i just did my ground cable... share share

Khguan told us u r profesional in grounding n wit a proper n right layout..

plz post some photos n guide us la...we oso wanna see how preffesional is proffesional....lot of newbies here

c-ground said:
ok.

c-ground don't want to get involve in this.

We are here to provide assistance to those who don't have the skill, knowledge and resource to DIY their own grounding kit. We are glad to share the knowledge.

Just FYI, we source our cable from China too. Everyone is doing so! We, and our customer can't afford to use the US or Japan cables.

To us, it's the brand and quality of the cable that matters. Not the origin. As long as the cables are full-gauge (meaning not thick skin type), 99.99% oxygen free copper and look real good, we will accept. Good cable, if poorly done, serves no other purpose that some dangling decoration.

Soldering the lugs to the cables is already a complicated task. Looks simple, but if not carefully done, will deteriorate the asthetic value and performance. Looking for the correct path and points takes time and skill too. To hide or not to hide? Optimum length? Cost? You name it. Installing the kit while the engine is still hot, under the hot Sun, is a physical challenge.

We do all these with only one objective, to serve our customer better. Well, we do need to feed our own mouth and the family right?

We will always here, ready to share and learn. Let us know what we are lack in, tell us if you are happy with us, our service and workmanship.

Good day everyone!

huakenny said:
Khguan told us u r profesional in grounding n wit a proper n right layout..

plz post some photos n guide us la...we oso wanna see how preffesional is proffesional....lot of newbies here

yea lo...i oso wawnna know....see my grounding done by huakenny is folow the proper layout o not

*no offense to huakenny...hehe

c-ground,

hi.... soldering izzit important arhh?? why pivot grounding dun hv soldering, i just bought it not long ago, but dunno the proper layout to install on my engine le... find some layout in Mr.Google, but i tink the theory cant use it in my engine, read abt this thread, they say u might be a professionals grounding sifu... i decided to diy install myself, cuz more fun... can u share some proper layout diagram here?? i believes, many newbie also wanna know the lay out...

Not to say that we are PROFESSIONAL lar... we do it on part-time basis only. As I said, we are always here to share and learn.

The photos.. you guys can check them out in our website http://cground.fotopic.net.

Our website will be updated with the latest info.. so it might looks a litle bit outdated but the essential stuffs are there.

We dare not to claim that what we did were the BEST. But we are willing to improve from time to time.

Although we do it on part-time basis, we still rely on this to pay the bills, feed the family and so on, as this is the only income we have. Haha!! Tell us how to share our knowledge and in the same time securing our bowl of rice?

We will provide advices and opinions as we can. OK?

Cheerz!

the photos in ur site is not tat clear..newbies here may not get which point to ground..

put in here beter....

c-ground said:
Not to say that we are PROFESSIONAL lar... we do it on part-time basis only. As I said, we are always here to share and learn.

The photos.. you guys can check them out in our website http://cground.fotopic.net.

Our website will be updated with the latest info.. so it might looks a litle bit outdated but the essential stuffs are there.

We dare not to claim that what we did were the BEST. But we are willing to improve from time to time.

Although we do it on part-time basis, we still rely on this to pay the bills, feed the family and so on, as this is the only income we have. Haha!! Tell us how to share our knowledge and in the same time securing our bowl of rice?

We will provide advices and opinions as we can. OK?

Cheerz!

rules of thumb:

1. check the stock ground point, additional ground point should serve the areas that are not taken cared by the stock ground point.

2. check the harness ground points, these are the essential points to add a cable.

3. try to avoid "ring" configuration

4. as less branching as possible

5. optimum contact

6. visual a draft, then evaluate the easthetic, cost and efficiency..

7. use proper tools and technique in constructing the cables (i.e. crimping, soldering, etc)

8. preferably, the additional cables will not interfere future maintenance work. If unavoidable, try to minimize.

I think that all we can share.. :)

agree with RS...

i am driving a kenari... i done my grounding by huakenny.. no harm, juz wanna know his job izzit consider a proper lay out with urs? can share another clear pic, ur website picture hardly view it, too far le...

???

we need proper layout...photos

c-ground said:
rules of thumb:

1. check the stock ground point, additional ground point should serve the areas that are not taken cared by the stock ground point.

2. check the harness ground points, these are the essential points to add a cable.

3. try to avoid "ring" configuration

4. as less branching as possible

5. optimum contact

6. visual a draft, then evaluate the easthetic, cost and efficiency..

7. use proper tools and technique in constructing the cables (i.e. crimping, soldering, etc)

8. preferably, the additional cables will not interfere future maintenance work. If unavoidable, try to minimize.

I think that all we can share.. :)

khguan...

there u go, so pls clarify things b4 u post.. there's nothing wrong with china products, unless it is banned by any authorities. and pls do understand the word "professional" before u post...

professional and proffesionalism, both bring different meaning...

RS.Move said:
c-ground,

hi.... soldering izzit important arhh?? why pivot grounding dun hv soldering, i just bought it not long ago, but dunno the proper layout to install on my engine le... find some layout in Mr.Google, but i tink the theory cant use it in my engine, read abt this thread, they say u might be a professionals grounding sifu... i decided to diy install myself, cuz more fun... can u share some proper layout diagram here?? i believes, many newbie also wanna know the lay out...

Hi RS.Move,

Soldering is required when the lug is too big to be crimpped. For example, 4awg lug. We have the tool but the out come is not nice. It looks really sucks if we crimp the 4awg lugs. So we have to opt for soldering.

We still prefer to crimp the 8awg lugs as it less time consuming.

While soldering the lugs to the cable, time and accuracy are very important. You dun want to melt the cable insulation, or oxidize the galvanize material on the lug, or having air pockets etc... all these will result in poorer contact and might give you some humming sound in the ICE.

About a proper layout, it's very much model dependent. Also the cost. The best way is to connect all cable back to the battery negative terminal but most of the time this is not so practical. Imagine when you want to replace your battery.

Also, try to avoid point to point connection. However, if you are on budget, you can do so as it saves quite alot of cable.

so do u mean that u are using the wrong cable lug for ur cable, thats y u need soldering?

example: 4awg lug for 8awg cable and the other way round?

another thing, i heard many rumors abt 5 points and 8 points. i am using 8 points now... is there any side effects for that?? i mean is theer any possible different btw 5 n 8 points??

thx

RS.Move said:
so do u mean that u are using the wrong cable lug for ur cable, thats y u need soldering?

example: 4awg lug for 8awg cable and the other way round?

No.

we use 8awg lug for 8awg cable, 4awg lug for 4awg cable.

We still crimp the 8awg lugs. But since the 4awg cable that we are using is much much thicker than.. let say "4rospeed", or the RM48 jalan pasar stuff, we have no choice but to get a much bigger lug, and solder it. As i have mentioned, crimpping the 4awg lug is possible as we have the hydraulic crimp tool. But it just never looks nice. :)

added: we do solder 4awg lugs to 8awg cable. But in this case, we use THREE cables in ONE lug.

RS.Move said:
another thing, i heard many rumors abt 5 points and 8 points. i am using 8 points now... is there any side effects for that?? i mean is theer any possible different btw 5 n 8 points??

thx

8 point is already over-killed. 6 points is the most you need. For certain cars with compact engine bay, we only recommend a 5-point.

Differences... we don't have the resource to conduct a scientific testing on that.

please take note that some cables, as mentioned by khguan, are not full-gauge cable. These cables has a thicker insulation but same overal diameter as a full-gauge cable. Therefore the conducting core is actually thinner.

One can easily crimp a 6awg lug to a non-full-gauge 4awg cable. So, looking at the size of the lug tells you the real content of the cable. Not by looking at the overal diameter.

We understand that this section is solely meant for discussion on non-bussiness-related topic. Please don't ask us to quote you a price or product inquiry.

Just plain technical discussion.

over kill meaning too many points lar.. shouldn't be any harm if properly done but the wallet gets thinner lor.. haha!!

In addition, too many points also means that the points are closer to each other. If the cables to 2 close points has a big different in length, this would increase the possibility of having a ground loop.

Ground loop means an instrument gets the power from 2 different source with voltage difference. Ground loop is the main cause of humming sound in the ICE. This will sometime cause incorrect signaling to the electronic instruments too.

but those driving EVOs and STis (opps!!) wouldn't mind to spend more right?

i see...

so now i can take off my another 2 cables and sell it lo... hmm..... wat mean by 8 points kill? izzit wil cause physical damage to baterry... or how...

takumi86, ur car got grounding or not ooo??

RS.Move,

No... don't get me wrong. More =/= too good or too bad. It depends on how you do it. I have edited my previous post and explained why sometimes too much grounding point will cause some minor problem. So far, there's no reported case that too many ground point spoils the battery. No worry. Since you have already paid for it, and if it doesn't create any problem, just leave them there lor.

5 to 6 points, in our opinion (which stands to be corrected) are just sufficient. We don't stop anyone from having more than 6 points (that we recommend), but please make sure that the layout is correct. And to do it correcty, it's very much model-dependent.

Sometimes.. it's the feel good factor that is working. Not the real improvement. One can spent RM200 to get a 8-point grounding using all 4awg cable.. if he want to spend so much. But the outcome would most probably as good as a RM150 6-point. That's it.