Diy : Superlon Installation

Originally posted by ksgoh+Aug 16 2004, 08:52 AM-->
QUOTE (ksgoh @ Aug 16 2004, 08:52 AM)
Originally posted by clsia1001@Aug 13 2004, 11:00 AM
--QuoteBegin-ksgoh
@Aug 13 2004, 08:58 AM
that will be nice if can put one piece of superlon inside the door cover.....any car can do that?

...wei..ksgoh

my drawing really so bad meh??
u cant even FEEL that is my Iswara Passenger door??? :lol:
ACtually at firt I try glue it outside, but it not fit (Maybe because I using 10mm Superlon :D ) ... So, nothing can do ,had to glue inside. :P

hehehe....ur drawing is great.......
no problem for 10mm superlon at door?? too thick until hard to screw back?? [/b][/quote]

ksgoh, for your information. 10mm Superlon is really too thick, until I cant even push in the white clip at the door slide So, lastly I just stick It inside the door. :lol:

If you want to replace the plastic cover with the Superlon, you better get 6mm Superlon from Stanley as Stanley also said it's fitted when using 6mm ;)

Originally posted by clsia1001@Aug 18 2004, 12:14 AM
ksgoh, for your information. 10mm Superlon is really too thick, until I cant even push in the white clip at the door slide So, lastly I just stick It inside the door. :lol:

If you want to replace the plastic cover with the Superlon, you better get 6mm Superlon from Stanley as Stanley also said it's fitted when using 6mm ;)
thanks for ur info, clsia1001....but what u mean by "If you want to replace the plastic cover with the Superlon"?? not just stick superlon, and everything have to install back to the door, right?? why replace it?? :blink:

Originally posted by ksgoh+Aug 18 2004, 09:05 AM-->
QUOTE (ksgoh @ Aug 18 2004, 09:05 AM)
--QuoteBegin-clsia1001
@Aug 18 2004, 12:14 AM

thanks for ur info, clsia1001....but what u mean by "If you want to replace the plastic cover with the Superlon"?? not just stick superlon, and everything have to install back to the door, right?? why replace it?? :blink: [/b][/quote]
No-lah. Because mine the plastic is "koyak" already. So I decided to replace the plastic cover loh. But the Superlon cant fitted. :( lastly I replace the plastic with another new layer of plastic.....that's the story

and, my opinion, the Superlon will stick better on the door, rather than stick on the plastic B)

Originally posted by szekeiemme@Aug 15 2004, 11:59 PM
nope.. cuz i think rite..
engine is hot mar... so metal is de best conductor for heat... to release heat ma.. so i duwan do anythin to de engine.. ehehe... n 1 more thing.. if the bonet is hot rite.. so no 1 will sit on it.. ahhaha

tailo tai lo.. dun shoot me if im wrong.. bout bonet superlon-ed

Yup. I agree with you.

That's why I only put small pieces on the bonnet. Dun think I gonna cover it using big Layer. This will allows the heat to flow out from the small small holes.. :D

The rest of Superlon I think I will install it on back bonnet. Now I just put it in the bonnet only with out glue. :lol:

guys............

aiyoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo :blink:

engine bay heat escapes from the bottom of the engine bay AND underneath the car laaa (i did this study before)

The hot bonnet is just a by-product la. Try closing up the bottom and try letting the bonnet let the heat out. I'll stand pretty far away when your engine overheats and bends a few stuff.

BUT, race and rally cars, with vented bonnets! why??
because of aerodynamics, they can't let air go down, it's lift and plenty of drag. (smooth underbody) AND air coming out from the bonnet is additional front down-force.

Rally cars is because of the sump guard is effectively blocking the bottom.. but still vents.

yes that's correct.

BUT it's DESIGNED for the air to go underneath the car.

TELL me, where does the air go, with if it's not under?

yes that's correct.

BUT it's DESIGNED for the air to go underneath the car.

TELL me, where does the air go, with if it's not under?

Originally posted by ksgoh
from science, hot air go up, and cold air go down rite??

Dude.. Hot hair rises.. there's no such thing as 'cold air'.. it's just the absence of hot air. But in the case of the car, the hot air get pushed down the base of the car when it's moving. I'm not sure how it works if the car is at a standstill though.

Originally posted by Izso+Aug 20 2004, 07:57 AM-->
QUOTE (Izso @ Aug 20 2004, 07:57 AM)
--QuoteBegin-ksgoh

from science, hot air go up, and cold air go down rite??

Dude.. Hot hair rises.. there's no such thing as 'cold air'.. it's just the absence of hot air. But in the case of the car, the hot air get pushed down the base of the car when it's moving. I'm not sure how it works if the car is at a standstill though. [/b][/quote]
air cond's air is cold air loo......hehehe.... :P

Haiya.. don wanna argue with you on physics la.

Darkness = absence of light and cannot be measured
cold air = absence of hot air and can be measured by measuring what's not HOT.
Evil = absence of God in the heart.

Basically all these terms are just words used to describe the absence of something.

Anyway.. Superlon on the engine bonnet is ok one lah.. so many people have done it already and so far no kaboom. I read somewhere one fella with Turbo engine also did it.. such a hot engine in KL can do why can't you?

haha....sorry sorry.....

back to topic, this afternoon when i open up my bonet, i saw the glue to stick on the superlon is melt laa.....how can it be?? the glue cannot stands for the heat?? luckily is just a small part only......have to find some super glue to stick on again....

i dunno loo.....i paid for the shop to do that.....but the colour of the glue is yellow....