Braking Techniques

ABS - Aku Brake Selamat

just to add on!!

but seriously....manual ABS - Brake + Shift Gear + Navigate Steering (All at the same time!!) I doubt that anyone in an emergency situation would be able to pump & pump & pump & pump & pump & pump the brakes in split seconds....

Ya boon........!!!!
Agree with u.....!!!
Saying is useless - Just becarefulll while driving n pay more attention is enough....!!!!!
Get enough sleep n drink some energy drinkz...!!!! Or get some (MARY+JANE) u might stoned but for sure is slow... ah ah ah ah ah aha aha..!!!
Damned...!!

I think talk is easy la.... I did encounter that situation once, was in outer right lane (3rd lane) and this frickin motorbike come cut in from outer left (1st lane) to my lane, motorbike is at 40kmh or less, I am doing 140kmh or less.... distance easily 100m
Saw that ba$tard, with my knowledge on wheel locking, and also everytime say tap the brake, gradually, reduce lockup, minimize braking distance and such, I slammed the brake still.... :emoticon_U:

Laid a few meter of Pirelli rubber on the road, and I bumped on the motorbike's ass, luckily he didn't fall and unfortunately he didn't die :baring_teeth:

So conclusion is, don't speed on federal road, all you need is an idiot (+ yourself) to make your day. Events happened a year back, so I think it's safe to relate the issue:Not_Impressed:

That's why better not speed:Not_Impressed:
Was speeding once....tailled a Gen2 (over 100km/h), cut back to the slow lane intending to overtake him. Once the head of the car got to the slow lane; saw a freaking bike with 2 ppl driving slowly in the MIDDLE of the slow lane!!:confused_smile:
First instinct, slam the brake! Turn the steering back to fast lane. Next thing I know, the front of my car is going hairwire......left n right, left n right; but lucky the only thing I left that night was only the tire skid marks on the road!
Was driving an auto with ABS system somoe.
All the while my foot is glued to the brake! until the car route returns to normal tahn I release :emoticon_U:

SO NO SPEEDING!!

i think the secret to good braking is to know ur cars limits..and also never ever to jam the brakes as u will always loose control by doing so...
as long as u know the how much distance is needed to stop from a certain speed..u can always stop..

*not applicable if some asshole suddenly just brake infront of u..then u reaction time will help u *

b00n said:
dude....if ur in 4th gear while stepping on the brake, would u have any torque to move ur car if u dun shift down the gear after braking??
Just dun put the gear into nuetral and step on the clucth completely while braking....that's my personal advice, i prefer to have the gear still engaged while braking......just incase!
bro boon, thanks for ur explanation.....:)
let say if 1 drivin auto tranny... do he/she need to shift down to d3 meanwhile pressing on the brake pedal?

redbluez18 said:
bro boon, thanks for ur explanation.....:)
let say if 1 drivin auto tranny... do he/she need to shift down to d3 meanwhile pressing on the brake pedal?

haha...of cos no ler dude.....what the guys are saying is on manual transmission.
I think it was discouraged to shift your auto gear too often. It's not encouraged to always start with D3, than D2, than back to D. Auto tranny is not meant for ferocious driving.
To me, I still prefer manual, but driving in KL is torturing without auto.....so no choice. Braking and handling is better and safer with manual transmission. That's my personal opinion. With auto, better drive slow and safe! wat the heck!! for all types of transmission, it's still better to drive safe!!!

for me...let's say i am going on 5th gear
downshift heel and toe match rev to 3rd donwshift..well u brake at the same time while u downshifting
.after downshifting..i just press harder and when it is lock let go abit and brake again.
BUT >>> you must see what is the speed and how fast you are going.
you got the best braking technique or brake system also.If you are speeding at the speed where the distance require is longer than the distance you have,you just do not have enuff time to stop.UNLESS u have a very clever comp to help you to brake.Dun forget we are talking about react in 1-3seconds while we are going that speed with not enuff distance to brake.I remember from discovery channel,calculate the time our eye SEE to our brain THINK then to our body to REACT already take out part of the Respone time.

oh ya..my way need alot of pratice coz if dun..sekali miss que then it is kiss ass time

whats with all the brake tapping?

During emergency brake you need all the braking power you can get. Even 5% more braking power is needed sometimes, so long as you do not lock your brakes...

I was once about an inch from collision during emergency braking.

redbluez18 said:
Why some of ppl will like to shift down the gear then after step the brakes? Can anyone enlightened me y they do so(shifting down gear)?
People downshift because when you do that, your engine naturally runs at a higher rev and unless you step on the accelerator, it will actually slow the car down. Well, of course you do not downshift to say the 2nd gear at a speed of say 150km/h. That would spoil your engine.

Have you ever noticed a road sign by the side of the road whenever you are going downhills for quite a distance that asks you to use low gear when decending the hill? It's also for the same reason that we are asked to do so. When you go downhill and added by the fact that the forward momentum is more, you typically need more brake pressure to reduce the speed of the car and that naturally adds to more brake friction and hence more heat. This eventually leads to your brakes overheating after prolonged use. To reduce the brake usage, we use low gears to aid in the braking of the car. We call this engine braking.

Well, just my two cents and I hope I have enlightened you somewhat. :)

TiBuN said:
I think talk is easy la.... I did encounter that situation once, was in outer right lane (3rd lane) and this frickin motorbike come cut in from outer left (1st lane) to my lane, motorbike is at 40kmh or less, I am doing 140kmh or less.... distance easily 100m
Saw that ba$tard, with my knowledge on wheel locking, and also everytime say tap the brake, gradually, reduce lockup, minimize braking distance and such, I slammed the brake still.... :emoticon_U:

Laid a few meter of Pirelli rubber on the road, and I bumped on the motorbike's ass, luckily he didn't fall and unfortunately he didn't die :baring_teeth:

So conclusion is, don't speed on federal road, all you need is an idiot (+ yourself) to make your day. Events happened a year back, so I think it's safe to relate the issue:Not_Impressed:
Exactly. People keep saying there is no use for an ABS and they can manually tap on it. My opinion is when there is an emergency, we have no time to think. It's just reflex and our natural reflex is to slam on the brakes thinking it will actually give maximum brake pressure, without thinking about the wheel lockup. Unless you are a professional driver who has been trained for years to handle these kinda situations, I don't see you having the brake tapping skill as a natural reflex. This is where the ABS tech comes in and people, don't even start telling me ABS is useless. It's there for a reason. I have been in emergency situations and I can tell you ABS makes a lot fo difference alright.

Then again, drive safely. Prevention is better than cure. ABS still doesn't defeat the law of physics. Just my two cents. :)

somehow, there're personal opinions, if u decide to go for the easy way, get ABS....a much safer way, yes...

But for some of us, we would prefer something done manually, not every cars are equipped with ABS, I never say ABS is useless. If it is useless, then where does the manual ABS come from? I can do manual ABS even on emergency situation, why? I'm used to it, even from far distance, I would do it just to get used to it, I'm not that rich to actually buy ABS...

well actually why press on the brake few times before slam hard on it is based on the fizik theory. during last time SPM fizik, teacher say the moving object have the momentum...and when u stop suddenly...the daya momentum will change to daya inersia which will push the object forward. so in order to reduce the daya inersia faster and more effectively, press on the brake few times before slam hard on it can do that. hope it's correct bcoz i am not really good on fizik too...

sky_lor said:
well actually why press on the brake few times before slam hard on it is based on the fizik theory. during last time SPM fizik, teacher say the moving object have the momentum...and when u stop suddenly...the daya momentum will change to daya inersia which will push the object forward. so in order to reduce the daya inersia faster and more effectively, press on the brake few times before slam hard on it can do that. hope it's correct bcoz i am not really good on fizik too...
it has nothing to do with inertia....the technique is just to reduce the chances of your car getting the brakes locked and also skidding

simplythebest said:
Let's say you are speeding at 160 km/h (Don't have to follow this ,i just simply), and traffic light is just infront ..

Hmm, let's say 150 meter. (Don't have to follow this, i just simply ..)

What is the correct/best braking technique will you use?

Before you guys slam the brake, do you step the pedal couple of times first?

Wanna see my braking style correct or not, heheheh. :cool:

just pecut all the way hahaa? jkjk

thteh86 said:
somehow, there're personal opinions, if u decide to go for the easy way, get ABS....a much safer way, yes...

But for some of us, we would prefer something done manually, not every cars are equipped with ABS, I never say ABS is useless. If it is useless, then where does the manual ABS come from? I can do manual ABS even on emergency situation, why? I'm used to it, even from far distance, I would do it just to get used to it, I'm not that rich to actually buy ABS...
Right, I am sorry. Pardon my ignorance. I almost forgot the fact that most local cars do not even come equipped with ABS as standard. So yea, which is why I think they should since most foreign makes do and is at a considerable price as well, I don't see the reason why they shouldn't. Perhaps to save cost, but a couple of thousand more is nothing compared to our precious life, no? Oh well, just a thought, no offense here.

Yea, if you're used to it, then kudos. That would be good. Note that I said in my previous post that, most people, when it comes to emergency situations, their minds go blank and only their natural reflexes come in. In your case, thteh, you are exceptional as you have built on the brake tapping technique and it naturally becomes you reflex in an emergency situation, which is a good thing. So yea, it's good if you can do it.

wa you all very good ar...
wanna ask you sifu's
you tap&tap, how much, is it 1/4 of full braking or just 1/8
i usually brake 1/2 and then 2/3 and till almost lock up.
then release abit, then full and agai and again until i stop.

slowkancil......try do it in let's say 6 seconds!!.....can do it, than you're the man!!
haha....no offence
but any braking technique is good if they can stop the car....
just dun get yourself in a situation whereby you have to do emergency braking
even if your braking system is that good, there's still leway for the brake to mis-function! that's why it's called "ACCIDENT"!!

ACCIDENT ain't being named for nuthin!! Drive SAFE!!