, i guess plenty of others) im still a student and im nutts of pulling the 1st,2nd,3rd at a trafick light,stop junction,or jus anywhere..the thing is must just think before decide it..
but btw..tanx for the info..really helpd..tanx mr orange n fardell :)

tanx drug addict..man id really lov if u cn post sum of ur pix :)
owhh depends on the mech laa ek..how he mounts evrything..i kinda know this one guy he said he know 1 mech in durban(s.africa) thats using a 325i with turbo mode..he said d guy knows around abt bmw..so mybe cn try my luck..hehe..

btw..drug addict..capetown bro..
ur nickname is so so so perfect in capetown dude..hehhee..if u mish,u cn always drop by in s.a id b honour to take u around but only after my project is success laa k..hehe..

tax dude..happy new year to all..

hye guys..tanx for those info..
ya.. i agree wit mr orange n mr fardell also..but to be honest iv been thinking abt a bmw wit a jap motor since long time..n yipp u cn say that the bmw engine is powerfull with high torque and what..
but frankly speak,how much do u need to put out cash in order to get that 325i motor the same capabiltity like the japs motor.
-if i got bundle of cash i totally wont disturb the bmw engine coz i know iv got the bucks for all the performance stuff..but in my case here(act not only my case, i guess plenty of others) im still a student and im nutts of pulling the 1st,2nd,3rd at a trafick light,stop junction,or jus anywhere..the thing is must just think before decide it..
but btw..tanx for the info..really helpd..tanx mr orange n fardell :)

Bro, how much money that you need to invest bro? Like I mentioned earlier, a simple math will do. Have u done your homework bro by surveying around the prices for Bimmers? It is ok that you are more into japs engine swapping but trust me, you are going to regret it in the long run.

watch

I remembered a race tuner wrote in an article that if it's just hp you're worried about, don't be. Just because you have more hp doesn't mean the car can perform better. Just because the specs of the German tech is not on par with a twin turbo Jap performance car doesn't mean it won't feel as good. If a 500hp car can go 10 seconds in a quarter mile, does that mean a 1000hp car can go half of that?

Since you're still studying, I recall that when I was still studying I was surrounded by jap performances because it was and still is popular. I think what surrounds us will influence in what we will go for. I almost changed my engine to an RB26 but in the end I didn't when I discovered that Germans also had their performance machines. Even if you don't get to buy any German performance parts or engines, check out what you can do by research online on E30 performances. Good stuff!! Or.... just a suggestion... go and surround yourself with BMW owners who are into performances and see what they'd have to say!!

Nass, well said nass...btw watch this....[youtube]jj2sVPv6aS8&feature=related[/youtube]

guyz............is there anyone in this thread and on this forum has installed a apexi pen type turbo timer onto a bmw e34 model m20?

i need some guide lines to install it onto my car,i'd like to know where does the white wire for taping the A/F ratio, goes to which pin of the computer box
(0 261 200 173).

Anyone has experience with this please teach me how to do it.....help is much appriciated.......thanks...... =)

hi guy.. need ur opinion.. im currently drive E30 wit RB20DET.. im plannin to change to RB25DEt or SR20DET, coz my RB now running almost 160k already. or juz rebuilt the RB20? wat o u guys think?
i love boost!!!! n boobs also! hahhaha

Bump: hi guy.. need ur opinion.. im currently drive E30 wit RB20DET.. im plannin to change to RB25DEt or SR20DET, coz my RB now running almost 160k already. or juz rebuilt the RB20? wat o u guys think?
i love boost!!!! n boobs also! hahhaha

hahhaa seriously 1j? hard to find wit manual.. how bout 2j? hehe... i read in internet bout the aussie people do the convertion wit 1j.. complete with picturess.. step by step.. fuh!!! very high skill workmanship!!!

Bump: hahhaa seriously 1j? hard to find wit manual.. how bout 2j? hehe... i read in internet bout the aussie people do the convertion wit 1j.. complete with picturess.. step by step.. fuh!!! very high skill workmanship!!!

hey, is this thread dead already? come on la. keep posting liao. i know a lot of alfa/audi/bmw owners want to convert to japanese engine as well

Bump: hey, is this thread dead already? come on la. keep posting liao. i know a lot of alfa/audi/bmw owners want to convert to japanese engine as well

Nothing to say bro..... originality is way to go.......

Bump: Nothing to say bro..... originality is way to go.......

nice. you are pouring cold water onto our heads. i bet you really dislike the bmw z3 with rotary engine featured in zth?? hehe

Bump: nice. you are pouring cold water onto our heads. i bet you really dislike the bmw z3 with rotary engine featured in zth?? hehe

waa...1jz ...must be tight rite...huhu...
want it on my e30!!..:bawling:

Hi bro2 n senior2..

let me introduce myself.. im currently owned BMW e46 with SR20DET black top engine.. i hv no complaint with the performance. the only problem i face is the long shaft.. at 1st its vibrate like hell and after checking and redo now its still vibrate llittle bit..

so really appriciate if bro2 know or recommend to me.. which the best and good workshop for me to solve this problem.. workshop who are reallly expert with the convertion BMW to japanese engine..

Thanks..

Bump: Hi bro2 n senior2..

let me introduce myself.. im currently owned BMW e46 with SR20DET black top engine.. i hv no complaint with the performance. the only problem i face is the long shaft.. at 1st its vibrate like hell and after checking and redo now its still vibrate llittle bit..

so really appriciate if bro2 know or recommend to me.. which the best and good workshop for me to solve this problem.. workshop who are reallly expert with the convertion BMW to japanese engine..

Thanks..