Gauging interest on plasti dip

Gauging Interest : Which Plasti Dip Color Would You Prefer And What Would You Dip?

• Blaze Blue

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • Blaze Green

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Blaze Orange

• Blaze Pink

• Blaze Purple

• Blaze Yellow

• Base White

• Base Red

• Base Black

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • Smoke!

• Gun Metal

• Camo Black

• Camo Brown

• Camo Tan

• Camo Green

• Total voters
Depending on the quality of the finish bro, if the surface is rough then the clear coat may still trap lint. If its smooth to the touch and you got a handsome amount of clear coat on it, Should be easy to wash with a regular cloth. try to experiment with the nippon pylox clear coat over PD.

I used that haha...Nippon pylox clear. The surface is smoother but if only apply a very thin layer..I can still feel rough surface. 4 coats would be nice.

Normal clear coat would make it gloss. But what if plastidip clear? Will it matte the glossy paint surface? That's what I would like to know. Coz lets say your car is a special colour but you want it to be matte instead of glossy, can we just use plastidip clear on the paint surface and the gloss would be gone? :hmmmm:

I used that haha...Nippon pylox clear. The surface is smoother but if only apply a very thin layer..I can still feel rough surface. 4 coats would be nice.

Normal clear coat would make it gloss. But what if plastidip clear? Will it matte the glossy paint surface? That's what I would like to know. Coz lets say your car is a special colour but you want it to be matte instead of glossy, can we just use plastidip clear on the paint surface and the gloss would be gone? :hmmmm:

i believe plasti dip clear is to make it matt unless you use glosifier. Here video for you below if you think you like the look of it.

Myths About Plasti Dip (Vol 1) - YouTube

Matte-Clear Plastidip Protective Bra - YouTube

You can sand with 3000 grit sandpaper and leave it, will look matte......hahahahahaha:rofl:

Or you can wrap it.....
PICT6138.jpg

PICT6139.jpg

PICT6136.jpg

Taken at Bangkok Motor show 2010

Was thinking over this morning whether to Plastidip my kelisa to the SE version or some call it limited edition type with black roof.
Was thinking to add glossifier on it so that it will have some gloss. If not later half bottom metallic gloss and top is Matte.

Will look weird. If PD clear can make it matte, then Is a good idea for me to do the bottom part to become matte :biggrin:

Was washing my Hyundai and saw the window area the black all scratch and paint chip, think will start trying out PD.....:hmmmm::biggrin:

So it is to gloss the matte Dip?

---------- Post added at 06:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

Since PD without clear coat attracts lint, so will the clear coat protect lint from sticking?

Was washing my Hyundai and saw the window area the black all scratch and paint chip, think will start trying out PD.....:hmmmm::biggrin:

You wax my car, I PD your hyundai :rofl:

:mad:

Today cut out a template with cupboard and tried to PD it over the spot on my car and it teardropped. @!#(!@)%&@!)#)!&%@)*
Ripped the whole thing out.

I think I need to do this with tracing paper?

Today cut out a template with cupboard and tried to PD it over the spot on my car and it teardropped. @!#(!@)%&@!)#)!&%@)*

Can the teardrop be cut and ripped? I guess normal A4 paper would be good enough, just that you gotta make sure the bottom is sticked to your car body to avoid any sippings..double side tape?

LOL! U did it right I guess, just maybe can try to do some diecut on the shape after dipping, separating it away from your template. Use a blade. Not too hard, later scratched your Lotus Racing Green Paint :biggrin:

Try not to over spray but to layer each interval with thin coats, May take up to 5-6

Doing Plastidip indeed needs lots of patience...

So, actually thought of doing the kelisa but then, best leave the missy's car aside at the moment.
Both cars are clean and ready to plastidip but then, I thought I should just try out with my BLM 1st
and see how things goes.

Did about 5 coats on the bumper. But is a fail project, used up almost half a can by estimating the weight of the spray.
Which is why now I understand doing the bonnet alone, 1 can is only just enough for that section with 5 coats on
depending on the size of the part u r doing though.

But the part I did on the bumper is just a small area. Estimated half a can cuz was doing a Steel Bar as experiment
and doing my rear bumper at the same time. Steel bar is rounded so roughly around 16 coats in total.

Which I think that's the reason why I used up that much :rofl:

Before Photo

http://s1.oto.my/upload/image/2013/01/22/32704/s4-RR9618.JPG

AFTER PLASTIDIP

IMG-20130408-01684.jpg

From this photo itself, you can start to see the flaws, this is what happen when we are doing plastidip without an
edge that we can peel out easily. Yet, you need to outline the shape yourself, just like doing a decal yourself.

Which was what happened to Izso's decal where after the project is done, when he tried to take out the decal shape,
the plastidip tear out along. I guess is the same thing that I'm experiencing. Sorry didnt have the before photo with
how I taped it up.

Just use masking tape to tape the shape out along the so called lines that is real hard for me to judge. Also another headache
when I was doing this dip, trying to get the edge correctly so that it doesn't go out of shape.

Took me about 2 hours+ to get a fail job done and it hurts to know almost half a can gone :rofl:
But a mistake is never a loss. You will learn a lot from it. You just got to fall when you learn how to walk.

FLAWS:

IMG-20130408-01681.jpg

IMG-20130408-01683.jpg

IMG-20130408-01682.jpg

So, as you can see at those edges, those are the parts where I outlined it with masking tape had uneven tear.
The shape was still okay but the tearing part that destroyed the whole thing.

From far it looks okay, but closed up on the road, I think the flaws are quite obvious.
They may think is a bad Wrapped Up job :rofl:

From my experiment on the Steel Bar, I did half Plastidipped and half Plastidipped sprayed with
2 coats of Gloss. 4 pass each coat only on 1 part. Didn't do the whole steel as it takes up quite some time.

Since is just an experiment and I did tape a Masking tape right in the middle to separate into 2 sections of test.

Gloss part Is smoother but not real smooth, just smoother than Plastidipped section.
And guess what, after my fail project on the bumper, the part where it is applied with gloss,
seems to tear off real nice with 1 straight line on the steel, parts that did not applied with
gloss, end up like my bumper.

Will post and elaborate more. So, it seems that after applied with gloss, the surface seems to stay?
Just my 1st try, can't confirm but is a bit too glossy for me. I prefer the Matte surface with it's natural gloss.

Might gonna try buying another spray which is semi-gloss. Anyway, that's all for now.

You wax my car, I PD your hyundai :rofl:

Can, come over we DIT loh.......:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:11 AM ----------

If use masking tape needs a bit of skill. I see from your pic, the taping is straight and you were overlapping (I think). I see from the spray painter when they tape the mask tape especially the corner they bend the tape. Sort of the inner side will be crumpled to get the curve....:hmmmm:

Interesting, BH has did his hood with PD strips using masking tape. the trick is in the video tutorial. Thicker and lesser coats and lesser drying time. Peel the tape in a sharp angle at a consistent speed as though its "cutting" the PD. The earlier pages contains his work and the tutorial.

Can, come over we DIT loh.......:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:11 AM ----------

If use masking tape needs a bit of skill. I see from your pic, the taping is straight and you were overlapping (I think). I see from the spray painter when they tape the mask tape especially the corner they bend the tape. Sort of the inner side will be crumpled to get the curve....:hmmmm:

Yup, you are right, I was thinking the same thing, the taping part adi wrong as well but
now is about tearing out the masking tape part is the headache, the only way I see is
to use a very sharp blade to cut according to the shape a bit. If not, no matter how
perfect I tape, will still tear out. Unless Glossify works in making the plastidip stay on,
then is one of the easiest way liao :biggrin:

I'll redo when have time, just not something I can accept.

This time will bend the tape instead of overlapping

U guys have any solutions to maintain the plasti Dip on door handles?
Left door handles to complete the black look of my persona, and rims too.
I thought of using clear coat then behind the door handles i tape it, but of course can't see the tape la.
:stoned:

Interesting, BH has did his hood with PD strips using masking tape. the trick is in the video tutorial. Thicker and lesser coats and lesser drying time. Peel the tape in a sharp angle at a consistent speed as though its "cutting" the PD. The earlier pages contains his work and the tutorial.
Yup, there are a few that manage to do the cut but some did not have a nice cut ended up tearing some out.

I guess like you said, thicker but less coats. I realised thinner coats are easier to peel. Maybe this
time 5 thick coats is kinda too much.

But I start to remove every masking tape after my last coat, don't want to wait till it dries up
as what I'm afraid that it will tear it apart when I remove the masking tape.

Guess I was wrong. Gonna view that video again. Thanks for reminding me on that bro.

Definitely have to do it again, as you can see is a bad job. Need time to tear it out as well :frown:

U guys have any solutions to maintain the plasti Dip on door handles?
Left door handles to complete the black look of my persona, and rims too.
I thought of using clear coat then behind the door handles i tape it, but of course can't see the tape la.
:stoned:

Possible to remove the door handles to do plastidip? if not then just leave the inside without dipped.
no one can see it anyway. Well, that's what I'll do. Unless remove the handles and then spray some gloss on it.