GSR turbo 4WD must locked????

jgv5383

Hi guys....
just wanna ask this question.all GSR turbo is 4WD,rite?
so must we locked the rear wheel?
let say,if my car is original a 4wd car, so can i just fully use the 4wd system?or i must lock it so the gear box will work with smooth?
thanks...

actually use 4wd is better than lock it
coz it can fully use the power of the engine
but many say that 4wd fc is higher than 2wd
so decide urself la
pls correct me if i'm wrong

All GSR gearbox are 4WD. U have to lock it to 2WD if u plan to dump GSR engine into proton car otherwise your car wont pass PUSPAKOM and JPJ inspection. 4WD car suffer fuel consumption compare to 2WD bcoz it needs to roll 4 wheels from static but good for drag, then your 4 tyres will get botak faster too. Allow 10BHP power lost if u lock to 4WD too.

just my 2 cents

so that's mean if my car has a original 4wd system,then i should remain it,rite?then it could approved by JPJ,rite?Will the gear box more lasting if i use 2wd???
So any 1 know the sprint time (stock 1) and HP of the GSR turbo?
thanks alots...
sorry,may i ask a stupid qustion?what is FC?sorry....junior mah..

crocky said:
All GSR gearbox are 4WD. U have to lock it to 2WD if u plan to dump GSR engine into proton car otherwise your car wont pass PUSPAKOM and JPJ inspection. 4WD car suffer fuel consumption compare to 2WD bcoz it needs to roll 4 wheels from static but good for drag, then your 4 tyres will get botak faster too. Allow 10BHP power lost if u lock to 4WD too.

just my 2 cents

power loss will be around 25%. not just 10hp.

wow!!if use the 4wd will cause 25% HP loss??how come??then better lock the rear wheel?i thought if use 4wd will be more stable and better pick up and cornering??which 1 will last longer??2wd or original 4wd??need advice...thanks...

jgv5383 said:
wow!!if use the 4wd will cause 25% HP loss??how come??then better lock the rear wheel?i thought if use 4wd will be more stable and better pick up and cornering??which 1 will last longer??2wd or original 4wd??need advice...thanks...

my experience.....i drive evo n impreza.....both 4wd......stable, bettere pick-up n good in cornering......

let's say.....wira 4G63T 4wd vs wira 4G63T 2wd.....u think which is stable? for 4wd..u can stil tekan minyak when u cornering..but 2wd cannot..the car wil 'buang'.....

juz my 2 cents...corect if im wrong

hi kenny,
so u suggest i better remain the 4wd drive,rite?but will this gear box last if remain 4wd?any idea?my 1 is a lancer mx,4wd 1 ,waiting for a engine GSR turbo..so now have to prepare some work b4 install...really need ur help...roughly need how much $$ and brabra...

thats y i knew everyone got it wrong
his car already 4wd ler
now want to put in another 4wd engine only
no need lock bro
but why gsr turbo n not EVO ?

hi jinkl,
i wish to put in evo oso,but economy not allowed,unless evo 4 lor.....some more jpj that side change rules oredi...1.5 cant convert to 2.0,rite?
but is there any special case?cos same mitsubishi car and body,really cant?
so i wont lock my rear wheel....but same question..will it be last??thanks 4 u reply...

jgv5383 said:
hi kenny,
so u suggest i better remain the 4wd drive,rite?but will this gear box last if remain 4wd?any idea?my 1 is a lancer mx,4wd 1 ,waiting for a engine GSR turbo..so now have to prepare some work b4 install...really need ur help...roughly need how much $$ and brabra...

ur car is 4wd so remain 4wd better....no wrong one....evo n subaru all r 4wd..proven to be stable n best..

bro..y dun put in evo engine? not so expensive oso....evo3 engine not bad.....u can feel d differences

E3 is realiable?but my engine modding is different from wira..is ck 4 type,so suitable o put in E4,5,6or....
somore 1.5 to 2.0 can be approved by JPJ??even my 1 is mit chasis,but i dun think they allow...
E3 is roughly how much??<10K?

jgv5383 said:
E3 is realiable?but my engine modding is different from wira..is ck 4 type,so suitable o put in E4,5,6or....
somore 1.5 to 2.0 can be approved by JPJ??even my 1 is mit chasis,but i dun think they allow...
E3 is roughly how much??QUOTE]

wao..ur is ck4..rear is triangle lamp......if not enuf budget....wait la..save more....get evo4 engine at least.......better lo.....u wan beat wat car oso not a big problem

yup,triangle tail lamp..my 1 evo 5 and 6 chasis..4 evo4,roughly how much is it?wish to but..really no $$,$$ is a matter.....rite?still got long way to go...

9k....plus the installation i think should be around 10++ liao...maybe try GSR 1st then convert again next time...

jgv5383 said:

the amount of power loss is due to the transmission. but its only logical cuz the same amount of power will be needed to turn 4 wheels instead of 2. drivability will be better with 4wd cuz of the traction. but 4wd has some understeering characteristics. needs plenty of skill to properly utilise the handling abilities of the 4wd.