Ford Lynx Rs

monmon

hi guys,

i am looking to buy the ford lynx rs. i know very little about the car but the offer package seems very attractive. i have read thru some forums on it, and it seems it doesn't have too big a problem.

i hope those who may have one, or might have heard some scary stories abt this car to voice them out. thanks.

i might have needed to post this at the car make section, but i didn't think many ppl would be visiting the continental section. sorry

u wanna hear scary stories about a certain ford lynx?try look for a member nicked GHOST....damn scary shite for a sedan car.....seriously...phisshhh

i am pretty convinced myself. going to the bank tomorrow to arrange the loan, i have not paid for booking or anything yet, not too late.

it really seems like value for money, it's pretty much got everything. i compare this car with all those around the price range and not the capacity. really, it outshines, the perdana v6, altis, mazda 6, xtrail.... those were a couple of cars i were looking at.

well if no one discourages me here, i'll post my comments after the test drive.

yeah...great value for ringgit for a sedan..
happy for u man!
keep us updated! cheers!

XoXO

lynx rs is a chun car...

if can get the white one, dunno tat 1 comes with the oem recaros anot...

i know some people driving it, the ford lynx rs is a very underated car, handling and performance can beat alot of other cars in it's class...heheheh

Originally posted by SataniC@Apr 25 2005, 17:49
u wanna hear scary stories about a certain ford lynx?try look for a member nicked GHOST....damn scary shite for a sedan car.....seriously...phisshhh
[snapback]926313[/snapback]​

wei, where got scary...me driving normal lynx only, not rs summore...heheheh

Ford Lynx RS is a beauuuuuuuuutiful car.. hopefully your one comes with the Recaro's.. Don't buy the turbo version tho.. it's a bolt on and 18" rims are just too... big.

The only disadvantage is like any conti car (except BMW and Merc), it's got ridiculously bad re-sale value.

got turbo version for sale meh???
18 inch rims???

izso, which dealer selling it ar...

i don't think there is a turbo version, there may be one shown at the car show a couple of yrs back.

the white RS is out, and available, but i am not getting that. i have 2 white cars at home now and i its too much to keep it clean.

i am not too worried abt resale value now. not many cars hold their value well, as far as i can see, i have not been able to search for a RS for sale on motortrader or the star classifieds. but the lynx still can demand a pretty ok price.

There is one magazine called H*p*rt*ne project car. Spent about RM60,000 on the car. Last 2 months (if I not mistaken larrr) they are selling it at attractive price. Very impressive looks, power and comment on it. Happy shopping!!!!!

thanks for the lead sly, but i don't think i am looking for a souped up car at the moment. i need a comfy car to drive me around malaysia. i believe the 2 litre VICA engine from the ford shouldn't be disappointing.

also i am worried abt the loan i could get for a "project" car. you know how that sounds, we always call it that when we wreck the car, also maintaining it at the redline for 2 minutes.

Ford Lynx RS is not a conti.

Ford Japan is an associate of Mazda. It owns abt 30% stake in Mazda.

Ford UK, u have ford focus rs, mondeo, ka

Originally posted by monmon@Apr 25 2005, 23:39
it really seems like value for money, it's pretty much got everything. i compare this car with all those around the price range and not the capacity. really, it outshines, the perdana v6, altis, mazda 6, xtrail.... those were a couple of cars i were looking at.
[snapback]927241[/snapback]​

I really like the Lynx RS. However, I do not think that it is nicer to drive than the Mazda 6. The Mazda looks good and feels good too... In my humble opinion.

true, it may not have been a fair comparison like i said. but the price tag of the mazda 6 is around 160k? as compared to a car some 50k cheaper. i think i would put comfort secondary.

well i am speaking from a person who can own a car not above 120k.

Originally posted by anttyk+Apr 26 2005, 10:07 -->
QUOTE(anttyk @ Apr 26 2005, 10:07 )
--QuoteBegin-monmon
@Apr 25 2005, 23:39
[snapback]927241[/snapback]​

I really like the Lynx RS. However, I do not think that it is nicer to drive than the Mazda 6. The Mazda looks good and feels good too... In my humble opinion.
[snapback]928294[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

I thought Ford is American??
I used to have a Ford Taurus, it broke every here and there.:(

I'm sorry about the bad comment. But you wanna compare, right??

Zidane/Izz : Haiya.. I never said it was a conti la.. I said like all conti's.. meaning I'm comparing it with conti's.. and whether it's Japan or UK Ford.. it's got lousy resale! Less than 50% of the value is gone if the car is more than 6 months old. Trust me, I did my research on this car cuz I was *this close* to getting it!

Ghost : yeah.. the initial launching of the RS was at the international motorshow and they had a limited offer of turbo charged RS's. The initial launch offered Recaro god-knows-whats which was worth 4K total and had loads of other items together with it and stock 16" rims. The turbo version has about 80ps more torque than the standard edition and comes with 18" rims and a bolt on turbo. Wait for me to get home I show you the pics of the two models.

Originally posted by Izso@Apr 26 2005, 12:04
Zidane/Izz : Haiya.. I never said it was a conti la.. I said like all conti's.. meaning I'm comparing it with conti's.. and whether it's Japan or UK Ford.. it's got lousy resale! Less than 50% of the value is gone if the car is more than 6 months old. Trust me, I did my research on this car cuz I was *this close* to getting it!

Ghost : yeah.. the initial launching of the RS was at the international motorshow and they had a limited offer of turbo charged RS's. The initial launch offered Recaro god-knows-whats which was worth 4K total and had loads of other items together with it and stock 16" rims. The turbo version has about 80ps more torque than the standard edition and comes with 18" rims and a bolt on turbo. Wait for me to get home I show you the pics of the two models.
[snapback]928672[/snapback]​

Thing, i never said that u did. Monmon said that he put the subject in the conti section. that's all. btw, how r u bud, pm me your hp number. i lost it. ahaks.

btw, ford also has a branch in US, where did u guys think the ford gt came from and the ford mustang etc....

Izz : So is this Ford a US car or Japan car or UK car? :blink:

Here are my pics taken during the launch of this lovely car. :)

Here's the stock Ford RS... sorry no engine pic.

http://mercury.walagata.com/w/izso/fordrs01.JPG

And here's the turbo-ed version of the RS

http://mercury.walagata.com/w/izso/fordrs02.JPG

Notice that the turbo RS has no obvious intercooler there.. it also looks like a bolted on turbo kit.