GT-R in Testing...

xbalance2002

GTR prototype up close, when it stopped for fuel while undergoing altitude testing in New Mexico

DSCF040.jpg

More ..

http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/1888/gtr2td8rg1.jpg

http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/1239/gtrnz8wv3.jpg

Around 5:30 Monday night, Keith (evo4g63) and I were heading down Cerrillos Road when we spotted the silver prototype Nissan Skyline, along with 2 black Armadas turning into an Amigo Mart on the opposite side of the road. Being that this was a rare sighting, we quickly flipped a "U" and pulled into the station. As we pulled in, the car surrounded by roughly 12 Asian guys who were logging information. Hoping that they spoke English, we decided to get down to talk with them about the car. I asked one of the guys what he thought of the car, and you guessed it, he had no idea what I was saying. However, he did manage to whisper a question into my ear, "you know GTR", in which I replied, "heck yes". As he asked me that, I noticed a large bulge on the right hand side of the covered interior. To my pleasant surprise it was a Japanese version Skyline equipped with factory turbos. We spoke with the reps from Nissan Japan a bit longer, and after a good 10-15 minutes of leg humping, let them get back on the road. The car has Michigan plates, and is being tested on US roads, so make sure to keep an eye out for it!

Courtesy : Driz26 at Tremek Cars

well the people at nissan are being generous as the aftermarket tuners will enhance it later on with kits and so on...

just wait and see ;)

Kinda ..

It looks more to supercar than being a sportscar ..

Nissan probably thinks they need a supercar to challenge Honda's NSX or Porsche's 911. The R-34 GTR was more like a Japanese sports car than a supercar.

Already unveiled to the public, The next generation Nissan Skyline GT-R prototype (Concept name: Nissan GT-R Proto at 2005 Tokyo Motor Show)

ds-gtr-proto-official-001.jpg

More Pictures: click here

Video shot at 39th Tokyo motor Show :

More Spy Video :

I've heard that Supra also will unveiled the new model...not forgetting NSX...
Skyline also, R36 cuz R35 being complained cuz didn't follow the old trademark...
R36 also waiting for EVO X launches...heeee...correct me if i'm wrong...rumors that i've heard...

Now that the stupid gentleman's agreement of 280bhp is well and truly out the window, I hope they give the new GTR at least 500bhp. The reported 400+bhp is too little for a car with supercar aspirations. I mean, even small German saloons have 400+bhp these days.

Nissan probably thinks they need a supercar to challenge Honda's NSX or Porsche's 911. The R-34 GTR was more like a Japanese sports car than a supercar.
Who cares whether people call it Japs Sports car or supercar........ All i know it eats Supercar at low price......

traditionally, which one come earlier - the new skyline or the GTR series?

I bet it is, the skyline. you know..its the R32, R33, and R34. the touring ones. the one with BNE engines. not the one with the 'R' badge..

so, this must be the R35 or R36. not the GTR..

am I right? (trying to shed some light here in the doomy and frustrated gtr lovers)

i wish they came with a switch. Normal driving ECU limit car at 280hp, one flick and it churns out 500hp or so muahahahahaha

That's a bit of a jump. I can imagine a few owners putting the car into a tree when they decide to try out the many buttons.

true also hor.. lol.. maybe 3 stage.. 300-400-500, or maybe just 400-500 like the m6?

hope they keep the bugger under 1.3 ton..

Seems unlikely, especially since they are going to give it a complex 4wd system and lots of plumbing under the bonnet thanks to the turbochargers and the bigger engine.

Exotic, made from carbon fibre supercars, such as the Zondas and Enzos and Carrera GTs, just barely manage to weigh in at around 1300 kilos. The new GTR will definitely weigh much more than that.