Demonstratio : Danish Embassy

satria_95

Demonstration : Danish Embassy

I heard that there was a demonstration at the Danish Embassy in KL, related to the caricatures or something. Can't seem to find the news anywhere even with some search being done. Anybody has read it somewhere who could provide the link this particular demonstration? Curious to know what happened.

Okei. Found it. Quoted strictly from CNN.COM website. All rights belong to them and bla bla whatever belongs to them.
-------------------------------------------------
Many of the protests took place after Friday prayers, some outside mosques and others near Danish diplomatic missions.

In Malaysia's biggest protest against the caricatures, some 3,000 demonstrators called for the destruction of Denmark, Israel and the United States as they marched in a steady rain from a mosque to the Danish Embassy in Kuala Lumpur, AP reported.

"Long live Islam. Destroy Denmark. Destroy Israel. Destroy George Bush. Destroy America," some of the protesters shouted.

The march was about 10 times larger than a similar protest after Friday prayers last week, AP said. Riot police guarded the high-rise building where the embassy is located, and a police helicopter hovered overhead.

At a nearby conference, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi spoke of a "huge chasm that has emerged between the West and Islam" and said many Westerners see a Muslim as "a congenital terrorist."

He said Muslims were particularly frustrated at Western policies toward Iraq, Afghanistan and the Palestinians. He did not mention the Mohammed cartoons.

"They think Osama bin Laden speaks for the religion and its followers," AP quoted Abdullah as saying. "The demonization of Islam and the vilification of Muslims, there is no denying, is widespread within mainstream Western society."

Abdullah also urged Muslims to oppose "sweeping denunciation of Christians, Jews and the West" as well as violence and terror perpetrated by fringe groups, AP reported.

Abdullah is a Muslim scholar, and his country heads the 57-member Organization of the Islamic Conference.

Late Thursday, Malaysia's Internal Security Ministry issued a statement saying it was an offense for anyone to publish, produce, import, circulate or possess the caricatures, AP reported.

The ministry, headed by Abdullah, said it was issuing the order to curb the circulation of material that could cause uneasiness among Malaysians and disrupt public order.

The ministry also ordered a small Malaysian newspaper, the Sarawak Tribune, to stop publication indefinitely after it reproduced one of the caricatures last weekend.

The Tribune's publishers apologized for what they called an editorial oversight, but the ministry said the newspaper had to be penalized because its action was "irresponsible and insensitive" to Muslims, AP reported.

At Friday's rally in the Malaysian capital, speakers condemned European newspapers for publishing the caricatures and demanded an apology from the Danish government. The cartoons were first published in a Danish newspaper last September.

One of the cartoons showed Mohammed wearing a turban shaped as a bomb. Many Muslims consider any depiction of the prophet to be sacrilegious.

The cartoons have sparked protests around the world, some of which have turned violent. Protesters in Beirut torched the building housing the Danish Embassy, and angry demonstrations have led to about 10 deaths in Afghanistan.

On Thursday, about half a million Muslims turned a religious ceremony in the Lebanese capital into a peaceful protest against cartoons of the Prophet Mohammed, as Iran and Syria rejected U.S. accusations they were inciting anger over the caricatures.

DISCLAIMER: Whatever that's posted in here specifically RELATES TO THIS THREAD ONLY. Any mentions like, "Why malays must be like that?" or "why americans are so bad" will refer to THE BAD ONES ONLY and NOT ALL MALAYS OR ALL AMERICANS. So please don't come and give me shit like "You think all malays are bad is it?" and make yourself look like a brainless fool. One last thing, remember this disclaimer so that I won't have to post it in every sensitive issue thread. Thank you for your kind understanding and may God and peace reside in you.

I kinda think that the Americans shouldn't generalize like that just because most of the terrorism act seems to relate to muslims. No doubt the Sept 11 attack was seriously over the line and that enraged many americans but heck, surely there's a "cause and effect" thing that lead to the Sept 11 tragedy. Maybe somebody has crossed another person's line, and that person can't take it and KABOOM, down goes the World Trade Center.

Also, I'm glad that even though Malaysian malays had protested and demonstrated, nothing serious happened, or at least from what I know. No buildings were burned, no harm done, etc. I was worried that the protestors would be like the fucked up mat rempits, who would cause damage when they're angry or whatever.

However, I also think that the Denmark dudes should have respect for other religions, at least, to their prophets, Gods, etc. If the caricatures were about the humans, like Osama, etc. then it's not so bad. But insulting someone's Prophet, God, etc. is a over line. Even though various of my post MAY SEEM NOT to side on the muslims but I'm only against the bad ones, not all of them. And I still hold my respects for their religion, race, etc. and still treat the good ones as Malaysian family members.

On a more general view, why can't everybody, irregardless of race, religion, nationality, skin color, etc. to just talk things over rather than just blast it out in the news papers? Why can't they just sit down and talk like adults and try to come to a common compromise and understanding, therefore, keeping peace and harmony in check.

Sigh... while many of the citizens strive to work and improve their lives, all the happenings around the world seems to make the big wall around them crumble and crush them. People who are rich won't have to worry because money could buy almost everything to make them happy and lead an easy life, or at least. Meanwhile those who have so struggle and work like hell, will continue to struggle and work like hell unless a breakthrough falls upon them.

Jerry, pack your gears and snap us some pics.

NOSkill,
I wanted to la but I was half way through work. hehehe I'll see if my friend who's a journalist managed to snap something up or not. hehehe

americans being dumb, or muslims being blind ... no offence to americans and muslims..

but hey.. americana... u gotta pls learn how to differentiate things..

2... muslims.. pls.. your own country m'sia is pretty much unrelated to afganistan.. or any middle eastern country.. pls mind your own business... coz knowing the fact that americana can't differentiate the differences... it might just bring us down for no apparent reason.

argh!!! this is 2 stupid things that i dont understand.. sometimes... i just wonder... can't ppl mind their own business? we got a life here to live... for those ppl that wanna stage a protest for someone not related to u.. pls take a flight to america, or denmark.. or middle east... do it there.. dont do it here.. this is so stupid. Life must be cheap for them.

ok.. i'm done wit my anger management course... feel free to shoot me down.. but before u do... think again... dont be too emotional over something that is not even related to u.

haha...julian jas done my anger managemnt too..i also want to say teh same thing

when they give you one slap on teh right....let them slap on the left also la

jangan la...people slap you...you want to revenge pula

no religion teach us to revenge la...sighs...

*it;s not a very good sighs for fellow tourist and our malaysia reputation of 'free terrorism' thingy la..

just curious

does the caricature really effect your life or the believe you have for god?

i'd said no....

alan... thatz the same thing that came into my mind when i saw that caricalture... i mean.. what harm does it do?

if u react against a harmless thing like a picture.. that means u really prove them right. Ppl should grow up la... itz like a huge kindergarten out there.

god pls wake them up!!!!

for those that went on the demonstration there... think bout your life la... monday u still need to go work.. feed your family.. send your kids to school.. i'm sure there are more important things to do that doing something that doesn't return u anything but disrecpect...

geez..... grow up.

alantan,
Exactly my point. I somehow doubt any God will tell their people to demonstrate like that but then, why are the people doing it? Does other religion believers do the same thing? Cos I only notice that muslims seems to be the ones who are "over reacting". No doubt they're being protective about their religion, but there isn't a necessity to act until over the line. Demonstration is alright. If the physical acts like damaging of properties and such takes place, it's too much. Also, saying stuff like "destroy denmark, america, pakistan, etc." is also damn fucking stupid. Goes to show how stupid they can be.

alantan,
this is what happen when emotion controls us..the afghans had been opresed so much,hence they tend to get emotion and suicidal..look at the afghanistan, and iraq, how americans come, kills, and take control over their country. who on earth will not get emotional right? what if malaysia was the one..hence, muslims teaching tought its followers,that everyone are brothers, and ur suffering is a suffering to us all, thats why u see the demonstration by muslims from all over the world.
the steps taken by the danish cartoonist is something over the boarder. it really shows how low the level that those people got, similar to those afghans suicide bombers.
i do think, if those bloody americans stop going to other's life, and those israel stops their illegal settlement and stop killing innocent palestinians, everything will be normal.
i really don't want war and see ali,john and ah seng fight just because sparks that relate to their religion..come on, we're all human...
satria_95,
those kill denmark and kill and burn and crash thing was done by inresponsible people who let emotional control of themselves.not all muslims done damage to them right. only a few, but when u aired it over cnn for the whole world to see, all of us gets the accusations.even our GOD did not teach us to do that, doesn't mean everyone follows, similar to john not going to church for 20 years and ah seng never go to temple..its the same concept. what if our situation happens, and this john and ah seng go on a rampage, will the whole people in their respective religion be accuse? i do think its the same. those westernes are great in propaganda, they tried their best in drawing black colours of islam name, which lead to some of the oppressed went overboard. i don't see any other religion being oppressed like the muslims, especially in the middle east..
ps;anyone knows a good bomoh(medium) where i can send "santau" or "tuju-tuju" to george bush?..joking..its againts my teaching by the way so don;t shoot me..:cyclops:

well...maybe to some of you its just cartoon...but by depicting Muhammad the way them danish dude had did...its like a direct insult to you,your family and your religion...dont tell me you'll just bow down to anyone who insult you am i right....

i mean yeah...i too hate overzealous people...for wat you go out and kill innocent people...at least we can all be thankful that malaysian managed to hold a rather peaceful demonstration....all it takes is an overzealous character in between the protestors to initiate the violence...demonstrate to show your stand on the matter on hand...not to worsen it and making people lose respect of you...btw there's nothing wrong to join a peaceful demonstration..i myself had an experience once...we hold a demonstration saying NO TO WAR waged by the US in 2004 i think near padang merbok to dataran merdeka....

im still holding a slight grudges over them danish newspaper though....http://media.guardian.co.uk/site/story/0,,1703500,00.html...you'll see that the same newspaper agency had rejected drawings that lampoons Jesus(Nabi Isa to us muslim) under the ground that it may be offensive to others....and that they(Jyllands-Posten)fear that it may instigate an outcry over it if they were to publish them....why are they setting double standards...how can they differentiate between which is right and which is wrong?

well...im dun wan to sound negative...to me...Islam teaches us that any drawing that depicting both Muhammad and Isa(Jesus) are wrong...but the fact is that most drawings were drawn by christians themselves....i wont say much if it was a Muslim himself/herself that drew Muhammad's caricature...but the fact that the newspaper themselves had asked their own illustrator to draw it...now there has to be a fine line between being totally ignorant about other's beliefs and just plain rude....neway thats my point of views ler....i think it's just lately most muslim felt a slight oppression especially from the westerners....with wars on Afghanistan,Iraq and perhaps next Iran....Israel also have nukes...so does Korea...but for some reason...just by being a Islam country...it gives a priority right by the Bush administration to clear them out beforehand....sad world we living in nowadays....

well...im dun wan to sound negative...to me...Islam teaches us that any drawing that depicting both Muhammad and Isa(Jesus) are wrong...but the fact is that most drawings were drawn by christians themselves.

satanic,

hmm..this one i honestly do not agree...how to i say this....you said that the fact that most drawing were drawn by christian...i think this is more of an insult for 'chirstianity'.

no no offence, no anger no bla bla....don;t et angry...i'm saying this because i just sumwhat disagree....i believe that most danish are not christian..?and...it's also basicly them same way they said..sum bad apples..?

so in my oppinion..these bad apples did sum drawings because hey did not know how bad it'll be thjat the carcatures will be...and excatly....those bad applaes from from the muslims...became extreamist and began a protest and emotional takes control of them......

*i'm a christian myself...and let say if they do caricatures drawing of jesus...i wouldn;t be insulted or wahtsoever because teh bible and the love of god mattes most. same goes to muslim i believe?

btw, let's just do sum joke here....christian is lagi insulted..ermm..spoofed songs of jesus la..christmas la...bad jokes about jesus is all over..

what mater most is....i hope everyone in this forum agree with me that these carcatures drawn by these dumb danish will not be a sensitive issue to muslims fellows as it doesn;t really matter..who knows how nabi's muhamed look like?...who knows what jesus looks like?....it;s just our imagination..back then..they were no drawn potrait or photogrpahs...rite anot?

thank yo..and if i poffence or said anything bad..please pinned them out ..so i could correct myself...

What do ZTHians and the world have to say about this fact now???:shades_smile:

The whole world is mesmerized by this big campaign against Denmark. I have mentioned before that an Egyptian newspaper published the Danish Cartoons from Jyllands-Posten. Why after five months the feelings of the Egyptians and Muslims are suddenly inflamed. Here are the details of this paper for those who can check it:

Name: Al Fager
الفجر
Editor-in-Chief: Adel Hamouda
عادل حمودة
Edition/issuance no. #: 21
Date: 17 October 2005, Hijri (Islamic Calendar) 14 Ramadan 1425
Reporters: Youssra Zahran and Ahmed Abdel Maksoud
يسرا زهران وأحمد عبد المقصود
Pages: Front & 17 for details and images
The headline in Arabic said :
الوقاحة المستمرة. السخرية من الرسول وزوجاته بالكاريكاتير
Translation: Continued Boldness. Mocking the Prophet and his wife by Caricature.

The Egyptian paper critcized the bad taste of the cartoons but it did not incite hatred protests, so what is happening now? I think it is important to reveal that the timing of this outrage is irrelevant. It would have been better that this holy war against Denmark be launched during the holy month of Ramadan as many Muslims believe that Jihad during Ramadan would have been more worthy.

This irrelevant outrage timing is but a sign that this violent response to the cartoons is politically-motivated by Muslim extremists in Europe and the so-called secular governments of the Middle East. I want also to mention that despite the fact that all editors who tried to reprint the cartoons in the Middle East nowadays were arrested, the Egyptian editors went unharmed.

Wednesday, February 08, 2006

Egyptian Newspaper Pictures that Published Cartoons 5 months ago

No Danish Treatment for an Egyptian Newspaper
Here is below the front page where the Prophet Muhammed(PBUH) cartoon from Jyllands-Posten was published.
A closer look. The text says in Arabic that a special reportage is inside. Mind you that this is the holy Muslim month of Ramadan. While Muslims are worshipping in this holy month, not a single protest was called in Cairo against Denmark or the newspaper.
Here is an image for page 17 where the whole report was published with 6 cartoons as published in Jyllands-Posten.

The two Egyptian editors, Ahmed Abel Maksound and Youssera Zaharan, from Al Fager newspaper. And from their names I could tell you that they are Muslims and there is no news on arresting them as the case in Jordan few days ago
Here is the front page with a closer look on the date , Monday October 17, 2005
Two days ago the editor in chief of Al Fager Adel Hammouda wrote an article expressing his surprise why this war is suddenly launched after 4 months. He indicates as I said in my previous post that it is politically motivated to hide more corrupt issues behind. And he is not apologizing for publishing the cartoons as the Danish newspaper did. Instead, he is proud his paper was first to publish.

alan...the prob is as a muslim...we can not do any drawings that depicts Allah and His messenger...im not that intellectual on this but thats wat i know laa...its sacreligious(spelling) even if it were done by another muslim....Christianity and Islam is almost identical...if im not mistaken...just that Islam's teachings came last on the fourth...emm how to say...installment...something like dat...sorry laa...last time when kelas agama i skip class :P....but more or less something liddat....perhaps according to Christianity...drawings depicting Jesus are fine and considered love towards Jesus...but to us Muslim...its wrong ler..its also wrong to even think about how Allah looks like...this one oso dunno how to explain...according to Islam...Allah dont have any characteristic that we humans have...so its wrong to compare HIM with how humans look like....heh...

cyclonite...yeap...to be honest...i didnt even know about this caricatures only after i saw it in the news...and i didnt know how to react on it...but yeah...i support if muslims tried the proper in informing that it is wrong in our view to publish those sorts of thing....it offends us...not by burning building and watnot

20vturbo said:
satria_95,
not all muslims done damage to them right. only a few....
Satria_95 said:
DISCLAIMER: Whatever that's posted in here specifically RELATES TO THIS THREAD ONLY. Any mentions like, "Why malays must be like that?" or "why americans are so bad" will refer to THE BAD ONES ONLY and NOT ALL MALAYS OR ALL AMERICANS.

20vturbo said:
, but when u aired it over cnn for .....
Excuse me? I aired it over CNN? I 100% do not have any links with CNN, directly or indirectly. Hence, considering your command of english, I will treat this as a typo error. But in fiture, please be careful when you type your sentences. Simple mistakes could lead to entirely different meanings.

20vturbo said:
anyone knows a good bomoh(medium) ....
Might as well ask for a sure win 4-ekor number or lottery that'll strike the jackpot RM12 mil. Then give RM1mill to that bomoh lor. hahahaha

SataniC said:
but the fact is that most drawings were drawn by christians themselves..
I'm not sure but did I miss a piece of news out? I've only manage to read the CNN one but if there was a mention in another news that the caricatures were drewn by Christians, I'd like to read that too. No harm reading more.
In any case, it doesn't matter who drew the caricatures. It could be a muslim, american, jamaican, chinese, indian, eskimo. The point is that WHOEVER that drew the caricature is the one who is guilty. Unless, of course, the artist was forced in a way that he/she had no choice(gun point in the head, or will get fired from his job, or etc., then I won't blame the artist for doing so. Other than that, it IS the artist him/herself who is the one who has a part in starting these nonsenses.

And dang ! I spelled Demonstration wrongly. Sigh....

SataniC said:
alan...the prob is as a muslim...we can not do any drawings that depicts Allah and His messenger...im not that intellectual on this but thats wat i know laa...its sacreligious(spelling) even if it were done by another muslim....Christianity and Islam is almost identical...if im not mistaken...just that Islam's teachings came last on the fourth...emm how to say...installment...something like dat...sorry laa...last time when kelas agama i skip class :P....but more or less something liddat....perhaps according to Christianity...drawings depicting Jesus are fine and considered love towards Jesus...but to us Muslim...its wrong ler..its also wrong to even think about how Allah looks like...this one oso dunno how to explain...according to Islam...Allah dont have any characteristic that we humans have...so its wrong to compare HIM with how humans look like....heh...
satanic..

i understand what u mean...

but i always tot.. sometimes, u can't fight a fire with fire...

a softer approach sometimes works better... in many situations. I dont mean to disagree anything bout the fight for the rightz of the muslims.. .but sometimes, throwing anger dont solve things.. what do u think?

i do hope that this insanity would stop... at least for the peace of the world. I just hope to live in a better place. .itz so disheartening to see this happen in our neighbourhood.

thanks satanic for the understanding

btw, this can never come to an end...

by te end of the day..there will still be weirdos wondering the surface..and it maybe the act of satan? he;s good stuff liek this la...

just for you rinformation satanic,

in christianity la..we were told(bible) that we humans were built by the image of god himself..so which make sense that we look like god...just that god is god...human is human...and can never be god..hahahahha..confused *sial*

those muslim who go bomb all those places and call it a jihad are farked up and plain stupid. There's a teaching in islam that you cannot kill civilians, women, children, and not even an enemy that is not armed (correct me on the last one)