DR30 with FJ20DET

topui11

alo to all sifus...

just wanna ask you guys opinion on the car, Skyline DR30, and the engine, FJ20det.

how's the engine? anyone have experience with this engine? parts availability? also parts for the DR30?

it's 4lugs, so is the 5 lugs conversion a viable option for this car? with 4 pots? how about suspension? is it same as S13/A31?

how about LSD? does it comes standard from factory with LSD? if not, what LSD can be used? gearbox? is it the same R200?

Thanks for all opinion!! really appreciate it!!

KNN cmng!!! i thought really got information! hahaha

:lol: :lol:

but seriously, FJ20det, is it as problematic as SR20DET GTiR!??

hehe

Yea.. RB .. RB is free from problem
RB20, RB25, RB26 as well RB30
yeaaa go for it..

RB.. RB.. RB..

seriously i think most nissan engines are ok ... (cept for the gtir exception, spose, yet to find out more). it's just money. spend enuff money on any nissan engine you should be fine. nissan's block and bottom end damn tough wattttttt.... just the rest need to spend money lor. true or not?

SR Spend $$ also useless since cannot find part
muahahahahaha

boss,

near my place got 1 nissan...looks like dr30...light green or something like that...

ur car ar boss?

e39a

where? me in sabah la rite now. hehehe... if in KL got DR30, hmmm... that's interesting. can see aa the car? try to find out the owner. ;) hehehe

Originally posted by cmng@Dec 10 2004, 17:55
yeaaa go for it..

RB.. RB.. RB..
cm,

looks like u r heading forward to RB..... <_<

i nearly bought a DR30 in k.l .... supposed to see the car in the weekend but then the owner an uncle going back kampung so tak jadi .... after few days heard that car hentam lembu .. sigh wasted wasted .... somemore damn ori with the 2 tone colour and the sticker all still intact ... anyway,the FJ20DET i think has one of the strongest blocks,in aussie they are getting crazy horses with this engine ...

Originally posted by cmng@Dec 10 2004, 17:55
yeaaa go for it..

RB.. RB.. RB..
:lol:

Talk about 'high on RB's' ...

Sorry I'm a noob (please don't flame me) ... what's a dr30 and what's a fj?

jethrel

DR30 is a skyline from early 80s. Damn boxy looking car but quite nice with its 2 tone color and stickers. hehehe

FJ20det is the engine that comes with it. It's a 2.0, much like the CA18det.

Uras, yeah.. been reading some aussie forum. seems like 300hp with stock internals is easily available. pergh... but old engine la... afraid the parts will be hard to come by. unless parts are interchangable with CA18.... hmmm.....

<_< :D

More info here: http://homepages.tig.com.au/~robs/kevspage.htm

Fren of mine bought a nissan (dunno which model but its at least 15-20 years) with FJ20DET, problem is, its been sitting in the workshop for nearly a year due to a faulty part. Please PM me if you guys know where to look for FJ20's air flow sensor. Thanks

Originally posted by EGfan@Jan 7 2005, 14:12

Fren of mine bought a nissan (dunno which model but its at least 15-20 years) with FJ20DET, problem is, its been sitting in the workshop for nearly a year due to a faulty part. Please PM me if you guys know where to look for FJ20's air flow sensor. Thanks
Oh my. 1 year. I thought 1 month was terrible. Maybe you should PM or chat with cmng. He seems to know a lot about nissan engines and it's parts. Other than that, Australia seems to be the next best thing coz I've seen lotsa Datsun 1600s there with FJ20DET conversions.

taklking bout fj,i spot 2 nissan engine with nissan and dohc wordings on the valve cover,blue or red in colour..fj is it?

I thought the legendary NA FJ24 is the worst engine when it comes to sourcing parts?
Wow would be interesting to see that in action.....
Now that is one bloody rare engine.

Originally posted by 7urn57yl3+Jan 8 2005, 13:58 -->
QUOTE (7urn57yl3 @ Jan 8 2005, 13:58 )
--QuoteBegin-EGfan
@Jan 7 2005, 14:12

Oh my. 1 year. I thought 1 month was terrible. Maybe you should PM or chat with cmng. He seems to know a lot about nissan engines and it's parts. Other than that, Australia seems to be the next best thing coz I've seen lotsa Datsun 1600s there with FJ20DET conversions.[/b][/quote]
Thanks, will PM him about the parts.