Low PS B16A :-( Need Help!

lithium2

Just bought an EG9 2 weeks ago. From the 1st day, cannot really feel VTEC engaging. But RPM can go smoothly till 9000rpm, so my mech say the Vtec did engage otherwise cannot go up 9000rpm. Went to N1, they gave me the same answer.

But today when I go for a dyno in Amoil. My max power was miseably low! only 128ps! And Torque only 12Kg-M! Amoil told me my Vtec not engaging!

Can anyone tell me what is wrong with my B16A? Thanks in advance!

By the way, ECU is not stock. Chip has been changed.

what is the engine spec?

if stock b16a dyno result should read around that. 130-140ps on wheel.

any check engine light blinking? any sensors failure? without the vtec you still can reach 9000rpm...

a) use stock ECU to see if the problem disappears.
b) if not, check solenoid or other sensors possibly preventing vtec from engaging.
c) B16A isn't that powerful anyway.. unless you ditch aircond, the cat, power steering, and a lot of other amenities that you don't really need.

Thanks Lightningfield and shiroitenshi,

1) My engine is still in stock condition. So maybe this hp is normal since the engine is so old already?

2) Engine lights not ON, that's why is confusing, N1 say Vtec engaging, Amoil say not. Somemore Amoil no time to check the car, need to make appointment and cannot do on sat???? Strange!

3) My mech checked it again yesterday. And still say Vtec is engaging! So Amoil is bullshiting or what!

You can slowly ref the car till 6,000 rpm, see is there any changing of engine sound from 5,500 - 6,000 rpm. We can hear when vtec kicks in. Just ref it slowly. Warm up the enigne b4 you do tat.

dude, i think u might wanna check your vtec pressure switch at the spool valve just like shiro said. this thing had happend to my friend before. no check engine light or anything but sometimes he can feel the vtec engagement and sometimes he couldnt. what he did was service the whole spool valve and the problem was solved.

and yeah, cant u hear any sound during the engagement? i donno about other people's car but my vtec can only engage if my car is moving. referring to the basic principle of vtec - it will only engage after the water temp has reach certain level, and once it detects load of the engine above 60-70kmh.

aiyo...considering that hp of yours in a stock condition is very good lah. nearly 130hp. my car? running on 1st gen B16A, stock, never overhauled or anything..the power surely will be around 110hp...*sigh*

Yup...as bro mugenr said...try to drive slower instead of full throttle all the way...just pay more attention when the rpm reaches 4k onwards...there'll be a slight different in sound when the vtec kicks in.Btw..what was your ride before this newly brought eg9?Cheers!

I'd say, check your ECU. there are lots of chipped ECUs that creates a lot of problems, esp. if you don't know the history of chip. Borrow a stock B16A ecu, the P30, and then test.

I've tried a random chipped ECU b4 that came off a halfcut and got less power than stock due to extreme overfuelling. Plugs only lasted a day before fouling (since it was chipped for a built engine, probably) ROFL!

b4 v proceed any further,ur EG9 auto/manual?
if ur VTEC ain't engaging,CEL will definitely come on......so i assume ur VTEC is engaging....no VTEC sound?whr's ur location?y not set a time,meet up over a cup of tea..allow ppl 2 actually c ur car n diagnose wats d problem....without seeing/hearing its actually very hard...n u'll also haf d chance of sampling other ppl's ride..
ok o not my idea?heheheheh

Wah...so many sifu's here oledi...The easiest thing you can do is to drive the car slowly ( not too slow though! ) from about 4800 RPM ( Mugen chips activate VTEC at this point, which is currently the lowest point for most chips ) onwards, if your VTEC engages, you can hear a diff roar from your engine.

No.2 : Check the VTEC solenoid. Maybe the cables are cut off / broken? If not, service the solenoid and change the two oil seals on the solenoid ( if it's leaking ).

No.3 : ECU. Try changing to a standard or your friend's P30 ECU.

just a nube experience....my bros eg9 when he bought it had the same dilema over the vtec do engage or not due to no sound, the rpm climbing normaly even after 5.8k rpm...he even changed the solenoid but still no difference..

so we went to tung chun and found out that it is actually quite normal for an auto b16a wont have sound when vtec 'on' and also not so agrasive..they sed shud try n change to manual b16a cam (dunno got difference on both cam lobe or not since cant find any on the net) and we did that actually and now the sound and also power can slightly be felt....an auto b16a only churns 155hp and ur dyno figure maybe rite.....

obviosly can feel vtec at low speed but high speed not that great lah....betul tak sifus???

eg9 can ask eegee sifu.....akuma tuned...

yes vtec auto cannot hear the vtec sound as clear as manual vtec...

b16a normally whendyno around 130-145atw
depen on the engine condition.

auto camshafts profile are different from manual camshafts and the ECU are also different in terms of the mapping ..with auto the vtec shud be kicking in around 5200rpm.. and manual is 5800rpm kann?

the best is to drive the car for diagnosis..like tok guru silambam akuma said. haha.

darkemperor..im in jb now. until sunday..hehe wher u at?

WAH!!!! So many replies!! ThankS ThankS ThankS! Went to Avant Garde today! Eric found the problem! My rojak ECU is the cause! Vtec engaging output from ECU is less than 12V, that's why Vtec don't engage properly!

Eric recommended Hondata la! Tempted but very expensive la! Anyway, Eric didn't charge me anything man! Somemore spend so much time with me! I paiseh a bit offer him some yam cha money also he don't want! Damn nice guy la! Highly recommended. Much better than Amoil and N1 la! I was in Amoil and N1 whole afternoon yesterday and get no answers and results. Waste my time only! Will never go there again! Just spend 1 hour with Eric and did some test drives, everything cleared man! Tonight can sleep already! HAHA, thanks to you guys too!

no need hondata. u can get something else which can give better result n cheaper than it.
one more important thing is the tuner itself... even if u use hondata but the tuner spoil the tuning n bcome tiuner oso no use.. haha

whr is dis Avant Garde?..........

lightningfield,
wei,come back lar...Esther RINDU kat awak!HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH