i think like this can decrease illegal racing

sam1741

hi everyone...

i thinking.. if each state government
got build a race track that is open for public...

or if no money
find a day like sat night,
find a strech of road to close down
and turn into a race track open for public..

like this we can reduce or even iliminate illegal racing...
and make the road safer place....

what do u think?

i read somewhere that in LA, they actually have race track for pple to drag on weekends to curb illegal street racing.... some cops actually give 1st warning to 1st time illegal street racers and ask them to drag in these events instead?

The legendary BTSC tutup kedai...now mat rempit has to use federal highway instead.... and NPE..the OKR stretch of road is their famous superman act play ground...

i agree very much on the said above!

let's unite and create race tracks all over Malaysia...

errr....let's go see Pak Lah? ;)

not trying to be negative here...but i think a few zth members have tried to approach this thing...and to no avail....but again....i do hope that we can materialize this instead of doing it the illegal way....perhaps we need to find a stretch of road that is quite a distance from houses/apartments...this to ensure the propose place wont be a nuisance to nearby neighbourhood...second a road that is rarely used...so wont be creating traffic jams....location location...and politically backed up ihihihihihihihhi

sure very hard 1... u know la our m'sian gov punya brain.

tok bout cars, racing n high performance means=dangerous, bad image n most important doesn't help them earn money.

so ended up being ban... <_<

Originally posted by kher@Feb 15 2005, 15:32
sure very hard 1... u know la our m'sian gov punya brain.

tok bout cars, racing n high performance means=dangerous, bad image n most important doesn't help them earn money.

so ended up being ban... b]

that's y they having this kind of FOOKING brain, then proton will have the FOOKING standard...

:angry:

the F1 thingy also bcoz of country's image n mayb earn money also coz c a lot of mat salleh every year coming to m'sia.

Other than tat also diden c them take the trouble to host other races..

i, myself and a few friends had approved a MP of our city on this issue to create a race track and guess what answer they give.... if somebody sponsor/donate the land, we the government will build it....

what a lame answer.... they are the government...if they wan any land, they sure bring out thier RED pen and draw line on the map of the city then the land become thiers...cheh..... <_< :angry: :(

yalo.. government think... racing means dangerous.. :(
but in fact race in closed circuit really safe one.. but they never know...

Thanks to movies like F&F and Gangster, the govt is shutting its doors even tighter.

good for them when my japanese friends is still thinking malaysia as a "MUNDUR" country...

She was surprise to c malaysia wif so many buildings...
This show our country's image in the high-tech world... :lol: :lol: :lol:

i'm all for the idea of having a race track. not necessary a huge sepang like track but a low maintenance, small scale race track that is good enuff for dragging and track racing. the reality is our government don't see the importance of racing where else in other countries, racing is really big and u see kids at the young age are racing early be it karting or whatever formula they call it.

to me, formula 1 in malaysia is more of a publicity front to attract tourist and investors to come into malaysia, it ain't so much of government wanting to produce true racing superstar. as it is, mahathirs son in a recent interview did say mahathir happen to meet bernie ecclestone and within a short discussion, bernie said that as long as we have a track, the race is on the way to malaysia. true enuff, within 2 or 3 years, we hosted the first f1 race. on the other hand, we really have not even produce a competetive formula 1 racer that is able to take the world by a storm.

its true that in US, cops encourage street racers to go to track to race or else face being charged doing it in public road. i've saw a video clip that shows even cops take part in drag races and they interviewed this cop who says they encourage track racing on the track and don't want people doing it in public road as its way too dangerous.

on the idea of finding a deserted road in malaysia to make it as a weekend drag track, thats equivalent to racing illegally coz as it says, public road. everyone has the right to use this road be it day time or night time and you must know we don't just build road for the sake of building it at some place far away from housing estate. there is a reason why roads are built and that is to allow public to commute so converting this road as a part time track is out of the question. besides, safety comes into picture. imagine losing control of the car and smashing it against the divider or armco bars or drain or something.

but i salute Tengku Djan trying to boost back the image of motorsports in malaysia by having monthly drifting session....

m'sia loh tiu wan...
they can earn back their cost of building and maintenance when they make track for track days(for circuits) or drag races(drag strips)
they dunno how to make money...

Good Idea but...

1) It'll cost alot of money.
2) The State Government might not want to allocate any site to allow such tracks to be built. Not that easy to speak to Pak Lah about this matter.
3) Maintaining the track and getting people to the track would be tough, as JPJ and Police like to hide around roads leading to the race track to clamp down on modded cars for quick cash... resulting in enthusiast shying away from the track.

Just my 2sen for things to think about before looking at building or rebuilding state level race tracks.

some sort of race not need a lot of space n maintenance...

like drag race
u just need two straight 400m road only...
and place for crowd...

or can build a drift park..
also no need a lot of space n maintenance...

or can just build a very wide empty space
then we the public can organize 'gimkhana' event there...

we got into problems wit NST reporter and actually had some disagreements with him before in the past, letters were exchanged and even published on NST and became a hot debate in ZTH too over what he said.

The problem was, we have particularly negative thinking people in the reporting industry who happened to be at our ZTH 1st Track day in BTSC...it wuz a closed door event and somehow this fella managed to sneak in and snap pictures and went round to see how we organised it.

Now the nightmare started when he reported in NST that a group of illegal racers organised a race in BTSC and claimed that money was involved and also alot of sexy girls were present, so winner takes it all ! :o So in protest i wrote in to complain about the accuracy of his reporting and to claim un-warranted attention to the ladies were not fair, as i mentioned some of the ladies present during track day were someone's GF or someones WIFE ! And also there was no money involved. But he wrote back to deny he made false reporting and so on....so we let the case rest (no point arguing with brick heads and liars)

Now the second issue was signature lobbying and protest against the closure of BTSC....we all in the motoring industry and even ZTH tried our best...again..a bunch of money minded and probably someone with personal interest in the re-development of BTSC into a township denied all lobbying's and went ahead to bulldoze the lovely BTSC... :( Within 1 week the whole BTSC was flattened ! :o imagine how efficient they are when it comes to breaking things down...(hmm...but how come our Gov isn't so efficient in clamping down on Mat Rempit and Illegal Indons ??)

Anyway these cases were long gone and are probably sad cases in motoring history...

The question now is...who or how can someone re-build this idea of having a specialised track just for enthusiasts ?

Tengku Djan is a perfect example and of course he has the right connections...but only him is not enough to build this dream...it's him against 1000 or even more illegal racers out there ! :o

Why do illegal racing happen ?
People are frustrated of not having a proper channel / location to enjoy a hobby...therefore they turn to the underground scene...
Juz like skateboarding in the USA...it used to be underground hobby...but the authorities saw this as a threat and decided to build a park for skareboarders to enjoy...and keeping the streets clean without anyone skating or damaging public property..

To the old timers who were at the BTSC during ZTH track day... we sure did have one hell of a GOOD time there... ;)

SDF B)

yeah... for some ppl , ppl with modified cars is samseng and uneducated..... i faced alot of this kind of problem last time....

See that car with big wing at the back...that kind of ppl are uneducated, no study wan...samseng.... this is wat i heard from one stranger telling her son that i'm a samseng and uneducated .... when i heard this, i feel very uneasy and i tell the auntie that Hello, i do understand english and i'm not a samseng plus i holding a Uni degree in bla bla....and please don say that i'm a samseng and uneducated.....

hehehe....really that kind of ppl is uneducated....