Clutch/Exhaust/BOV.. 4 Evo

Hi guys, just did my dyno today at GT auto.

and guess what, the results is my max. output is only 173HP on wheel, which is very disappointing. then thomas show me some of stock EVO he did dyno and it should be around 270+HP on wheel as shown!

as expected, the A/F is the problem... when it reach 3.5-4rpm (boosting) the ratio immediately drop down below 10!!! means the fuel is too damn "rich"... wasting a lot of fuel, poluting more the environment n worst is i didnt get the power i should get.. *&^&*&^&!@#$%^&*(*(...

so he suggest to me: put a E-management system to adjust the A/F. cost about rm1.5k. then he suggest also to put a boost sensor for more accurately adjustment of the A/F according to the level of boosting. cost extra rm450.

so is this the most feasible way to solve my problems? would appreciate your comments...

mynnDAWG,

i did my evo MR dyno in GT Auto. all standard including exhaust system, just go the K&N drop in air filter i get 256 on wheel...

oonbc,

just called Thomas this afternoon, he told me ur case. was suprise how the previous owner can make so much fuel with the ori ecu...
in the most cheaper way u can put the SAFC to retune the fuel, if wanna get E-Manage i suggest u go for the E-Manage Altimate, will more function and can tune ur initial also. but of course price will more exspensive. E-Manage blue also enough to re-tune ur fuel. if got budget can go for stand alone ecu, then sure u will smile all the way when u boosting ur car...heheh..but cost u around Rm6K lah..hahah...but with stand alone ecu, u save the cost to buy boost controller (if u dun have), can put anti-lag and launch control or even flat-shift function..hehh..

thanks for the advice... btw, how much is the SAFC?

ya i did thought of the stand alone ecu, or the piggy back... anyone know about the price for e-manage and e-manage ultimate?

No stock EVO will lay down 270bhp at the wheels.

Running too rich in the midrange isn't bad for power but it will kill your torque. You mention that you run rich at 3.5K to 4K, but what about the rest of the rev range? Are you rich throughout or just at the middle? Post your dyno chart also la, then easier to diagnose ma.

But FWIW, 173ATW is kinda low even for an EVO.

Boost sensor? Whuzzat? Like MAP sensor ka? How does a MAP sensor measure A/F ratio? The only thing that measures A/F is an O2 sensor.

Don't bother with things like the SAFC if you plan to modify your car. If you really want to use the AFC, pick one up used. There are plenty for sale in the For Sale forums for about 300 to 600.

If you wanna get new, plump straight for the Power FC. It'll be more cost effective in the long run. Check this thread out: http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=88867

He's got the PFC for a pretty good price, 2.8K IIRC but he's removed the price so it may have gone up.

Or on the cheaper range, you could plug in a piggyback system such as the perfect power SMT 7 which has fuel/throttle/rpm mapping, ignition/throttle/rpm mapping, boost controller (soleniod requied), closed loop lamda (sensor required either with the narrow or wide band sensor), extra injector control and more...

last I heard this thing costs below RM2K.

I tested the earlier version of the SMT (not version 6 or 7) and got good results although it was in 2nd hand condition. My GSR (the test bed that time) got abt 200bhp from stock 180bhp (calculated using quarter mile spirnt timings and speed).... without other mods.

Best part, it has a A to B switch where you can switch your settings from one to another. You could set setting A as standard (save fuel) and B as high performance (not so saving).

http://www.perfectpower.com/Products/smt7.asp

There are also other piggyback systems in the market nowadays ... all are equally good...

Cannonfodder said:
Boost sensor? Whuzzat? Like MAP sensor ka? How does a MAP sensor measure A/F ratio? The only thing that measures A/F is an O2 sensor.

sorry is not boost sensor, its boost pressure sensor to tune the A/F if i m not mistaken.. he said this would be more accurate to tune the A/F wor...

here is my chart... damn sad... :emoticon_U:
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l305/oonbc/P1030965.jpg

thomas take out the ecu n confirm the ecu is original..

so any idea where is the problems causing this sudden drop of A/F?

oonbc,

Hey bro, its too technical for myself to answer la... Mayb u gotto b bit patient n wait for others to loggin n share their view!!! But dun worry too much la... There is nothing cant b solve on an Evo!!! :_: Think on de bright side, ur ride r really COOL looking man... I can imagine now, when all this problems solved u b flying ard town with 1 of de nicest ride!!! Hahaha...

Cheers!!! :_:

Nice meeting u tht day too!!!

S9,

thanks... cant wait to get my evo bk to normal condition... then can fly together with all u guys.. now maybe can follow ur smoke :P

by the way, about the tyre any recomandation?

notti: last time u dyno only 163whp

diff evo n diff boost sure diff hp evo 9 ori also boosting 1.5 bar compare to e6 onky 1 bar

under boost...could it be the actuator prob? :Not_Impressed:
but the chart showing boost at 1.3 bar wor..confused here.

jun ek9,

my car as usual, slow bai wan mer... u know ler... normal glorified lancer compared to your tme confirm slowbai wan ma... gif me face a bit la.. sob. sob...

oonbc said:
sorry is not boost sensor, its boost pressure sensor to tune the A/F if i m not mistaken.. he said this would be more accurate to tune the A/F wor...

here is my chart... damn sad... :emoticon_U:
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l305/oonbc/P1030965.jpg

thomas take out the ecu n confirm the ecu is original..

so any idea where is the problems causing this sudden drop of A/F?

looks like at max boost your engine is running on the rich side... 10 and below... where stoich would be 14.7

and looking at your power curve, it's too jaggered... not very smooth... could be old plugs enhanced with rich settings.

the graph is goin up and down. i think the ecu need some tuning

notti: my car is convert car and dyno 160 only

Guys,

About short anttena, is waja short anttena base tip same size as the current evo ? or ? any suggestion where to get it ?:sad_smile:

Yeah, you're overfueling quite a bit but not to worry, the stock ECU always runs things on the rich side for precaution. A nice AFR for full throttle will be around 11 to 11.5 so you have quite a bit of headroom. What are the mods you've done to the car?

Like goose said: Check your plugs to see if they're fouled; they quite probably are.

At the same time, check your fuel pressure regulator to see if the previous owner changed it, since you get an immediate overfuel situation the moment you hit max boost. The pull is quite bad at 4000rpm and again at 5500rpm. You can probably feel the car hesitate at those points.

If these things all check out, then you can actually get away with just an SAFC, using it to lean things out from 4000rpm. You stand to claim back about 10-15 horses just by leaning it out.