How your Top Speed at 5th gear

• Thread starter sincere1
  • Start date
  • Replies 106
  • Views 9K
oh yeah and the car makes only about 125 bhp at the wheels. ---> stupid toyota.. con people into believing that BTs are 170 bhps haha a load of rubbish..

If you read the Cars, Bikes & Trucks section of The Sunday Times today, you'll find that the new 2 lit i-Vtec Civic Type R has a top speed of only 231 km/h. :regular_smile:

Nothing suprised for me. My opinion, stock Honda Vtec cars very2 low in topspeed cause Honda OEM Vtec settting and design is more on low- end and mid-range, not top speed. To reach a better topspeed have to modify the final gear lor. Later sure pickup a bit out la. That what i notice from my current stock H22A Euro R output. FYI, my current H22A topped around 240kmh @ 75++ rpm with 7-10% throttle left. (factory spec : 255kmh).

As compared with Mitsubishi Mivec system which is more balance in term of low-end, mid-range and topspeed. Mivec 3rd, 4th & 5th gears stronger than vtec in stock form. Of coursr pick-up mivec struggly a abit cause as far a mitsubishi concered, the low-end up with Turbo assisted. That what i can concluded from my stock ex-Lancer CK Mivec 2nd Gen (Mivec terbalik). Topspeed recorded with RSM was 237kmh @ 73++ rpm 100% throttle. Older Mivec donno la.

Donno the OEM setting for Toyota. Maybe someone just can explain here.

What is the top speed at 5th gear at your 4age 20V 6MT ?

I did my top speed at 5th gear where
1) 202 km/h shown in Pivot speed meter
2) Speedo needle hands to position of 7o clock at speedo meter

I doubt on the figure of 202km/h. Is Pivot speedo meter accurate? (it signed from ECU) Its accuracy as same as Apexi RSM ?
(Noted that i use the Pivot S.M function as speed cut remover only. I do not know the reading error % in speed, and i do not know that whether it present the true speed or not)

Thus
I do want to know how about the other 6MT owner what is your top speed at 5th gear. Please share your experience here.

Thank you.

I'm most recently using the Pivot Speedmeter (after my RSM been stolen) and i doubt that the accuracy as compared to RSM, especially when your speed is more than 190kmh. The Pivot meter seems a bit 'pening' in providing the reading post that speed.

In real fact, i do prefer RSM over Pivot Speed meter lah.

270km/h on BT is possible?????

No.. only theoretical as someone mentioned.. but its impossible. If the theory applied to any other car.. then any car can average 300 easy which i think is rubbish :X-:

just to let u guys know, from my experience:

20v BT, stock everything apart from tuned exhaust, lowered suspension (stiff-ish), apexi rsm with speed cut.

5th gear = 209 km/h
6th gear = 225 km/h

may i know what is the size of your exhaust piping ?
mine is 2.5" and top speed at 5th gear is 202km/h reading in Pivot Speed Meter
do not know what is the speed reading in Apexi RSM.

I'm most recently using the Pivot Speedmeter (after my RSM been stolen) and i doubt that the accuracy as compared to RSM, especially when your speed is more than 190kmh. The Pivot meter seems a bit 'pening' in providing the reading post that speed.

In real fact, i do prefer RSM over Pivot Speed meter lah.

so to check the accuracy (error) of the Pivot SM
option 1: send SM for calibration
option 2: install a RSM
option 3: run with friend at same speed who car has RSM

i may go for option 3

That what i notice from my current stock H22A Euro R output. FYI, my current H22A topped around 240kmh @ 75++ rpm with 7-10% throttle left. (factory spec : 255kmh).

Orr......... I thought Euro R was a 2 lit, it's a H22 meh ?:hmmmm2:

may i know what is the size of your exhaust piping ?
mine is 2.5" and top speed at 5th gear is 202km/h reading in Pivot Speed Meter
do not know what is the speed reading in Apexi RSM.

My exhaust is 60.8mm. about 2.39 inches. The extractors are stock, removed cat and the rest behind that to a N1 muffler.

Orr......... I thought Euro R was a 2 lit, it's a H22 meh ?:hmmmm2:

The CL1 is H22A, i.e. 2.2 and the CL7 is K20A, i.e. 2.0. CLI is the same shape-ish as the CF4 and the CL7 is the same as the newer Euro shape.

euro R is rare. cos it imported from UK.

WRONG AGAIN. Honda Accord Euro R, whether it be the CL1 or CL7 are from Japan. Made for the Japan Domestic Market. They are imported from Japan to worldwide, including UK. So if you see an EURO R in UK then most likely it would have originated from Japan.

However, there are the "R" versions made for the UK market. But those are not "Euro R". The are branded as Accord Type R and they are again, a different car. They look different from any of the CL1's or CL7. And Euro R's are not rare at all. Maybe rare coming into Malaysia, but everywhere else, there is quite a few.

Wikipedia wrote (note the UK Type R (not CL1) and JDM Euro R (CL7):

Accord Type R/ Euro-R

The Honda Accord Type-R was produced from 1998 – 2003 with a naturally aspirated H22A7 that produced 212 bhp @ 7,200 rpm & 158 lb-ft @ 6,700 rpm, in addition to the standard Type R modifications - Recaro seats, a limited-slip-differential, independent double-wishbone suspension, etc. This Type-R was only ever produced for the European (UKDM/EUDM) market, with the bulk being sold in the UK. All Accord Type-R's, whether for UK or EU markets, were produced at Honda's Swindon factory. 0-60 mph in less than 7 seconds, with 142mph top speed.

Its successor is the CL7 Accord Euro-R produced 2003-2007 built in Sayama, Japan for the JDM/EUDM market, it came with a K20A motor {Displacement: 1998 cc, Compression: 11.5:1, Power: 220 bhp (220 PS, 162 kW) @ 8000 rpm, Torque: 152 ft•lbf (206 N•m) @ 7000 rpm and a Redline of 8500 rpm} same as the 02-06 Integra Type R. Of course it has the standard Type R modifications – including Recaro seats, a limited-slip-differential, independent double-wishbone suspension.

If confused which model is which, Google the images :) You'll see the difference between the UK Accord Type R and the Japanese higher spec-ed counterparts, the Euro R's :)

Euro R has nice body shape. Hardly a lot here. Anyway already seen the new Altezza on the road. In fact on the same day yesterday i saw an Altezza and a Scion on the was to KL from Balakong. Also saw a SEG wagon at Cheras last month, looked stock though.

Eh off topic!

hi there,
i am working in Singapore...is quite often to see the CL7 here..is selling abt SGD 100k and i saw it selling at M;sia RM19xk but i wonder why the altezza selling in m'sia is cheaper thn Singapore...M'sia RM110 - 13xK , Singapore (used car) SGD 8xK, tat y plan to buy in m'sia whn i earn enuff money....hehe