Comments on Black Top 20v

buck-7 said:
yup, thats what i said.
oh, sorry bout that. didn't read it clearly hehe btw, the noisy cam sound is because of a failed vvt pulley? i have this 'tapping' sound coming from the engine also.

youmolo said:
oh, sorry bout that. didn't read it clearly hehe btw, the noisy cam sound is because of a failed vvt pulley? i have this 'tapping' sound coming from the engine also.

yup, somehow i was told that was the culprit and it could also be your tappets. both are power robbing problems.

I tot its normal for 4age 20v to hav tht sound? the vvt pulley doesnt seems to failed for mine but the tapping sound is there..
?!?!?!?!....

the tappets become noisy because of wear and tear. so sending it for adjustment should solve the noise problem. fritz: yea, i heard that older toyota engines have this tapping sound. mine does too, but as far as i can tell, the engine running seems normal.

btw, do u get a bit of white smoke when you go into hard acceleration?

my engine also has that tapping sound......as far as i can tell oso, engine running seems normal...

i do get a bit of white smoke when i go into hard acceleration for the first time...:regular_smile:

For my 20V BT auto, I just found an abnormality yesterday. It seems like the 2nd gear shifting so fast untill I don't even notice it's exist, it's just like after changing from 1st geat it go direct to 3rd gear. Is it gear box, ecu issue or is it normal? Anyone can share some comment?