Help: Accident, who right who wrong? Need opinion.

rollakid

Hi guys, i had a small accident today(for me at least) and i have no idea whether it is my fault or the other driver's fault. It happened just outside my house, and my dad come out settle for me before i can figure out what had happened. My dad, being very honest about anything and think of other ppl before he think for himself, directly say its my fault without looking clearer. Then he follow the guy to a workshop to settle the repair.

So i stay at home and think through what had happened, and the more i think.. the more restless i become, not that i think its not my fault, but more like its nobody's fault/both also at fault, so why do i have to pay for everything? So here's what happen, i hope fellow zthians can give some opinion..

accident1.jpg

It happened just outside my house, a very narrow "Lorong" no longer than 100m that connects to the main road outside (direction of the blue arrow). As usual, i reverse out of my house and look back (aqua color arrow) until further enough to make sure no car is coming. Today my neighbour is washing his car, although the car is there, i can still see through his window cuz there is no dark tint. So, as far as i know and i can see, there was no moving car that would be fast enough to reach where i am before i finish reversing out.. or so i thought.

accident2.jpg

So i just reverse out, slightly slower than usual because i just washed my car and it just finish raining outside, i dun wan to get any dirt on my car. I did slow down abit and double check there was no car coming before i continue to reverse. after satisfied that there was no moving incoming car, i reverse, just like usual for the past 3 years++.

Ofcourse when i reverse i have to look forward at my right front tire to make sure i din hit the palm tree in front of my house. Just then, only 2 second (roughly, as i could remember) later i felt something scrap across my rear bumper. at that moment my eyes were looking at the rear view mirror already, routine stuff i do when i reverse out, just to make sure no car was coming fast, but this time, i only saw a red car passing through.

I got off my car, only to see a red honda had his front left fender and left door all Kemek, with one long line scrapped by my bumper. OMG i think to myself, was it me? cuz at that time i'm still confuse on how did that car come so fast and i didn't hear anything? the guy didn't toot his horn as well.. he say he just drove over the grass trying to avoid me but i still hit him.

This is when my dad comes out.

When he's gone to the workshop with my dad, i futher inspect my rear bumper. It doesn't seem to be that i knock him, its more like his bumper hit mine while he is trying to avoid me, and then drag across my bumper.

he directly point his finger at me (not literally lar...) and say its my fault, suggest that my view is blocked by the Kenari parking there (which is not true cuz i can see through the window). My dad say just settle and pay him (when i'm still confuse.

so now think back, he must be traveling at speed like 60km/h to reach me that fast, and its on a narrow road where the neighbour's kid will ride their bicycle. My mom also say she always saw that car drive damn fast, and suggest that he is the one who's at fault because not only he overspeed in a small road, and also not slowing down or at least toot his horn at me so i know he's coming.

my dad came back giving him a ride home. I suggest to my dad that it might be fair if we only pay half the damage since i seriously think i'm not the only one to be blamed (if he didn't try to avoid me, he'll knock me instead and then its his fault, he avoided abit and now it seems like i knock him). Then my dad say on the way home, that guy is constantly on the phone making conversation.. er.. lets say its regarding "illegal activities" and suggest we don't mess with him, and dun wan to further discuss this.

his repair might cost me near rm1000 i guess, changing the front door and painting... Sigh~ what a day.. it somewhat felt like i had been setup and have to pay his repair fee. And if i were to pay his repair fee, do i get all the right to choose which workshop the car is sent to? cuz he insist on going to one workshop only, and my dad just say okay, i got no chance to speak at all.

my mom's car also kena hit by rempit with no licence on the same day today.. sigh~ what a day.. :cry_smile:

might as well juz take it all in.... u dun wanna mess around with tat kind guys.

bafukie said:
might as well juz take it all in.... u dun wanna mess around with tat kind guys.
true also.. but the guy seems very "civilized", no shouting no swearing. i was planing to install a set of new seat, and probably change the suspension soon. guess have to delay it again.. sigh~

at least my car doesn't need any repair, only a scratch on the bumber and crack abit. kinda "fix" it with some tire and leather polish already. damn lar why new car so soft one? hit abit kemek need me pay so much..

if the repair damage is about rm300 above i might just ask him do a police report then claim my insurance.. In the end u pay the saman if its ur fault and u both can claim insurance.. wat so difficult.

both at fault
u should worry more bout car passing behind than the tree been there for the past 3 years or so &
he should hv horn or stop instead of trying to do stunt(over grass)

just happen to be ur bad day...
next time reverse ur car into ur house parking so the next day u can drive it straight out

extrememech said:
if the repair damage is about rm300 above i might just ask him do a police report then claim my insurance.. In the end u pay the saman if its ur fault and u both can claim insurance.. wat so difficult.
i just got my engine transplanted not long and not yet register, actually plan to register this month or next month after sort out some mechanical prob before doing so. summore my car is not damanged, only bumper scratched and cracked abit, and i "repaired" it by using leather polish, now all black can't tell the difference unless look closely or touch it. thats why sometime i complain modern car are too soft (i know its for safety, but still too soft for me)

lewis26 said:
both at fault
u should worry more bout car passing behind than the tree been there for the past 3 years or so &
he should hv horn or stop instead of trying to do stunt(over grass)

just happen to be ur bad day...
next time reverse ur car into ur house parking so the next day u can drive it straight out
appreciate your comment. its my fault of getting too use to the "routine" and take for granted nobody will accelerate that fast in such short distant, and him doing his, as you say, "stunt"..

i can't reverse inside my house, i mean, its not really feasible cuz the car porch is straight to the back of the house and i have 3 cars in there. i need to constantly move my car or my parents car to get the cars inside to go out. and its crowded cuz we put so many things at the side making it hard to reverse in. reversing out is easier.

kesian u lar...

reverse park next time u reach home..then when u want to go out u can see better...

bro,

u must remember ppl who hit back of another vehicle is alwayz wrong..........y dont u ask tat jazz fella y u c me reverse n u dun honk me???(as like u say u reverse slowly) jazz fella no time 2 honk??? y dun u ask tat fella juz go 2 report it........

basically from my point of view and the ;aw, Rollakid..u r at fault .... :)

and btw, what kind of honda need RM1000 to fix up the door and some spraying?

mini clubman DF9818 said:
bro,

u must remember ppl who hit back of another vehicle is alwayz wrong..........y dont u ask tat jazz fella y u c me reverse n u dun honk me???(as like u say u reverse slowly) jazz fella no time 2 honk??? y dun u ask tat fella juz go 2 report it........
Hahahaha....!!!

Just can't imagine if that fellow answer u that "I HAVE NO TIME TO HONK"......!!!! hahahahah
If yes, then confirm he is driving too damn fast larrr....!!!

Rollakid
"do i get all the right to choose which workshop the car is sent to? cuz he insist on going to one workshop only"
For sure u can (U PAYING MANN) and yet try to bring him to de workshop U urself know very well....!!!
Cos normally this kind of situation those fellow will try to markup the price....!!!
Do it b4 is toooo late....!!!!

evo3 said:
basically from my point of view and the ;aw, Rollakid..u r at fault .... :)

and btw, what kind of honda need RM1000 to fix up the door and some spraying?
honda prelude, the second newest generation one.. with h22a engine one i think. my dad just say dun wan mess with him cuz he is mixing with the underground society one, pulling string behind "gambling & smugling scene". if he is in the same group of people as i think he is, then report police also no use i sure lose one even if i'm right.

if live far away nvm lar.. but he just live 4 house away wor.. later he come poison my gold fish how? i bet he got alot of poison storing inside his house.. seeing what he is up to..

Too bad, too bad.... think that the fella just try his luck to pass by your car but you have to pay the $$$ for that stunt. If he really drive carefully like those chick we see on the road, it won't happen lo as he can see your car from far there..... Never honk you also...... what to say?

ryan05 said:
Too bad, too bad.... think that the fella just try his luck to pass by your car but you have to pay the $$$ for that stunt. If he really drive carefully like those chick we see on the road, it won't happen lo as he can see your car from far there..... Never honk you also...... what to say?
summore.. strangely.. no sound at all.. i see him let the car idle at the spot, din hear any sound until i go very close and hear abit of engine sound.

this kind of prove that, if you like to drive fast, a loud muffler is actually a safety device... lol..

In this case, i must say that you are absolutely right..... hahahaha. The muffler plays a role by giving ppl a warning sound first saying they are GETTING closer already..... faster move away your car. Sounds like ambulance huh.... different is the siren and a muffler.....

sad to say if at all it goes to the "right of way" , unfortunately you lose out. as you were "reversing" onto the path/road when the red civic is on THAT path/road, that gives him the "right of way", regardless he noticed you or not.

while some may see its a 50-50 fault, a general rule of thumb would rule for red car. (but he is terribly wrong in speeding in residential area WHICH could favour your arguement)

very sorry to hear from u bro...
its like 50-50 la... actually while reverse should look back... all d way reversing u should look at it not front
since u say d honda kena kau kau where side door also kemek...
ill suspect he sure drive damn fast lo...
if slow sure can stop in time ka ma... somemore housing area wor...
u got d right to choose where u wanna paint d car dude

rollakid said:
honda prelude, the second newest generation one.. with h22a engine one i think. my dad just say dun wan mess with him cuz he is mixing with the underground society one, pulling string behind "gambling & smugling scene". if he is in the same group of people as i think he is, then report police also no use i sure lose one even if i'm right.

if live far away nvm lar.. but he just live 4 house away wor.. later he come poison my gold fish how? i bet he got alot of poison storing inside his house.. seeing what he is up to..

no wonder he mark up the price to RM 1k

how come he cant let u out 1st or horn u whn u reverse, he drive damn fast la,

0-100 on testing??

but u also hav2 c real side whn reverse next time bttr. 30/70 both fault...