Isawara CAI

haha... yah yah... nitrus say true also mah... cannot buta buta learn much here... practical work is more important.... go jack up ur car or open the hood and see see lo... use ur torchlight and tengok tengok lo....

most important thing is the inlet and outlet only mah.... basically anywhere also can route ur CAI hose.... all depends on ur creativity... and make sure the CAI hose is as straight as possible to minimize air drag inside....

yay i found the place! now waiting for my CAI hose!!! thankz everybody!!! love u guys so much

oh ya if i change air filter, will it cost more fuel?

siong said:
oh ya if i change air filter, will it cost more fuel?
change what air filter??.... performance type??... if u tune ur carb (if u using one) properly, wont be a problem... if EFI, it will learn itself, so no worry as well....
my current experience, after changing to K&N filter, my FC improves.... might not work the same on other cars lar...

SkYwAlKeR said:
change what air filter??.... performance type??... if u tune ur carb (if u using one) properly, wont be a problem... if EFI, it will learn itself, so no worry as well....
my current experience, after changing to K&N filter, my FC improves.... might not work the same on other cars lar...

erm, i dunno what to change wor... just asking... i dont know much bout performance one... just feel that it is gaya ... hehe

haha... if want gaya, save up and do exterior bodykits lo... dont touch the engine la.... people cant look through the hood mah....

hi guys,

i noticed that there are few sizes for the air-filter for the type of filter in the photo of SkyWalker's signature on the left (pls allow me to refer to ur signature photos). i mean there's smaller size for kancil and a bigger size for maybe iswara/wira. so, my question is:

1. can the smaller kancil size be used in Iswara carb?
2. if can, what will be the performance difference between the sizes?

regards,

true also true also... hehe... anyway thanks alot bros!

Sky_Legend said:
hi guys,

i noticed that there are few sizes for the air-filter for the type of filter in the photo of SkyWalker's signature on the left (pls allow me to refer to ur signature photos). i mean there's smaller size for kancil and a bigger size for maybe iswara/wira. so, my question is:

1. can the smaller kancil size be used in Iswara carb?
2. if can, what will be the performance difference between the sizes?

regards,
haha.. why this thread becomes air intake thread adi??..
anyway, my mech said the K&N filter size i'm using is enough for my standard 4g13 car.... if using highcam then need bigger size... so i guess the size i'm using is the smallest for 4g13 stock standard lar.... any bigger mods on ur car need bigger filter...
if small small filter on big big engine, the air sucked in would not be enough to feed ur carb/TB lo.... got restriction mah... so if possible get bigger one... (mine is 2nd hand, so cannot complain):regular_smile:

SkYwAlKeR said:
haha.. why this thread becomes air intake thread adi??..
anyway, my mech said the K&N filter size i'm using is enough for my standard 4g13 car.... if using highcam then need bigger size... so i guess the size i'm using is the smallest for 4g13 stock standard lar.... any bigger mods on ur car need bigger filter...
if small small filter on big big engine, the air sucked in would not be enough to feed ur carb/TB lo.... got restriction mah... so if possible get bigger one... (mine is 2nd hand, so cannot complain):regular_smile:
i have been curious about the air intake through this type of filter. won't the air be hot-air as the filter is open just above the 4g13p engine? hot air will cause reduced in performance, isn't it? that's the reason we want CAI. any comparison between CAI and this kind of filter?

erm.. i tot we connect CAI to air filter? (if we hav one?)

SkYwAlKeR said:
this is my solution...

http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/6817/image012adsf1vv.jpg
i don't understand from the picture how u connect the CAI hose? i thought there's only one air-intake into the carb (the dish filter)? Then where's the CAI hose connected to the engine?

CAI hose not connect to the engine la... the filter sucks air from its surrounding... my CAI jz aid some cool air to the filter... it does not totally suck all cold air from outside....
my CAI hose is connected under the fender to the side bumper... pictures not available coz when i open my fenders, i forgot to snap pictures... hehe...

Hi guys.... i also driving iswara... 1.5 MT 2003... nice to meet your all...
i had change my stock air filter to open pod type.... i had bought a adapter and recently add a ram pipe too... beside tat i had diy CAI too... i'm using 3' flexi hose (plastic) and take the air from the bottom of my car. coz i really cannot find a hole to slot thru the pipe.... i slot thru the transmission area on the left of the car... i will post the picture soon... probably 2moro.... happy diy!!!

Hi all, finally i had take my ram pipe and CAI on my iswara. the picture a bit dark...
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a123/t_y_koh/airram1.jpg
I had bought a ram pipe to extend the length of the original ram. so the open pod are put further away the hot spot in the engine. the silver thingy is the aluminum foil tat i use to cover my open pod. prevent suck hot air.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a123/t_y_koh/airram2.jpg
this is the side view, as you can see i had fit in a 3' flexible pvc pipe at the bottom of my open pod. the air is lead from the bottom of my car.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a123/t_y_koh/airram3.jpg
here is how it looks at the botto of my car, where the air will be lead into the open pod thru 3' pvc hose. dissadvantage is, the air is a bit dusty... dont worry about the water cannot enter coz we had gravity on earth...haha...

is ur hose tilted a little bit facing the front??... if not not much air will pass through the hose wor... unless ur CAI hose is totally sealed up to ur filter....
anyway, i did think of passing CAI hose like urs... but i worry the heat of the engine might heat up the cold air before it gets to the filter... besides, mine is rubber CAI hose, afraid it melts too... haha...

anyway, nice diy... any project up next??... hehe...

very nicely done wor bro... i waiting for my cai hose from ninja..