Judge My Setup - Did i get Slaughter?

kyheng said:
You have offended somebody liao......

who did i offend?
anyone working at that shop? maybe he can come out and explain to us also.
dun beleive i can take a picture of how "wonderfully" installed the speaker is

VoonZ said:
minus the 1 la. u know i noob at ICE mar. dun zha me lo

Waja... U need to sacrifice alot loorr...either your door panel or power window panel... no choice... some driver/comp maybe need this 2 panel to sacrifice... to fix the big magnet...

VoonZ,

Just wanna share with u,im using the same amplifier as u mentioned...ROCK-A-BILLY(4channel)....since august 2004.Its been keeping me happy n satisfied very much till this minute.The best part it has not even once cut as in protection though it gets really really darn HOT after playing a few songs. Being a ayam brand for a known fact, it keeps me playing music loudly with reliability.Im using this amp to hit 1 set of mohawk red series 6.5 comp,1 set of mohawk blue series 6.5 comp and 2 12 inches woofer.So,Basically 2 channel for the mids n the other 2 channel for the woofer.Its been seriously reliable n worth the ringgit n cents i paid.

Take Note:-

I did mention bout loudness which is just actually loud enuf to my expectations...im no hardcore fan about ICE but cant drive peacefully without it:)and dont feel demotivated yea...just get ur set tuned up properly for better sound....it might take some time.

VoonZ said:
who did i offend?
anyone working at that shop? maybe he can come out and explain to us also.
dun beleive i can take a picture of how "wonderfully" installed the speaker is

In a of the thread that I was flaming.....

satria81 said:
VoonZ,

Just wanna share with u,im using the same amplifier as u mentioned...ROCK-A-BILLY(4channel)....since august 2004.Its been keeping me happy n satisfied very much till this minute.The best part it has not even once cut as in protection though it gets really really darn HOT after playing a few songs. Being a ayam brand for a known fact, it keeps me playing music loudly with reliability.Im using this amp to hit 1 set of mohawk red series 6.5 comp,1 set of mohawk blue series 6.5 comp and 2 12 inches woofer.So,Basically 2 channel for the mids n the other 2 channel for the woofer.Its been seriously reliable n worth the ringgit n cents i paid.

Take Note:-

I did mention bout loudness which is just actually loud enuf to my expectations...im no hardcore fan about ICE but cant drive peacefully without it:)and dont feel demotivated yea...just get ur set tuned up properly for better sound....it might take some time.

bro, mind to tell us wat woofer u use? cos 12" woofer i got see the range from 10 RMS until 1k rms.....if u wan to know how good is the amp is, try it with any 150RMS sub like kicker comp...for real...i dun think u can drive it even u bridge 2 channel....but maybe i m wrong..cos there;s actually some chapalang 4ch that having about 70RMs real each channel...but i usually saw this type of amp are seldom sell at 4++...usually 6++..ya, 6++ for a chapalang....it's in acc shop that wan to chop ppl....

VoonZ said:
alllright!
thank you guys for the enlighment
howie: i'll pm you when i 'm gona change the whole set of my audio system =) but it's not gonna be anytime form now =p
i'm never going back to CV audio again.. friendly but it's a slaughter house =.=

thread closed

Just follow the ISWARA GT-R, If I not mistaken ..he also drive Waja... Front Comp..RS Pro 165, Sub .. RS 12' Competition series, 4Ch Amp Xetex Gravity... Head Unit CDA7998R... Speaker Cable RS Audio.....

yea.. i'm confirm getting a woofer already
still looking for a cheap one. for the sub i went to an audio shop and he said my amp may not be powerful enough and need to use a larger cable to power up the woofer :shocked: :shocked:

VoonZ said:
still looking for a cheap one. for the sub i went to an audio shop and he said my amp may not be powerful enough and need to use a larger cable to power up the woofer :shocked: :shocked:

One more wrong shop U go.... did know why you always get bad luck...... My Alpine MRV1507 only accept/recomended to use max 4Awg... how come your ayam brand need large power cable 2 or 0/1 gauge..... you can figure it out your self loorrr....... see at power terminal there... how big hole or screw terminal can it accept............ You luck like Malay peribahasa.... Keluar Mulut Buaya, Masuk Mulut Harimau......

hehehe... oviously they wan to slaughter you with their super big and super expensive wire...
hehehe...

howiechoo,

Cracker is the brand of my woofer matched a with sealed box.I was not saying my amp was of real high ability but its just that for my personal hearing n use it gives me value to the ringgit i spent without the hassle of amplifier getting spoilt,i maybe lucky:).Thats what i meant actually.Tho,im not a ICE maniac...but for a fact i know that my amp cant handle kicker EX,COMPvr,C12 or any other real hardcore subbie's .My woofer's are not strong ones but just gives me the feel of minimum bass which keeps me more than just happy..

VoonZ said:

Sometimes bigger power cable do help abit, bigger cable = lesser resistance. For ayam brand I think a 4awg will do, but not 2awg or lesser. Anyway maybe yours is 8awg cable, that's why they ask you to buy a bigger one. You never mention what is the size of cable you are using. So I guess this is the case you are facing.

Just to let you guys know. Go to www.bcae1.com. Look for the wire section. It should be able to tell you which wire to get for a certain amplifier power. It even has a system designer for more than one amp.
Hope this helps.

imho, you didn't get "slaughtered". Plus we just heard your side of the story, so it ain't exactly fair to jump to conclusion. CV is like one of the better installers you'll find around our country. See, some installers will install how they feel is right & some will install how you want them to install, makes a lot of difference that. I mean if you were gonna tell 'em how to install, might as well DIY. The 180 they charge you for the door, could it have been plus them running speaker cables for you as well? Might have, the cables would've cost money, so to will their workmanship & you brought the speakers to 'em. Known fact that when you buy something from whoever it would cost lesser to install, you did not. I completely agree with ISWARA GTR, abt you needing to crank your HU volume higher, that's how it's done. I've posted my opinions many times on how I think ppl should really consider saving up & getting better gear for this very costly hobby, coz if you wanna get it done, get it right the first time. No, I will not tell you to go for 300 - 400 hundred cheese of subwoofers coz it's a waste of time. I know some of us are not really serious " kaki ", but like i said before, it's a very expensive hobby, so if not serious, why bother installing at all, just stick with stock. Here's a piece of advice, whenever there's competition, just bring yourself there & no, you do not want to judge any certain products just because they have a van fully loaded with stuffs. Look for cars which have good quality setup regardless sq/spl. This will give you some idea. No dude, no amerion, no rockabilly, no stellar, no mohican, no prokick, no shuttle lab, f*** all that! Good things or installers never come in cheap, never have, never will.
Alamak, aku dah melalut. :mouth_closed:

VoonZ said:
for the installtion, i bet they didnt do anything complicated. i provided tham with the 16' comp to replace my waja's 15' stock speaker. it would be fine if they did cut out the board and install it nicely for the price they charged me. but all they did was fix it up and punch a few holes on the board. it's ok with me also if they have done it nicely. BUT today when i close my car door, the driver seat's speaker came out. bloody mofos, slaughter me nvm , but the worksmanship also like crap despite their friendly attitude.

Sorry Energie my friend, not to flame you. But after you read our junior friend on what he said(minus the 1 infront of 6 and 5), what will you say? Is it worth the money? I will charge him a kopi c and 3 roti kiap the most. Anyway not every body is rich in this world. Sometimes 'poor' people like me or Voonz or other people will be happy to get a 2000-2500 ICE setup. Maybe for you is a waste of money. Another thing is how you define what is good or bad? This is a very subjective topic that will not have answer until we die. For example, you see Amber Chia in town, you sure will say she is pretty, but maybe I will say she is ugly, so the arguement begins.... The point I want to stress here is not just because install some high end things means that is good, sometimes cheap brand also can give you some good sound quality too. Like alot of people say Alpine HU is good, but I don't like it at all as the display is bright, for HU I still prefer Pioneer, the display looks warmer and not that bright.
Anyway is it always a high end shop's workmanship always the best? I will say no for this. As they only use the shop's name, maybe got 1 or 2 can do it properly, but not all. Like last time when I tint my windscreen in Jinsan, the boss(Ah Boy) tint 1 of the glass, the rest is by other people and the result is after 1 hour I leave the shop the glass tinted by Ah Boy is ok, but others all bubble comes out.
The bottom line : ICE is an expensive hobby(this I will agree with you), but still our pocket and our taste will make the final decesion on what we want to choose, not you.

energie said:
imho, you didn't get "slaughtered". Plus we just heard your side of the story, so it ain't exactly fair to jump to conclusion. CV is like one of the better installers you'll find around our country. See, some installers will install how they feel is right & some will install how you want them to install, makes a lot of difference that. I mean if you were gonna tell 'em how to install, might as well DIY. The 180 they charge you for the door, could it have been plus them running speaker cables for you as well? Might have, the cables would've cost money, so to will their workmanship & you brought the speakers to 'em. Known fact that when you buy something from whoever it would cost lesser to install, you did not. I completely agree with ISWARA GTR, abt you needing to crank your HU volume higher, that's how it's done. I've posted my opinions many times on how I think ppl should really consider saving up & getting better gear for this very costly hobby, coz if you wanna get it done, get it right the first time. No, I will not tell you to go for 300 - 400 hundred cheese of subwoofers coz it's a waste of time. I know some of us are not really serious " kaki ", but like i said before, it's a very expensive hobby, so if not serious, why bother installing at all, just stick with stock. Here's a piece of advice, whenever there's competition, just bring yourself there & no, you do not want to judge any certain products just because they have a van fully loaded with stuffs. Look for cars which have good quality setup regardless sq/spl. This will give you some idea. No dude, no amerion, no rockabilly, no stellar, no mohican, no prokick, no shuttle lab, f*** all that! Good things or installers never come in cheap, never have, never will.
Alamak, aku dah melalut. :mouth_closed:

i'll have to agree with you that CV is one of the better installers in town. Most of them are experienced installers. BUT for my case. just because i don't drive an evof or them to install or buy any expensive stuff for them. they shouldn't just sent a newbie to install my amp. int he end i have to go back there 3 times. not once or twice it's THREE freaking times. first time they didnt fix the door rubber (or whatever it's called) properly resulting water leakage when raining.... 2nd time. they didn't connect the cable for my rear right speaker ( how could this happen?). and the 3rd time the front comp speaker came out when i close my door. that really shows how good their worksmanship is. and fyi i brought the speakers and comp to them as a noob ( at least i've known a little more stuff now). ididn't buy those stuff, i got the for free. if i knew that this would happen and knew that howie is an istaller. i wouldnt have gone there. now that i've bought that cheap amp from them ( yea i'm poor). hopefully it's as durable as how satria81 said it is.

So the moral of the story : high end shop is for 'yee sai zhou'. Anyway you should turn your HU volume higher, if the amp gain set too high, it might have some airplane sound. Anyway another thing that is your speaker wire is your car one, or buy from them?

kyheng said:
So the moral of the story : high end shop is for 'yee sai zhou'. Anyway you should turn your HU volume higher, if the amp gain set too high, it might have some airplane sound. Anyway another thing that is your speaker wire is your car one, or buy from them?

I've to correct you on that part.
If volume of HU higher and amp gain too high, it will clip and should sounded like a transistor radio and sounds bad (everything wants to fly away)
Airplane most of the time due improper grounding, signal to near to power cable.

Regarding high end vs low end
All I can say..yup it depends but why high end is high end is because of the sensivity in hearing of the listeners. And definitely eventhough high end, some you might like some you don't.

I've gone through cap ciken and good setup and yup cap ayam setup eventhough it can sound good (can't deny at all given a good tuner and proper installations) but it has limitations where high end setup can do and it also has its owns limitations.

Thanks for the correction, but some amps the gain cannot set too high especialy some cheap brands, they do produce some airplane sound, maybe like you say is grounding no good, RCA cable too near to power cable. But this can be overcome by setting the gain lower and use more power from HU, it will solve this problem sometimes.