Mivec Blacktop vs Silvertop

jahreshay

Hi frens,

I am planning to convert my Wira 1.5 engine to Mivec engine.
I came across 2 types of mivec engine Blacktop and Silvertop.
Blacktop is relatively expensive compare to Silvertop....
What is the major defferent between both? both are 1.6 rite?
Which one should i go for. Hope you ppl can share your expertise on this.

Reshay:confused_smile:

A lot of people saying that there are a lot kind of Mivec engine. Blacktop, Silvertop, Bluetop, MD etc.... What I can say is the engine is just similar. The difference that I manage to find out is the ECU and the "wtf" engine wire ( <--- dunno this thing, sorry). Blacktop has 2 wire while others has 4. Currently I'm using a Blacktop Mivec. (Am I mistaken?) But for consideration, go for MD. Better fuel mileage during traffic jam. This is just my 2cent though. To all sifu, correct me if I am wrong. Don`t shoot. Hehehehehehe............

all normal mivec is come from 2 wire ; only MD version come from 4 wires.
for the sliver top, ecu is 4828 and the cut off is stand at 7.8k rpm. while black top ecu is 7035, cut off is at 8.2k.
Base on the spec, all mivec can produce 175ps.

If I'm not mistaken, all Mivecs are 1.6. As far as I know, there are RS and MD. RS stands for "Rally Spec" and MD stands for "Modulated Displacement". Heard from ppl sayin that RS is more powerful (higher fuel consumption), and then MD saves more fuel, but not as powerful as RS lo. They said MD runs on 2 cylinders during idling, is that true? I oso dunno leh... Correct me if I'm wrong. :p

yes, MD will run 2 cylinder below 3000 rpm.
and RS cut off is at 9200rpm due to this engine have been done engine balancing from factory.

black or silver, its exactly the same....same power, same 8.2k rpm cut off.....ecu code oni different....n some u can even find a LSD Gearbox.....those tat has higher cut-off or engine balanced r most probably being modded by the previous owner in japan....cheerzzz...

IMHO, dun go for MD......yes it runs on 2 cylinder below 3k rpm, but if u want to get a mivec n run below 3k rpm all the time to save fuel, better get something
else instead (eg. 4G92 DOHC Non-MIVEC, 4G91 etc.) ....... MD doesnt save tat much of fuel as compared to a frugally driven Mivec btw.....

not all mivecs are 1.6 .... Variable lift version has got 1.6 (4G92) n 2.0 (6A12 as found in FTO) .... the current variable valve timing version can b found in 1.3, 1.5, 2.4 n the 4G63T Evo 9...... actually there's even 3.5L n 3.8L in certain countries but i'm not sure whether its Variable Lift or Variable Valve Timing.....

as i know...

mivec blacktop - mivec RS
mivec silvertop - standard mivec
mivec MD - not so sure but i can save a lot of your gas compare with both mivec above...

correct me if i'm wrong....

No difference between black or silver. Only difference is between MD and non-MD.

RS versions have a lighter car body,higher rev limit adn higher mivec switchover point (6300 if not mistaken).

u all have different answers...
so which is which?

no difference?
or
according to apai,
blacktop has 2 wiring and the rest has 4.
but boyzone only MD has 4 and the rest has 2.
he also said the cut off for the silver top is at 7.8k and blacktop 8.2k
which later sypderslr says
all the cut off is the same..

and then enslaved said there's oni MD and non MD..then suddenly says RS has a higher rev limit which spyder says it's only becoz it's tuned by previous owner..

so which is true????

Must also get the Mivec, with the nice engine cover. :rock: ,

One of the reason why to purchase Mivec. :tongue:

simplythebest said:
Must also get the Mivec, with the nice engine cover. :rock: ,

One of the reason why to purcharse Mivec. :tongue:
haha... u change to mivec jz because u like the engine cover???...:regular_smile:

SkYwAlKeR said:
haha... u change to mivec jz because u like the engine cover???...:regular_smile:

One of a good reason why I like Mivec so much. :rock:

The cover is so saxxy .. :tongue:

yes, What I mean for normel mivec and MD mivec, u can different them at mivec indicator wire there; which is at top head half moon there .come out with 2 wires , is a normal mivec and 4 wires is MD version.
and the simple way u can identify which version is it for the normal mivec, u can check on the RPM meter board, red line on 7.8k is sliver top with ecu 4828 version and red line at 8.2k with ecu 7035 is black top version.

boyzone said:
yes, What I mean for normel mivec and MD mivec, u can different them at mivec indicator wire there; which is at top head half moon there .come out with 2 wires , is a normal mivec and 4 wires is MD version.
and the simple way u can identify which version is it for the normal mivec, u can check on the RPM meter board, red line on 7.8k is sliver top with ecu 4828 version and red line at 8.2k with ecu 7035 is black top version.

y do u keep confusing ppl bout 7.8k rpm cut for silvertop......other than it being an Automatic, a manual Silver AND Black will have 8.2k rpm cut ler......

MIVEC RS version has:
Titanium valves
Different cam profiles
Different air intake
40kg weight reduction
Heavy duty gearbox output shaft
Heavy duty clutch linings
Different 5th gear ratio
Lightened flywheel
Quick shifter
Strengthened lower suspension arms, front and back, with heavy duty bushes
Reinforcing plates on trailing arms to increase camber rigidity
High ratio steering rack (2.9 vs 3.1)
Increased steering pump flow with cooler
Larger proportioning valve in brake master cylinder
Modified fuel tank reservoir outlet to reduce surge
Double accelerator return springs
Water cooled oil cooler
50mm extractors
High flow catalytic converter & low pressure muffler
Thinner glass
No ABS
No central door locking
Manual windows
Manual door mirrors
No rear wiper
No clock
One speed intermitent wipers
Air conditioning as an option
30mm less ground clearance
Stiffer shock settings
Front 15 inch 2 pot ventilated disc brake option
Helical LSD option
Choice of about 4 different computers
White only body with black mirrors
Extra body spot welds
Different centre console
Flame resistant interior
No boot carpet
No underseal

Power rating is 175bhp at the flywheel.

MIVEC MD standard for Model Displacement. Meant to be fuel saving. Power should be lower compare to MIVEC RS

More info, check here http://www.mivec.co.nz/

spyderslr said:
y do u keep confusing ppl bout 7.8k rpm cut for silvertop......other than it being an Automatic, a manual Silver AND Black will have 8.2k rpm cut ler......

huh ???:hmmmm2: maybe my english is not good enough ... Sorry to make people confusing... :beer:
Anyway, my black top mivec is cut off at around 8.5k rpm and on rpm meter board is cut at 8.2k :top: