i just did my ground cable... share share

khguan said:
hmm.. cheap... real cheap.... i can recognise dat grounding kit... de skin is quite thick compare to its core... i can be sure dat de core is around 6-8GA.... de skin only 4ga... i used this GK b4... after dat upgrade to a true 4GA grounding... got difference!!

wat difference u feel... pls elaborate more...thx

ya... tell us more... interested to know more about it... and might get 1 and install... hehe...

msj92 said:
Yaumolo. F.Y.I grounding cable have thin wire inside so it have high resistance. We have to know that resistance will be high if.

- the wire is thin. so that the thicker wire have less resistance
- longer wire. so that the shorter the wire have less resistance
- type of wire. cooper have less resistance than zink or other metal
the most suitable wire is gold. tapi sapa nak pakai .

if want more info pls refer to DREXCHAN website.

The first two point i agree, coz is base on resistance formula:

R = pL/A, (R-resistance, p-resistivity, L-Length, A-cross-sectional Area)

:mad: But ur third point got problem, if compare copper and gold resistivity, we know:

copper resistivity is: 1.7 × 10^-8 (ohm metres)
gold resistivity is: 2.44 × 10^-8 (ohm metres)

Material that are good electrical insulators have a high value of resistivity.

So, copper resistance is less than gold at the same condition.
(Weight, area, and length)

"Bukan tak nak pakai for grounding cable, it's bcoz unsuitable.

Actually, suitable material for cable is "Silver" (1.59 × 10^-8 ohm metres). But expensive, normally use for "HI-END" sound system".

But Gold got one advantage is stable and no easy oxidize, that's y normally use for plating connector, or cable terminal.

Share share :tongue:

khguan said:
er.. me more active in WAC ler... here kinda bored since new topics are repeating old stuff....

Eehh. what is WAC? izzit car forum also?!
PM me the link! hehehe.. :biggrin:

Thanks TYLAXNG for ur info but can U explain why all IC (intergrated circuit)

use gold wire inside (99.9 % pure gold)?
I hope with ur explaination will clear all my wrong thinking.

msj92 said:
Thanks TYLAXNG for ur info but can U explain why all IC (intergrated circuit)

use gold wire inside (99.9 % pure gold)?
I hope with ur explaination will clear all my wrong thinking.

er.. When car forum become material forum la? haha.. :smile:

IC (no need too clear la, i can diff IC"identity card" and IC"intergrated circuit" already 10years)

Jusk a joke, wish u don't mind. :tongue:

Remember, last msg i said gold not suitable for normal wire especially thick wire, but i hadn't said gold conductivity no good. If compare with copper (i'm second and cheap) and silver (i'm champion but expensive) gold is third place.

But why still using gold for IC "bonding wire"?
Gold got 2 adv (copper tak baik for this 2 adv): no oxidation and "ductile, malleable and sectile" which means it can be stretched into extremely thin wires (less than 30um (u-micro-10^-6)), hammered into thin sheets, and cut into shavings (
Last msg no shot u la, just wan to share something i know. Soli and Wish u don't mind.

Oh.. forget something. Hi, sam1741 if u think this reply already out of your title purpose, please remove. Thanks.

hahaha
no la.. the reply is very informative.. sure wan to keep for others to reference..

now i didnt finish the job yet... i now 'making' new connector palce for all the ground wire to goes into the '-ve' place of the battery
(last time i just loosen the bolt and screw all 'Y' lung into it, look not tidy)

sam1741 said:
hahaha
no la.. the reply is very informative.. sure wan to keep for others to reference..

now i didnt finish the job yet... i now 'making' new connector palce for all the ground wire to goes into the '-ve' place of the battery
(last time i just loosen the bolt and screw all 'Y' lung into it, look not tidy)

izit necesary to ground all connector to negative side(battery)??

i tot can make a circle? batery conect to point A, A -B, B-C........at last..another point conect bc to batery...oso works i guess....looks tidy as wel....

helpppp..thinking to do the GC but what tickness i shud pick??im using honda prelude with engine h22a...there sum1 want to sell 4awg and 8awg...which 1 i shud pick?
help plz

drexchan plz emel me or sms me.. [email protected] interested in doing ground with u...i wanna know the price..if u late,cancel la..i oredi gonna meet ejoi tonite to do the gc..

012-5807666

i hv new problem now....i juz did my grounding as well...

i conect one cable to left side n right side of front radiator panel, one wire to distributor, one wire to engine head, one wire to firewall, and onew wire to side bulk head...

i din ground to alternator....wat is the pros n cons i wil get? URGENT

uiks..kenny...same like me..i oso did it yersterday..but i cannot find any space to my alternator...same question..what the pro and kons

crazy4honda said:
uiks..kenny...same like me..i oso did it yersterday..but i cannot find any space to my alternator...same question..what the pro and kons

u need a nut to ground it..easier......if not..need spanar/tool to loosen or screw/nut...very hard sometimes

yeah..i know i need a nut..but theres no screw that i can see in my fit h22a...nobody can answer the pro and con?

crazy4honda said:
yeah..i know i need a nut..but theres no screw that i can see in my fit h22a...nobody can answer the pro and con?

i tot u asked Ijoe instal for u??? u din ask him a....

no la..he is bz..install it to other car...summore i like to do it myself..more satisfied..can do it my own way..i know i can find a way to ground my alternator..the thing is im lazy last nite to find the way..hahah..that why i just ask the pro and con...dunno when im free to check it back.