Illegal to fix bright headlights without RTD approval

sarcastics

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/9/10/nation/12002299&sec=nation

KUALA LUMPUR: Fitting bluish-white headlights to their vehicles may be the latest fad among motorists but the blinding lights have caused not only discomfort to road users but also some confusion.

Thousands of motorists may have to get them changed to the normal yellow lights as the Road Transport Department (RTD) says it is illegal to install the xenon high-intensity discharge (HID) lights without approval from the department.

And importers of luxury cars, which come with the lights pre-installed, must also get written permission from the RTD.

This has prompted motorists to ask: Why allow such blinding lights in the first place?

According to a website, HID lights are two times brighter than the conventional halogen bulbs used by most vehicles on the road. it's 3 times brighter

opportunity for corruption will be more rampant for RTD. why only at THIS TIME OF THE YEAR they are enforcing this crap? answer is very noticeable...

i wonder will those ppl earning big bucks, driving luxury cars will bother to get the so called "permission" for their headlite? hahahahah

jaypeejay : encik, lampu HID tak sah
mr. dollar : bole settle ar tuan ?
jaypeejay : bole, u suka la
mr. dollar : tiga puloh bole ?
jaypeejay : mane bole, dalam pajero ade 2 ekor lagi, tak cukup la
mr, dollar : lima puloh bole ?
jaypeejay : ok la ok la, jalan !

Two times brighteR?? How vague can that statement be?

What are the specifications for the maximum allowed candela/lumen/color temp??

Oh, I forgot, our Road transport Act was drafted in 1987, and nobody wants to review it regarding the matter of "bright lights"

Nearing the festive season.......
Sure come up with something stupid like this to make some extra cash.....

NiCkY7 said:
i wonder when malaysia will going to improve? :rolleyes:

in our next generation, provided children are taught with 1st world mentality

sarcastics said:
in our next generation, provided children are taught with 1st world mentality

LOL...

and also wonder, when malaysia will got those company like, HKS, TANABE, TEIN and etc etc...

3 more generation? MKS? MANABE? MEIN? 5GILA?....

:biggrin:

those with HIDs better change back to halogen, until at least after raya.

those jaypeejay and trafeek pigs are one hungry bunch.

damn.. cannot even install safety mod..

seriously. i dont find hid lights blinding, if its tuned correctly..

but those osram, michiba (white halogen lights) is very irritating.. :mad:

maybe they got confused with real HID..

All vehicles fitted with HID need to be inspected and approved by Puspakom.

If you don't intend to send your car in, you 'pay' for the approval letter. get it ? *wink*

more business for runners and Puspy officers.

i would say all these will be just hangat hangat tahi ayam, everything will be forgotten after CNY. same shit every year.

sarcastics said:
All vehicles fitted with HID need to be inspected and approved by Puspakom.

If you don't intend to send your car in, you 'pay' for the approval letter. get it ? *wink*

more business for runners and Puspy officers.

i would say all these will be just hangat hangat tahi ayam, everything will be forgotten after CNY. same shit every year.
waa.... puspakom will be vr busy ohh... now small small mod also need approval from puspakom... they sure untung a lot...

SkYwAlKeR said:
waa.... puspakom will be vr busy ohh... now small small mod also need approval from puspakom... they sure untung a lot...

then aftermarket HID kit oledi eat shit

who got stock really eat shit oledi...cant sell oledi...sell cheap cheap oso gotta think twice to buy a

after raya, things will died down. before CNY the crackdown will surface again, then it'll die again. it's been a tradition.

haha... raya mah... they need to buy new clothes and food for their family... so need to spend more... kerja police no year end bonus, so have to depend on illegal bonus...

Approval Letter or Bribe Money

The RTD is just trying make more money for themselves. To install xenon lights we have to get a fucking approval letter from RTD. Wat the fuck is wrong with RTD? Last time they said tinted windows were illegal and now xenon lights must get approval letter. I wouldn't be surprised if to get an approval letter you must pay the RTD some bribe money. In my opinion the only thing RTD should worry about when people install xenon lights onto their cars is calibration. Its only a matter about the height of the head-lights calibration.

NiCkY7 said:
i wonder when malaysia will going to improve? :rolleyes:
When everyone has equal opportunity.
There'll always be corruption if no equal opportunity.