FF drifting

heheh well if you give a Front Wheel drive car to Keiichi i doubt he can do any drift on it.. HAHAHHAHAA as his skills being over shadowed by new age drifters..
hahah anyway... (no doubt he drifted the most car compared to others.. lol)

well if insurance is a problem.. and you r concern over it, best not to drift lo.. coz you will be hiting something down the line hahahah

Well for extra info. the Advan drift event Rd1 in japan (read from drift tengoku)
about 100 drifters entered and there is 1 EF9, one EF8, one 1 DE3A(which ever this car is), so for those who want to "TRY" drifting with ff do go ahead...

The drift scene in Malaysia needs people that is serious about it.. so those with FF and are serious about drifting. do try to get hold of a RWD car ;)

well you can have chicken rice with a knife if you want to.. but wouldn't a spoon be appropriate ? think about it. :)

Originally posted by learnyee@Aug 9 2004, 11:48 AM
I did this whenever I try to driff:
1) go as fast as possible, maybe about 100km/h
2) Just right before entering the corner, break hard, release brake and turn hard to slide the back.
3) anything after that is accelerating hard and exit the corner.
I used to do this when going into those highway intersection, or even roundabout.I tried to avoind pulling handbrake because once I almost sent myself out of the road by pulling handbrake.
Any sifu can comment on this?

btw Keng, your driff is fantastic, what is the speed you are on when you driff and the distance before the corner and the car that start to driff?
i think i was goin around 70kph when i entered but exit around 30-40kph onli :lol: :lol: :lol: .....

distance ar....didnt' really count ler, i assume its around 15-20m kot, when u get used 2 it, u'll noe how early/late u need 2 start sliding...

it depends on how fast ure goin in & da angle of da corner u intend 2 go around......u can actu aredi start 2 slide further from wer normal car wud start 2 turn their steering wheel by goin faster & of coz, a wetter ground wud cum in handy :) .....good luck...

i tried to drift but faild too..what ahppen was only powerslide..

understeer is what i fear..
one question,
we're suppose to understeer while we drift with a FF ?

ok let say..i understeer..what am i suppose to do?
press on the brake?(weight transpfer?)

or
either counter steer?(which i don;t think so)

or
release and press on throttle to gain control again?

Originally posted by WAJA2003+Aug 9 2004, 07:16 PM-->
QUOTE (WAJA2003 @ Aug 9 2004, 07:16 PM)
--QuoteBegin-learnyee
@Aug 9 2004, 11:48 AM
I did this whenever I try to driff:
1) go as fast as possible, maybe about 100km/h
2) Just right before entering the corner, break hard, release brake and turn hard to slide the back.
3) anything after that is accelerating hard and exit the corner.
I used to do this when going into those highway intersection, or even roundabout.I tried to avoind pulling handbrake because once I almost sent myself out of the road by pulling handbrake.
Any sifu can comment on this?

btw Keng, your driff is fantastic, what is the speed you are on when you driff and the distance before the corner and the car that start to driff?

Wahh,100km/h ???? sure bohhhhhhh
i think the speed is abit fast larrr
BTW what monster car u drive???? at last i want to say
if in dry n good tarmac road,FF car is hard to slide 1,only under steer only..... [/b][/quote]
Yah. 100km/h, a hard brake will get it down to about 90. I used to do that in the intersection fom Federal highway into the Shah Alam one (where you make a big round and go over to Seksyen 18)
the existing speed depends on how fast I enter the corner, after doing all the sliding, driffing, etc, it will always end up about 70km/h or a bit faster.

Originally posted by ZeE@Aug 9 2004, 10:46 PM
heheh well if you give a Front Wheel drive car to Keiichi i doubt he can do any drift on it.. HAHAHHAHAA as his skills being over shadowed by new age drifters..
hahah anyway... (no doubt he drifted the most car compared to others.. lol)

well if insurance is a problem.. and you r concern over it, best not to drift lo.. coz you will be hiting something down the line hahahah

Well for extra info. the Advan drift event Rd1 in japan (read from drift tengoku)
about 100 drifters entered and there is 1 EF9, one EF8, one 1 DE3A(which ever this car is), so for those who want to "TRY" drifting with ff do go ahead...

The drift scene in Malaysia needs people that is serious about it.. so those with FF and are serious about drifting. do try to get hold of a RWD car ;)

well you can have chicken rice with a knife if you want to.. but wouldn't a spoon be appropriate ? think about it. :)
Well, what Zee saying is right. Import Tuner(or some US car performance magazine) once interviewed Ueno of Vertex Toyota Soarer fame, he commented that though Keichi is the judge of D1 and he does not want to offend him(haha :lol: ), but added on saying that right now the drifting skills of the new age drifters have begun to overshadow Keichi's technique. He points out that Keichi's technique is old-school style where else new age drifters themselves will try ways to add more flair to their existing style.

I am personally concerned about insurance is because drifting to me is quite costly(when i ass-drag my van previously, i used to fork up my own money to do all the painting, body ketuk, buying second hand tyres...blah blah blah) and i think if i can get an insurance coverage for the car that will reduce my expenses. As I am just a normal college kid with low pocket money and little side-line part time job income, insurance coverage is somewhat important to me.

Zee's illustration of chicken rice, knife and spoon is also good. To me, I just drift(or ass-drag) and make good use of any car i can afford. Previously i got a van and it is FF, this time i'ma get a cheap FR car. Johnson Lam just replied my PM and gave me some valuable advice about 120Y.

If there is any post that I posted offended any parties, I would like to offer an apology, I'm sorry :mellow:

Anyway i want to say big thanks to Zee for replying here and other forumers who PM me for giving me more ideas and more knowledge from different views and prospectives. Your views, I highly appreciate them.

until then..........just drift on........

yeah........sideways.............

p.s: just a small note here, DE3A is actually Mitsubishi FTO

FF drifting, the easy way.

1. "Borrow" trays from Mc Dees.
2. Jack rear end of car, place trays below both rear tyres.
3. Lower the rear end.
4. Find anything that can fasten the trays to the rims preferably
5. Get in car
6. lock handbrake
7. Ignition
8. Have Fun!!!
9. "Borrow" more trays

:D :D :D

haiyaa.....

dont gado2 la..not nice.....

i drift FF & FR...both oso nice....
but to me, if u're serious-i mean very serious into drift scene,
get an FR...

Originally posted by alantan@Aug 10 2004, 12:01 AM
i tried to drift but faild too..what ahppen was only powerslide..

understeer is what i fear..
one question,
we're suppose to understeer while we drift with a FF ?

ok let say..i understeer..what am i suppose to do?
press on the brake?(weight transpfer?)

or
either counter steer?(which i don;t think so)

or
release and press on throttle to gain control again?
to solve ur understeer problem...this is taught by drift sifu in my team (garage titan)...pull the handbrake whenever u understeer....but i always fail to do tat coz:

1) i dont like pulling handbrake
2) my left hand is too slow :P

he oso told me, u hav to worry nothing and juz whack it...coz i was gutless that time and i only can drift b4 exiting corner...not through the whole corner

imo, ff cars can drift...definitely can!.... it juz doesnt hav the flexibility fr cars offer....fr is the only way to real drifting

its true that if u r serious about drifting its best to get an FR... but then college kids like me and Keng cant do that till we are out and working... then i will definately get an FR... all we hav to do is just play with our current cars which our parents supplied and just do what we can for now. then time will come for us to get our own FR's.

yeah..i agree wif MetalZone..
i would love to get my hands on a FR if i can.. but money is really a factor..
for the time being, in order to satisfy my lust for going sideways, i'll hafta do it in wif my FF car first..:P
i'll get a FR next time when i work, for sure.. :rolleyes:

ya lor....

me oso was a student....
when start working then slowly save my salary..
to buy kancil...look at my avatar...thats was my precious be-4...
then..when drifting scene get grown...n i was amaze of drifting,
i tried with ford ranger...but then, wet road laa...
walawwweeii..very easy to get rear slide out...then i was fastinated
to FR until i get my own FR... point is...be patience...
N drifting is not because of the car...it is depends on the driver....
so..no matter what u ride, FF or FR, just slide all the way...
i can guarantee u, syiok habis....

unless u whack sumthin, then it is called suwey la..not syiok anymore... :lol:

Originally posted by MetalZone@Aug 11 2004, 01:42 PM
its true that if u r serious about drifting its best to get an FR... but then college kids like me and Keng cant do that till we are out and working... then i will definately get an FR... all we hav to do is just play with our current cars which our parents supplied and just do what we can for now. then time will come for us to get our own FR's.
:lol: , how cum put me on da table geh .....well, vre just 1 of da many ppl who r in da same situation.....guess v'll hav 2 stop dreamin' & really work 4 it.... :)

Originally posted by LyzardLaki@Aug 11 2004, 05:53 PM

point is...be patience...
N drifting is not because of the car...it is depends on the driver....
so..no matter what u ride, FF or FR, just slide all the way...
i can guarantee u, syiok habis....

Hi.

I have to agree with Lyzardlaki; Don't worry too much about what you drive . Have fun with what you have at the moment as anything is possible if you know how . I bet if you were to give Zee or Uras and gang an FF, they'll be able to drift it too ( though they'll never admit to it ;))

Recently, I've witnessed a Proton Satria with standard shocks ,do and maintained a drift and finished it of with a chouko-dori. From outside he looked a lot busier (with his hands working the steering and handbrake :)) than the FRs doing the same thing but it goes to show that its possible. Also to add his entry speed was a lot faster than the FRs and that was really scary..

hmm...skagee.. mind telling me wut is chouko dori?? :lol: newbie here-lerr..

Chouko dori is when you make your car sway left and right in a controlled manner while heading straight ahead.

in other words.. fishtailing aaa? ;) brader... long time no see in forum

actually...left foot braking is oso another good method to drift ur car..or initiate a drift..it was suggested by mr ys khong when i asked him..so i tried it out..yup..itss working :D

Originally posted by airfilter@Aug 13 2004, 02:53 PM
actually...left foot braking is oso another good method to drift ur car..or initiate a drift..it was suggested by mr ys khong when i asked him..so i tried it out..yup..itss working :D
Just my comment here:
I tried on left foot braking before and it is not easy to do it correctly. The logic behind LFB is by braking hard, you do a weight transfer from rear to front, imposing more traction on your front wheels and the same time of LFB, you are supposed to accelerate to prevent your front wheel locking but lock the rear wheel.
During LFB, accelerating, and steering hard, if you do everything in a correct timing, your rear will driff (sliding I mean), and you need substantial of momentum(speed) to make your car really driff.

one more thing about LFB is that you virtually don't have any delay from braking to accelerating, if you do RFB, it takes more time to rev up your engine because you can only rev after your leg is lift of from the brake peddal.

BTW, I found out that pulling handbrake proven to be the most effective way of making your rear driff under low speed. Personally I tried making U-turn with just LFB alone, and it needs at least 3-4 lanes for the whole turn pratically because due to the speed, your front wheels may just slide all the way until it get its grip back to pull the car straight back. Tried with handbraking just a moment ago (during lunch) is takes about 2.5 lanes to complete the turn.

Originally posted by lil_jk+Aug 9 2004, 07:37 PM-->
QUOTE (lil_jk @ Aug 9 2004, 07:37 PM)
Originally posted by GAME_OVER@Aug 8 2004, 10:51 PM
--QuoteBegin-ZeE
@Aug 8 2004, 08:29 PM
I'll be frank here...

FF cars will and forever be a sidedish when it comes to drifting.
The main dish is still a RWD car drifting.. as our drifting scene in malaysia is growing.. i would suggest the hardcore drifters or noob drifters, which most use FF, get a FR to drift with.
We dont even have enuf people to cook the Main dish.
Money might be a concern to most, but a ke70 modded with 4age & lsd should be around 11+k.. well thats 2nd hand kancil/iswara price range rite?

so think for the future of drifting in Malaysia, get a RWD car.

zee: i think u don really understand the drifting style between FF n FR ..do u ???
RWD drifting is just too common to the public .... power over ,faint ...bla bla bla ...
c ..even 3 years old kids knows about this ....
in genaral ...most ppl think that FF can only do "ass dragging" ... don stick to that meta believe... FF can actually do wonders in drifting world ...... which RWD cannot imagine .... pls ..pls ... the main key is "weight transfer".play arround wif it ..get use to it ....and u can even playing stunts in FF!!!

i am not here to side anyone, but this is just my opinion.

As Keichi said in his interview with taiwanese car performance magazine Spec R ****** back to May 2002 and also in Drift Bible, actually any cars can be drifted, it is actually depends on how good you can manipulate the weight transfer and also the suspension, LSD(in some cars), brakes settings .

In his interview with Spec R, he said that the reason many people prefer FR and sometimes MR cars to drift is because these cars really easily manipulate weight transfers while drifting, as opposed to all wheel drive and FF cars.

regarding Zee's statement of getting a ke 70, well his idea is pretty good actually but in another way there is a problem, which i find most of the forummers here do not talk about it before or maybe completely ignorent about this matter: from what i know, there are lesser and lesser insurance companies are willing to cover older cars. Even Kurnia, from what i know is starting to reject those first generation Protons, as they are too old. I think unless you are going to make the car into drift machine and not going to use for daily wet-marketing or working or studying, then you are not going to face this problems. Buying old cars(budget FR cars to be converted into drift machines) in malaysia is getting tougher and tougher

hope someone out there agrees with me. if there is anybody who disagrees with what i say, just straight away shoot me.

if i have offended anybody, any party, pls forgive me

until then..........just drift on.....

yeah....sideways [/b][/quote]
yahhh agree here.......im not good in words, so havta quote from ppl.......hehe hope u guyz dun mind i share some of my tots oso......

From the day i had my 'P' license till 'P' is over........i think, those were the days lar......the craziest driving days in my life

i know NUTS......
i had almost ZERO knowledge bout cars ....dats y i had to rely purely on 'instincts' ; the point my car fishtailed then i know dats the limit........tyres screeching.....dats the point.........then i started enjoy the sound of tyre screeching n sideways.........

from a racer-wannabe, i turned to drifter-wannabe.......hehehe

had relied much on late braking n inertial drift; weight-transfer basically to initiate the drift (now dat I know the terms)

btw, car i drove: '91 SH4 civic (stock standard) 13" rims, stock absorbers
speed: 120~130km/h sideways

ok, thanx for reading my old granpa story ehheh........

so whenever i recall back, wats wrong wif FF drifting?(Im not saying FF is good or anything better, but given me an FR dat time, I dun think i can drift successfully cuz im not used to a RWD)

every car deserves the same....old, new, ff, fr, mr, rr, 4wd or 2wd........its the sideways spirit dat counts, the driver dat matters........

flame me i dun mind.......its the past n fact dat cant b changed

ENJOY SIDEWAYS!!!