F1 style paddle shift in new Civic?

BlackSamurai said:
haha, u caught me, perhaps i give a wrong example. haha. I mean it's a new trend and direction, or perhaps a selling point. Civic is for young dude, and young dude like new function, cool stuff (function becomes secondary in this case, cool doesn't means useful or helpful most of the time, more for marketing).

PS: I dun think retarded can handle those button. :p
PS: How many user with shiftronic or triptronic user use the gear shifting? I dunno, I just know my uncle don't use the City steering button for gear shift. :)
Exactly why I dislike these things. Because it is mainly a goddamn marketing gimmick to fool suckers into paying more for something they don't really need. Then there is the "poser" factor.

Thats because the City's gearbox is CVT and the manual shift mode sucks. If you've driven a real AMT like the Selespeed then you should know its damn good fun (although there are times when a stick is more satisfying).

koolspyda said:
if the new civic has the new paddle shift/buttons at the steering, system similar to SMG (BMW) or the SMT (toyota); Both of these aren't Auto but Sequential.
(Basically its manual without the foot clucth contary to a lot of people-on-the-street understanding.) You dont find "D" there.

i suppose the now honda too wanna join that club.

AMT (for savvy is sequential or Auto?)

Eh, there's a difference between AMT and sequential gearboxes. The AMT has a conventional synchromesh layout using the vertical and rotational gear engagement method(not sure of the official terms), same as a manual gearbox but controlled using actuators and hydraulics. Sequential gearboxes have a single drum which controls the shifting, and can only change gears in sequence (5-4-3-2-1, no skipping).

:driver: okie

>stick is more fun but driving sequential has almost all the benefits of a manual & a free hand.< :X-: :wink:

Eh.. I just noticed that we arent getting the bonkus hatch back version?
That sucks man. I thought that was it since it had the same meter cluster.

manual and paddle shift have the their own fun.. esp a paddle shift system that is jerky in nature.. try changing gear smooth with this system is a challenge and its satisfying if u get it right.. its the same as manual to some extent..

Hey bros,

I dunno. to say these sort of things as marketting and gimick driven is a bit true, but then again not so true.

I personally think it takes some getting used to. But I do think it helps.

For one, its sure the heck much easier to sprint off the line without burning your clutch. 1st gear dummp clutch syndrome becomes harder as you have higher powered cars and more traction avaialble on the tires.

Secondly, I like paddles as I find that a gearstick tends to make me hold the steering with one hand when I am downshifting just before a corner. Its very tricky, IMHO.

The issue for me is not if there is a paddle/button/tiptronic, but HOW FAST THE GEAR CHANGE AND ENGAGES.

So far, transmissions like CVTs, tiptronics and all out. Too slow to engage and does not engage fully instanteously. But more of engages softly. This is particularly a nightmare when you downshift into the corner and need the engine to do some engine braking.

IMHO IMHO.

Paddle shiftings are fine. But keep in mind that while having fun with it (or enjoying the "wow" factor), do contemplete that these shifting system will kong (be it wear and tear or abuse) in dur time. Don't think average Ah Kong workshops can fix these gadgets.

The only way is to send them to authorized service centers. These centres have tendencies to change the whole system if something goes hairwire. It's their (secret) policy. So prepare to pay big bucks for premium good and service...

Believe me, my boss owned a Beemer, and when the paddle shift went wrong, it burned a hole in his pocket -painful even for my boss's monthly salary.

The new Civic 2.0 will come in automatic only with paddleshift. The 1.8 will have no paddle shift. The suspension is a little less stiffer compared to the 7th gen, but power delivery is smoother. There are a lot of extra gimmicks compared to the 7th gen. You can redline and hit the limiter in the paddleshift mode, but upshifting and downshifting is not that fast though. The VSA however works a wonder for the average driver.

I've tested both of the cars. Don't ask me how. :P

si|verfish said:
So why do the retarded now need 2 extra buttons behind the wheel to deal with?

i don't know, maybe cause some 2 paddle shifts faster than the conventional stick? BMW claims their SMG II shifts faster than any manual. if its true, then i don't think its retarded at all.

ixeo said:
i don't know, maybe cause some 2 paddle shifts faster than the conventional stick? BMW claims their SMG II shifts faster than any manual. if its true, then i don't think its retarded at all.
Would you like to reconsider whether your sarcasm is misplaced? Or would you just like me to point it out to you?

Hint: Try to read posts in the bigger picture.

no need, thank you for the offer. all i'm saying is that it isn't merely a marketing gimmick, it works. whether the retarded need it or not is a different story.

That's because you are looking at it from a different point of view.

It works, but only if you use it. Don't assume others don't know a thing about SMGs and the likes.

It is like your multipurpose handphones nowadays. Full of technology and functionality. For the average joe who buys it, how much of all the gizmos will he use and how often? Not a lot and not very often is the answer. But they will pay more just to have it anyway. Why? Because it is a marketing gimmick. And it works, mainly because consumers are suckers for high tech gizmos.

Sort of like having rear wheel drive. Sure it's better but for everyday it just doesn't make a difference.

some ppl might not like the paddle shift n thats their prob.. it exist well becoz many others like it.. call it marketing gimmick anot it gives more choice to consumers..

p/s: letting ur own preference dictate ur pt of view is fine but when a person start to use insulting words to show that his preference is superior to others is a completely different case.. in case u think its hypocrite its not, u dint act as if u like that thing n u gave ur point of view

yes, it has f1 paddle shifts... but on which models, not sure... must wait for the launch to confirm...

na_power said:
Hurm... hurm when will the new civic will release the k20a version?

k20a? what version is that? sorry... newbie in car codes... anyway, it has released the type-r concept pics...

GT3 said:
some ppl might not like the paddle shift n thats their prob.. it exist well becoz many others like it.. call it marketing gimmick anot it gives more choice to consumers..

p/s: letting ur own preference dictate ur pt of view is fine but when a person start to use insulting words to show that his preference is superior to others is a completely different case.. in case u think its hypocrite its not, u dint act as if u like that thing n u gave ur point of view
Umm...is this in response to my post?

Because if it is, I can't see the relation.