Dissapointment over 4G93 Power

leongts,
Read End muffler, do you mean by the "box" at the very end ? How much did you buy yours ?
I do agree with you on my current exhaust output note , it sings "pssst" as well. Your feedback would be much appreciated as our driving style are about the same. I'm not some speed freak, just want my car to be responsive in traffic. However, with this engine I'm able to reach 160kph effortlessly. At times, i forgotten that i'm at that speed !!!

Regards,
CK Siow

cksiow,
the twin tip exhaust is just that...twin TIP. the insides should be similar to the 1.6. another reason could be the fibrous material used inside the muffler to dampen sound.

since you said your car runs hotter, did you change the radiator during the transplant or just the engine? you need 2 fans to keep the water temp below the middle mark.

you want power? you need to focus on the basics of getting more air into your engine. period.

can i tumpang thread since all the sifus here.. can i know is the 1.6 SOCH and 1.8 DOCH fuel pump the same? because i still remain the 1.6 fuel pump after i change to 1.8. will it lack of power from there?

can V6 turbo fuel pump mod to my car?

thanks..

Power for 4G93? I bought my GTI in year 2000 and the power is like what you said, so so only. Power is still ok for 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th gears only. Once engaged in 5th, it is like the engine is dying where I feel the power is dropping significantly.

I have tried the following modifications:
1) Metal Gasket
2) Chip modified in ECU
3) Extractor (4-2-1)
4) K&N Filter
5) Platinum Spark Plug
6) Adjustable fuel regulator
7) Exhaust System changed
8) Semi racing clutch
9) Bigger spark cable

Eventhough with all the above mod, I lost out once to a wira on a highway. My speed was around 200km/h. I was easily beaten though. Later I found out that this guy had the same engine (4G93) but it is a original Mitsubishi with some modifications such as lighter fly wheel, heavy duty oil for engine and gear, and racing clutch, etc...

Many times, I was overtaken by those 'modified kaki' and I later decided to go for bigger performance engine i.e. to get a 4G93T. Now, this is what I called 'Power'. Ever since, I am not worried about modifying this and that. Bear in mind that to get the true power, you must mod the engine itself and not add this and that.

GSR06 said:
Power for 4G93? I bought my GTI in year 2000 and the power is like what you said, so so only. Power is still ok for 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th gears only. Once engaged in 5th, it is like the engine is dying where I feel the power is dropping significantly.

I have tried the following modifications:
1) Metal Gasket
2) Chip modified in ECU
3) Extractor (4-2-1)
4) K&N Filter
5) Platinum Spark Plug
6) Adjustable fuel regulator
7) Exhaust System changed
8) Semi racing clutch
9) Bigger spark cable

Eventhough with all the above mod, I lost out once to a wira on a highway. My speed was around 200km/h. I was easily beaten though. Later I found out that this guy had the same engine (4G93) but it is a original Mitsubishi with some modifications such as lighter fly wheel, heavy duty oil for engine and gear, and racing clutch, etc...

Many times, I was overtaken by those 'modified kaki' and I later decided to go for bigger performance engine i.e. to get a 4G93T. Now, this is what I called 'Power'. Ever since, I am not worried about modifying this and that. Bear in mind that to get the true power, you must mod the engine itself and not add this and that.

GTi gearbox r very weak in 4th n 5th gear...its becoz the ratio is too long....u need to have a very powerful engine to push it!

cksiow said:
g88,

I Bought the Half-Cut. Thus, gearbox , electrical wiring and all are from the 4G93 unit as well. Shall I change the brake rotors as well ? He says that the "hole" of the rotor doesn't matches mine. Can I retain my rotor but with the new Master Pump installed ? Will it improve my braking performance ?

your should be Lancer 1.8 NA sure PCD is different as it's running on PCD114.3 but your car is running on PCD100. Since yours is NA i think you can retain your stock 1.6 rotor and caliper as it's same as local 1.8 except your brake servo is single layer but 1.8 is double layer.

e819 said:
try skimming/lighten ur flywheel.. sure itll gain responce.. or change 2 a bigger TB...

:emoticon_U: first time i heard autogearbox got flywheel hahaha...auto gearbox using TORQUE CONVERTER la..dun simply give wrong information if you not sure !! :angry_smile:

1. Don't need to floor the pedal too much to achieve the similar acceleration (town driving).
Cc bigger, displacement bigger, most powerful la :X-:

2. As what e819 claims , the 1.8 DOHC surely pulls away from the 1.6 SOHC at the higher revs.

Of course since DOHC mah...high rev engine...have very good top end compare to SOHC :regular_smile:

3. When I slow down myself on a slope(descend), the transmission will
automatically shift down from 4th to 3rd. Feels like the similar system find in Honda CR-V.
Automatic gearbox behaviour. It's normal. Btw, can you share with me WHAT YOUR GEARBOX CODE/Model ?? It's located straight below your distributor.

4. Speed CUT at 180kph.http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/smilies/MSN%20SMILIES/cry_smile.gif
Can be settle by installing Apexi Speedmeter or RSM as it has speedcut removal :_:

5. Engine runs at a higher temp.
How high compare to before ?? Care to explain ?

See, out of 5 point you have 4 PLUS points after upgfrade to DOHC....once you use to it you will enjoy the power....

Twin tip muffler is good for 1.8 SOHC or DOHC as it has more back pressure which improve your pickup. Alot 1.3/1.5 ppl also looking for this...good stuff.

PS : I have got a friend selling new twin tip muffler for Proton. He get some exhaust shop customise it base on original spec twin tip muffler..selling RM250. Proton original is around Rm450-500, i asked before.

Interest do PM me

For my transplant, the engine is not from a lancer. Thus, pretty much of stock 1.6XLI stuffs are retained. The radiator is not changed, so this leads me to suspect the source of engine runing at higher temp. It's not too high, just a slight more then my old 1.6XLI temp. (ie: 91- 92 Deg ) Is it alright to run at such temp. ? or would it be other causing factor ?

Stewart,
Feel free to ask and tumpang. I would be more then happy to see and learn more, most importatly some new insights which i never would have discovered.

g88,
So, what's the difference of the pump ? How can i feel the difference ? Cause the mechanic had changed the master pump for me. But I felt the braking sensation is about the same. Please enlighten me.

Ahh....It's pitch dark out here now. Was back from work very very late, will get to share the Gearbox Code with you ASAP. Ohh... What i meant by downshifting is something like the "engine braking" sensation. So far, I find it applies when decending slopes, otherwise it won't downshift. ( Previous 1.6XLI doesn't do any engine braking automatically at all) Also, can you kindly elaborate what does PCD means ?!

Thanks for the offer of exhaust, will KIV !!

Regards,
CK Siow

cksiow said:
For my transplant, the engine is not from a lancer. Thus, pretty much of stock 1.6XLI stuffs are retained. The radiator is not changed, so this leads me to suspect the source of engine runing at higher temp. It's not too high, just a slight more then my old 1.6XLI temp. (ie: 91- 92 Deg ) Is it alright to run at such temp. ? or would it be other causing factor ?

Stewart,
Feel free to ask and tumpang. I would be more then happy to see and learn more, most importatly some new insights which i never would have discovered.

g88,
So, what's the difference of the pump ? How can i feel the difference ? Cause the mechanic had changed the master pump for me. But I felt the braking sensation is about the same. Please enlighten me.

Ahh....It's pitch dark out here now. Was back from work very very late, will get to share the Gearbox Code with you ASAP. Ohh... What i meant by downshifting is something like the "engine braking" sensation. So far, I find it applies when decending slopes, otherwise it won't downshift. ( Previous 1.6XLI doesn't do any engine braking automatically at all) Also, can you kindly elaborate what does PCD means ?!

Thanks for the offer of exhaust, will KIV !!

Regards,
CK Siow

CKsiow,
Check out the attached file. This is same of 4G92 gearbox gearbox code(model) & ratio. MMC uses different model of gearbox in their different model car even engine is the same. Also ratio is various according to gearbox model...same goes to Proton.

If my memory serve me well. Proton 1.6 uses single layer servo and DOHC uses double layer - much more higher pressure pump.

About PCD, you can check here http://www.gomog.com/allmorgan/wheeloffset.html

Awaiting for your gearbox code la...

upgrade master break pump to double servo you can see the different campare to 1.6 single servo. did u change ur break fluid as well?

from my experiance doch runs hotter then soch, after transplant. after upgrade to double layer radiator and it running at the normal tempreture now although i can feel it runs a little hotter then previous engine.

i have a twin tips muffler selling as well.. plug and play for wira or putra.. silence and 2 inch inlet. see if u interested.
"no offence ya g88.. hehe"

here the link
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=106558

nobody helping me to solve my problem 1.. hehe

Come on....somebody , help stewart out a tinny little bit.

Stewart,
Thanks for your tips, are you running the same engine as well ? Manual or Auto ? Maybe 1 day we could meet up for some discussions. As for the exhaust, thanks for the offer . I shall KIV first.

g88,
My gearbox code is F 648. I don't know am I right or not as you said it's situated near the distributor. So, with this info can you determine from which make of car is my engine from ?

Putracraze,
I don't know where is my ECU located, can you please tell me where ? Also, I find a strange "tick" after this transplant. Everytime after I switch off my car for 15 seconds then a "tick" will be audible. I wonder what is that ?! It comes from the dashboard and it sounded like an electro-mechanic mechanism or something like a relay.

Regards
CK Siow

P/S : Loving my ride more and more everyday. Even my bro who drives the Civic wanna get his hands on my ride (his old ride infact)

G88,
Noted your message and where on earth that I ever mentioned autogear box in my previous message :) If you are not sure either, ask and don't make assumption too!!!. Remember that "Assumption is the father of all mistakes". Care to share your car mod?

GSR06 said:
G88,
Noted your message and where on earth that I ever mentioned autogear box in my previous message :) If you are not sure either, ask and don't make assumption too!!!. Remember that "Assumption is the father of all mistakes". Care to share your car mod?

:omg_smile: have i ever reply your message ?? what are you talking about ?? :mouth_closed:

cksiow said:

Stewart,
Thanks for your tips, are you running the same engine as well ? Manual or Auto ? Maybe 1 day we could meet up for some discussions. As for the exhaust, thanks for the offer . I shall KIV first.

g88,
My gearbox code is F 648. I don't know am I right or not as you said it's situated near the distributor. So, with this info can you determine from which make of car is my engine from ?

Putracraze,
I don't know where is my ECU located, can you please tell me where ? Also, I find a strange "tick" after this transplant. Everytime after I switch off my car for 15 seconds then a "tick" will be audible. I wonder what is that ?! It comes from the dashboard and it sounded like an electro-mechanic mechanism or something like a relay.

Regards
CK Siow

P/S : Loving my ride more and more everyday. Even my bro who drives the Civic wanna get his hands on my ride (his old ride infact)

cksiow,
Something wrong with the code you gave me..its F4Axxxx. Also the "tick" sound you heard should be your fuel pump....else would be some relay from your aircond or something...

Enjoying the DOHC power ??? :D

cksiow said:

Stewart,

welcome.. i using the same engine.. but made in malaysia version :_:

I using manual.. my hand and my leg is the best gearbox control unit. LOL

yaya sure.. ask for the rest of forumer too.. :regular_smile:

Chiill guys ...chill ...we ain't here to discuss about whom had made mistakes, right ?
A friendly pointer would do well isn't it ?
Just sit back and read on the rest of the postings !!

Stewart,
How I wish to have the manual in my ride. Just that the traffic to my office doesn't permits. But the auto tranny isn't any bad. With a feather tap, i feel like I'm accelerating like a Benz E240 (W211--1st Batch of "Big-Small Eye") without the need to rev above 3300rpm.

g88,
Hmn...do you care to take a pic and post it up so that I can know where exactly is the code is situated ? And also for the ECU location. No obligations on posting it. I understand how troublesome it is.

Hahaha...for sure it's a DOHC power.....not some DOG power :P:P ( Oh yea, can I have the rated HP of this engine ?)

Guys, Thanks for all these valuable infos. Next on, will progress to the ride and control of the car. Bars....Absorbers....etc......care to recomend ?

cksiow,

Check out the attachement. Your ECU is located at location "A". You need to pull down your glove box then use a touchlight you will see it and well the code....

For the gearbox i can only post pic tonight...when at home..i think i might have a rear pic as well :)

Stay tune mate :D

g88 said:
:emoticon_U: first time i heard autogearbox got flywheel hahaha...auto gearbox using TORQUE CONVERTER la..dun simply give wrong information if you not sure !! :angry_smile:

1. Don't need to floor the pedal too much to achieve the similar acceleration (town driving).
Cc bigger, displacement bigger, most powerful la :X-:

2. As what e819 claims , the 1.8 DOHC surely pulls away from the 1.6 SOHC at the higher revs.

Of course since DOHC mah...high rev engine...have very good top end compare to SOHC :regular_smile:

3. When I slow down myself on a slope(descend), the transmission will
automatically shift down from 4th to 3rd. Feels like the similar system find in Honda CR-V.
Automatic gearbox behaviour. It's normal. Btw, can you share with me WHAT YOUR GEARBOX CODE/Model ?? It's located straight below your distributor.

4. Speed CUT at 180kph.http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/smilies/MSN%20SMILIES/cry_smile.gif
Can be settle by installing Apexi Speedmeter or RSM as it has speedcut removal :_:

5. Engine runs at a higher temp.
How high compare to before ?? Care to explain ?

See, out of 5 point you have 4 PLUS points after upgfrade to DOHC....once you use to it you will enjoy the power....

Twin tip muffler is good for 1.8 SOHC or DOHC as it has more back pressure which improve your pickup. Alot 1.3/1.5 ppl also looking for this...good stuff.

PS : I have got a friend selling new twin tip muffler for Proton. He get some exhaust shop customise it base on original spec twin tip muffler..selling RM250. Proton original is around Rm450-500, i asked before.

Interest do PM me

yo bro.. didnt notice la... sory thread starter 4 the wrong info