Considering a Cynos...

Exactly, which worries me in terms of parts availability. Not sure if the parts are exchangable with other models ie corolla/starlet/levins?Based on info gather,the only direct drop-ins would be engines from the E family (4e-fte, drools...) where an 4a-ge wld require certain mounting mods, and if I were to do any drop-in to that car I'd be converting to manual too *slaps forehead*~

Haven't update this thread for quite a while now...

Did not have the time to go for a second view yet, am still quite concerned bout the dashboard condition, and was toying with the idea if one could "cover" the top portion of the dashboard with... synthetic leather, perhaps?

Will keep this thread updated, cheers! :)

37k too high. nego till 30k,use the Rm7k+top up summore to get an AE111 6 speed halfcut + transplant.
swap everything over including the dashboard. Afta tht, get another RM4k and go look for acoustic sifu... then u'll see white bars in ur car + 4 red springs.

:p

looks like an AE111 from the front.
toyota_cynos_4585.jpg

another 1:
toyota_cynos_4583.jpg

shud be easy to fit an AE111's dash into this car??
toyota_cynos_4579.jpg

Sifu Tauhu, RM7K can gaw dim everything + transplant + mounting mod, etc.?

Guess what? The car still sitting there in the yard... >_
Guess I'll bring my mech to view the car some time this week, prepared to kena shoot gaw gaw from him (he's against me getting "difficult" cars, coz my ol' Lynx has given him its fair share of headaches)...

Sorry for reviving such an old post! :)

Tot only Sera has gulwing style door? Cynos's should be same as normal coupe's right.
We have a member here running a Red Cynos with 20V Silver Top engine. Transplant work is pretty successful.
Like one said, engine and mechanical parts shouldn't be a problem. But you have got to look for a set of head lamp or tail lamp for spare.

Yup, Sera should be the only Toyota having gullwing doors AFAIK. Cynos is actually pretty Putra lookalike, but heck, me say no to proton! :)

Sife levin, any idea who is the member with the said Cynos? Would really like to get in touch with him for 1st hand ownership info.

Ah yes, spare head and taillights... just as getting spare doors for a Sera!

Hey there Paseopimp, you must've hang out alot at the PIMP (Paseo Import Motoring Performance) forum right? :)

Mind telling me more about your ride? ie. yr model, engine, service experience, etc. Would greatly appreciate your experience with this baby!

Yup, proud to be a P.I.M.P...i'm using paseo model EL44...recently convert it to BT.....the engine parts are not difficult to find, the body parts are quite difficult to find...but u can still find the parts in chop shop at segambut, setapak, bukit kemuning, klang, subang.

Great info there man! It's a shame that the PIMP forums are down... or have they moved to another place?

How much did you break on your conversion? Mind sharing where was it done as well? Sorry for so many question, am very very curious here! :D

no prob bro. i dunno...never been to that forum for quite sometime now. i convert my 5e engine to BT for not more than 5k. including halfcut & installation. did the conversion in klang.

Less than 5K eh? *drools*~

I'm actually eyeing a 91 Cynos as well, stock 5e engine but auto :bawling: just wonder is you've done a transmission switch during the transplant ie. auto -> manual or vice versa?

Finall yfound another Cynos kaki, hopefully I'll be able to get that car and join ya! :D

i have a 5e manual gearbox if u want...boleh tolak cincai punya....hehehe...installation place also i can rekomen....anyway, u can contact me at 012-2111595 (faiz).

Thanks for the offer bro, will keep that in mind and hit you up! Definitely owe you one :D

During the transplant, did you chuck in the Levin dashboard as well? The ori d/board seems rather dull and I've heard ppl with entire dashboard swapped as well, would you know if it actually fits?

it fits but not that perfect la....byk rongak2...i suggest u just use the old dashboard...quite nice what, look like an aeroplane cockpit :biggrin:

Heh I'd love to keep the old dash, but the dashboard of the car I'm eyeing is in pretty bad condition, the top part of it (seems to be made of some soft rubber) has tiny dents all over it...

And if I were to plonk the engine, I'd be swapping from auto -> manual ;)

So far the only car whose interior reminds me of a cockpit is celica (gen6 and current model)

if u ever need a cynos parts, just call me...i have some leftover part & some spare one. why dont u change your cynos to BT...more power wan...guarantee.

Ok bro, will surely do! After owning the Cynos for a year you sure have plenty of "lubang" for parts and stuffs eh?

Sorry for asking so many questions, just plain excited here... :D