Diy : Superlon Installation

hmm..got some question here ..how u all stick on ur door ? does it sound proof ? my car i stick dynamat (the normal 1) under the car(inside the metal below seat) also nth much changed...thx for help

ky_fei,

This is what my friend did on his Wira. No dynamat in the door skin

hmmm.. nice nice.. but..for example... ur power window spoiled...need to change some thing.. how to pull out ? the thing juz stick on plastik ? or the panel there..will it be adding some weight on cars ?

Originally posted by ky_fei@Jun 29 2004, 12:12 AM
hmmm.. nice nice.. but..for example... ur power window spoiled...need to change some thing.. how to pull out ? the thing juz stick on plastik ? or the panel there..will it be adding some weight on cars ?
:lol: Want quite us like that lor...pray Power windows don't spoil lor...

But tell you after he do like that, his mid bass (door speaker) much more solid ler !!

if you need to take it out,
take it out la.
no biggie there.

can stick either place as long as it doesnt interfere with fitting.

well of course it does weight something, *duh*

How about dipping the glue into specific corners of the superlon when installing @doors? Dont think it will slip off or anything, besides the door panels will hold the piece together. This is to enable simple de-installing/re-installing whenever wanna change power window parts or speakers...

yo g88, ur fren stick like that using the 10mm superlon ah? wow...really nice oh...

Stanley,

Really interested in getting the RM550 insulation job. Need your honest opinion, does the thing really work? Vibrations, noise, heat? My SGTi is driving me nuts with the in-cabin creaks, squeaks and vibrations... Thanks.

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Jun 22 2004, 07:59 PM
dude

we've explained this many times before.
you glue this on the rough side for:

1)better adhesion of glue to material
2) foam stays cleaner easier
3) the smooth side's the one supposed to face the heat la.
4) dirt and particles don't stick inside the foam.
its not neccessary..

i glue on smooth side using dunlop glue.
application applied - bonnet of turbocharged car
result - engine felt quiet and it never came off a single side even after track day.

1)adhesion is approprite to the smooth side too
2)didnt notice any dirt on foam side...its black!
3)both side also can...no problem...rough side do absorb sound more
4)same as 2)

:) :)

Originally posted by anttyk@Jun 29 2004, 11:09 AM
Stanley,

Really interested in getting the RM550 insulation job. Need your honest opinion, does the thing really work? Vibrations, noise, heat? My SGTi is driving me nuts with the in-cabin creaks, squeaks and vibrations... Thanks.
well,

my customers (non-forummers) tells me that the car's quieter. B)

ninja-iga .. last question ... where can v apply this thing on car ? everywhere ? and the rm10-40 is for 4 doors ?

To soundproofing the door, is this the right way?

- inner : stick superlon on the metal surface

-outside : stick the bitumen strip on the metal surface, reattach the rain shield sheet and plastic panel.

Is this sufficient?

I was told stick bitumen strip instead of superlon on the inner metal is better ? Anyone to share this ?

ky_fei

it's bout RM30-40 per 4 doors.

fishfan
your technique is will be best.
SuperLon for the low frequency and Bitumen strips for the hi-frequency.

so tis superlon thingy, the main purpose is for insulating sound la...but i got a question..

if u insulate the heat inside the engine bay from outside (heat transfer through the bonnet), wouldnt the temperature in the engine bay b higher?

not really.

the engineers didn't design the bonnet as a heat removing device / heat sink.

the heat is supposed to travel out underneath the car.

bout 3-4 working days can arrive..

send the money via electronically to my Maybank account.

Originally posted by ninja_iga+Jun 29 2004, 12:23 PM-->
QUOTE (ninja_iga @ Jun 29 2004, 12:23 PM)
--QuoteBegin-anttyk
@Jun 29 2004, 11:09 AM
Stanley,

well,

my customers (non-forummers) tells me that the car's quieter. B) [/b][/quote]
how many of them? one or more than that? :blink: