DIY Voltage Stabilizer

The wrong one is in page 12 ler.... :P

This one is correct lar. :)

Guys.

Do you people know that what you are doing is actually stabilizing the sometimes 14V,13.8..etc V which constantly changes.

You will realize that simply adding more and more caps will simply make the system much, much worse... but and then again, who really listens?

Just in short. I did the Soaristo's Extreme unit. End result = bad engine braking, power steering stiff (considering it's a Honda Accord which is normally as light as a feather) power = bad. Revs = at times better, but not consistent.

So dont' jump the gun and do your research first.

Originally posted by Indecided@Dec 22 2004, 22:06
End result = bad engine braking
engine braking ? or u mean the car brake bad response ?

btw, do you do any workaround to fix it ?

Hi Indecided,

I am quite intrested to know more of your system. Soaristo's Extreme unit.

I did mine VS with total capacitance of 32000 uF.

I have some simulation with software by using a 10k ohm resistor as the car load and another 100k ohm resistor.

I assume that the alternator can generate 14.8V at 16 to 166 hz. And is supported by the Car battery.

If resistance is lower. The Wave effect is higher due to less current go through the Caps to charge it.

10k ohm resistor.

Corrected it by using higher Cap value. ;)

10k ohm Resistor, 32000 uF Cap :lol:

By looking at the charts we see that adding the caps increased the average voltage from 12.2V (no Caps) to 13.7V (32k uF Caps).

Using very big value caps, lets say 1F, there is possible to achive average voltage of 14.6V.
But how much money and effort (soldering is gonna kill you :P)you need to spend to achieve 1F.

I use RM ~25 to increase from 12.2V to 13.7 = 1.5V increment.
But for 13.7V to 14.4V = .9V ???? How much a few hundred?
As for safety, if use 32000 uF => the charges stored is 0.384 Coulomb.
If use 1F caps, => the charges is 12 Coulomb. (Which i think is not very safe) :huh:

1 Coulomb is already very BIG charge, if 12 Coulomb => Possible will cause accidental discharge and ACCIDENT. :(

I may not be right :ph34r: . Can Someone please verify? :lol: :D :P

If you really want big CAPS.

Can just buy those special CAP for audio which cost is quite high, But it is safer to use and won't fry u or your car ;)

Originally posted by badguy@Dec 23 2004, 16:53
wat's is "R1 10K" ????

how to install it???
The R1 10k is Resistor 10k ohm.

This resistor is to simulate the load in the car system.

Example: Your car battery is connected to the head lamps, ICE, air cond and other electrical device. These device will have resistence inside it.

The assumption made here is total resistance of all the device in the car is 10k ohm. (or 100k ohm - i only use 10k ohm and 100k ohm as sample)

Do not install the resistor :blink: .

hey...but i dun think it made the voltage higher rite in our car?

but nice xplaination vincew! u r a E&E engineer izit?

vincent,

what software are u using ? me intresting to make my own simulation. :D

Originally posted by xtorm@Dec 23 2004, 20:03
hey...but i dun think it made the voltage higher rite in our car?

but nice xplaination vincew! u r a E&E engineer izit?
Not making the voltage higher.

Wira car alternator generates ~14.8V of AC voltage which is then filtered only to have the +ve current.

So the alternator supply voltage of ~14.8V in half Wave form. When you combine the Battery voltage and the alternator Voltage setup, it will give about ~12.8V average.

Using voltmeter will only show 14.8V because the voltmeter can detect the higher Voltage. :rolleyes:

What we by adding the Caps is raising the AVERAGE voltage. (We don't make the voltage higher because the alternator is making the max voltage) :rolleyes:

Originally posted by gogsard@Dec 23 2004, 20:21
vincent,

what software are u using ? me intresting to make my own simulation. :D
I am using circuitmaker V6.2 for student. (Free for student) Do a search and download from web. :D

(BTW i am not from EE but from BSC Physic) :P