is savvy ok

as long as it's a proton, it is not ok hehe :tongue:
myvi better

my 2 cents

not a bad car IMO... but there are better ones out there.

okay if

1 - content on the standard performance and dont intend to mod.

2 - dont mind getting pricey OEM proton parts all the way, dont like to visit chop shops for bodykits halfcuts etc.

3 - doest have to carry adults/ ppl more than 1.75m in height at the back

4 - intend to keep the car for life/ doest care bout its 2nd hand price later.

5 - just want its proven high strength chassis (other new generation cars are as strong too)

I think savvy is currently the best in its category. Its kinda cheap. Gen2 1.3 is also coming. If Gen2 1.3 is around 46K, then I think better to wait for this.

aiyoh.. gen2 1.3 not worth it imo.. basic spec some more underpowered

the best thing about savvy is the FC.. ppl are reporting 15km/l.. even before 5k mileage

agreed, HIDUP PROTON :D

tajulsans said:
Go get the last month cars.my magezine, there is a review on myvi and savvy comparison.. that should get u going.. Dont just listen to comment from people who havent personally ride both of it, they could be biase to 1 side oni..

for a K-car proton has produced, this should be much better than the tiara... afterall, its the TRM (tiara replacement model)..
in its smaller cc class... this should be quite good lar... coz if the fact is true that stock savvy can travel up to 170kmh wit its 1.2L SOHC engine, it is considered not bad already... the only thing bad about this car is its quality control, especially the interior and the car design...

best among all proton cars??... i dont think so... satria GTi or putra can easily beat it... but then, come to think of it that GTi and putra are higher cc cars... thus, they are faster...

anyway after all the crap... the best is go for a test drive urself... trust ur instinct.... ur vr first impression behind the wheel...

buy myvi better,,,hahaha...got airbags,,,,,but up to you la....u want buy savvy also not bad!

tajulsans said:
Go get the last month cars.my magezine, there is a review on myvi and savvy comparison.. that should get u going.. Dont just listen to comment from people who havent personally ride both of it, they could be biase to 1 side oni..

I suppose magazines aren't biased then? :rolleyes:

Best thing to do:
- Go drive both yourself. Find out all the specs and compare everything. Find foreign reviews which are more likely to be neutral. After all that, determine what aspects are most important to you in a car and then make your decision based on all the information you have gathered.

and be reminded that for a practical car, performance and power isnt everything... there are many more small details u need to consider, especially comfort, practicality, safety and so on...

Yup, best thing to do is personally ride on both laa.. review in megazine is just to get him started, instead of listening to comment of people who havent even seen the actual car.. dont tell me uve been liking comment in top gear for our national car..

a car is designed to cater for certain kind of buyer market.. if u like the car and the spec fulfils ur needs.. just go for it loh..

Savvy looks much better on the road rather on paper. Saw quite number of Savvy ...I prefer Red one..coupled with black sport rims,sure it will be main attraction.

I'll rather wait for Hi Line or R3 edition.....

looks like u easily yield to savvy Ads...it's time to wake up/

SkYwAlKeR said:
for a K-car proton has produced, this should be much better than the

anyway after all the crap... the best is go for a test drive urself... trust ur instinct.... ur vr first impression behind the wheel...

savvy is just a supermini. k car (or kei in japan as for small/mini) means the dimension is about the size of kancil. for jeeps - the size of kembara, for vans - the size of mitsubishi townbox or proton juara.

kei cars receive speacial treatment in japan. this includes special size carpark lot for those cars where a lancer, a corolla or even daihatsu cuore have difficulties to fit in. he he..

In the end, opinions are subjective and there's no better way than for you to physically test the vehicle yourself. In general though, i've been pretty disappointed with the quality of cars churned out by Proton. Here are some of my experience with our national car. Am not going into performance coz the car was not built for that purpose:

Proton Iswara (1992 model, 2nd hand) - Probably the most durable of all my Protons. However I experience constant problems with the gearbox. I changed it twice. Interior was ok actually but the usual wear and tear occurs in quick succession which was quite annoying.

Proton Satria (1995 model, 2nd hand) - Fucking lemon man. The guy I bought in from didn't maintain the car and I rushed myself into getting a set of wheels. Constant bloody problems though it was probably down to a lack of maintanence.

After the above experience, I decided to get a new car instead:

Proton Waja (2002 model, NEW) - Within the first month, the glove compartment could no longer open due to the cheap cheap plastic they used. Never repaired it till the date I sold it (this year - 2005). Power Window broke a few months later. Was told that a new unit would cost RM 400 as you have to buy the whole set. I cried and the mechanic finally decided he could fix it out of pity for me. Absorbers conked out in 2004. Funny sounds began to surface late 2003.

In summary, I just don't feel that Proton produces quality cars. Perodua would be the better alternative and I agree with the posters that suggested you get a Myvi instead.

Alternatively, you could look to older Japanese cars like Toyota's or Honda's. Sure they're older but are more durable and longer lasting.

duke,

u r correct but perhaps we shd give it a benefit of doubt for the savvy? coz it's the 1st car in msia that acquired TUV approval for its PDI.

Duke Red said:
In the end, opinions are subjective and there's no better way than for you to physically test the vehicle yourself. In general though, i've been pretty disappointed with the quality of cars churned out by Proton. Here are some of my experience with our national car. Am not going into performance coz the car was not built for that purpose:

Proton Iswara (1992 model, 2nd hand) - Probably the most durable of all my Protons. However I experience constant problems with the gearbox. I changed it twice. Interior was ok actually but the usual wear and tear occurs in quick succession which was quite annoying.

Proton Satria (1995 model, 2nd hand) - Fucking lemon man. The guy I bought in from didn't maintain the car and I rushed myself into getting a set of wheels. Constant bloody problems though it was probably down to a lack of maintanence.

After the above experience, I decided to get a new car instead:

Proton Waja (2002 model, NEW) - Within the first month, the glove compartment could no longer open due to the cheap cheap plastic they used. Never repaired it till the date I sold it (this year - 2005). Power Window broke a few months later. Was told that a new unit would cost RM 400 as you have to buy the whole set. I cried and the mechanic finally decided he could fix it out of pity for me. Absorbers conked out in 2004. Funny sounds began to surface late 2003.

In summary, I just don't feel that Proton produces quality cars. Perodua would be the better alternative and I agree with the posters that suggested you get a Myvi instead.

Alternatively, you could look to older Japanese cars like Toyota's or Honda's. Sure they're older but are more durable and longer lasting.
i'm agree with that statement about poor quality of proton car. i got my saga last year (LMT version). 1 month after i drove it, i smell exaust gas from my air con when i rev the engine to 3k rpm. i sent to workshop to fix it few times already but it still same. nothing has been fix at all! start from 4 months ago, i start to hear some metal shaking sound at my front left door. now even great, my suspension start to make noise. >.<

Simple, just go for import car will do.... come on guys, try to think how much did you all paid for a car?..... the quality will always apply on the car price. and for your information.... the tuff for savvy is not for you guys to go and involve with accident without damaging the car..... its for safety purpose....

last time everybody complaint about the proton all like "TIN MILO" and now complaint about Tuff.

why still buy proton car?..... just go for new imports car loh