Mivec Turbo

Why this thread suddently have different title after the "black-out"

Is this due to commercial issues or what?

dolly said:
weird having the boost cut eliminator, interested to know this too.

dip was probably due to a momentary lean spot during change over?

nice power from a 1.6l, with stock bottom end too!

for n/a map sensor, it doesnt like to see boost, and with boost cut eliminator, when there is boost, it will lie to the ecu and tell him that there is still vacuum.

jinkl said:
bro , got small question
how was the ignition tuned got any device from PS for tht, its sure help alot man

yes PS do have a device called "timing control", we going to use PS timing control for our second stage.

kwai said:
4g92t,

are u suing forge piston? :D n do this mivec still can rev to 8krpm like normal mivec does? :D

interested to know here... :D thz~ n how much u done it? :D

fyi, engine internal still stock, by refering to the graph, power is still increasing while reaching 7k rpm, so there is no problem for rev till 8k, whatsover to have more hp at 8k?

sleeperR34 said:
Bro 4g92t ,
can't imagine 1.6 stock standard bottom end can produce so high horse power .
Actually using stand alone ecu doesn't mean that the car will be more smoother or faster , and in fact with the wrong or poor tuning can make the car even worst (i am 100% not saying stand alone no good) , for those who have the microtech manual book , you all sure can read there is a few lines of wording mentioned *only use it for drag* , understand ? stand alone mean only 1 map , no matter you go up hill with cool weather , afternoon with very hot temp , and etc , it only running on 1 map - one tuner (brain) map . Japanese spent so much money and time to do R&D on mivec ecu , i dun believe 1 tuner can tune more perfect than all this japenese engineer . All this is my personal opinion , cause my car was running stand alone ecu and now change back to standard ecu with piggy back , so i got all this kind of opinion , just sharing , dun be angry to other zth bros....

Hi brother,

u from kuantan? i'm from kuantan also.

u got any bad experience with stand alone ecu? but what i can say is, the tuner is very important in stand alone ecu. i using stand alone ecu in my car as well, no regret. :regular_smile:

4g92t said:
fyi, engine internal still stock, by refering to the graph, power is still increasing while reaching 7k rpm, so there is no problem for rev till 8k, whatsover to have more hp at 8k?

no la, i'm worrying abt kaboom at 8k rpm... since its consider high rev zone for most of the car....

wonder why dyno tat time why nvr dyno until 8k rpm reading? :D

n mivec N/A is design for revving at 8k rpm...

btw, since u using lower compression piston, wat pistons u using? :D

4g92t,

CONGRATULATIONS and GOOD WORK

Really impress with your project. Seriously, very impressive.

Just for your reference, there is another 1.6 Wira Turbo-charged Proton Engine (with GSR 4G93 pistons) and using SOHC Proton Head producing 238 ON WHEEL horsepower.

I think if you put low comp. piston and higher boost, your power will gain higher.

Anyway, GOOD WORK

lilvee said:
all variable timing cam's car (mivec/vtec) have their own map for fuel and ignition seperately, high and low. If u tune using EMS that only have single map, and only change the variable timing point, its hard to get smooth engagement.

If I'm not mistaken, to get the smooth engagement (no dip in power when variable kicks in)
is not that difficult if the tuner knows what he's doing and if the car has an EMS, it would be easier.

4g92t said:
Mivec First Stage Tubo Kit Include:

-Evo Turbine

-Tial 38mm Wastegate

-GSR Manifold

-1.5mm Metal Gasket

-10.5 Compression Piston

-HKS SSQV

-Evo Intercooler

-4x450cc Injector

-Aisan 220lph Fuel Pump

-PS Air-Fuel Enhancer – II

-PS Boost-Cut Eliminator

-PS Peak Air:Fuel Mixture Analyser

-PS Digital Turbo Booster – II

-PS V-Tec Controller

Congrats on the results of a 1.6 mivec turbo.
I am curious, how many .bar are you running ?

gti88 said:
Congrats on the results of a 1.6 mivec turbo.
I am curious, how many .bar are you running ?

we are running at 0.9 bar

Who did the tuning?? looks like the power still got way more 2 go... 7k rpm shouldn't be the maximum.. did john or kee do the tuning? anyways sweet nice car there...

wah dont seem to notice when ur turbine kicked in
constant power all the way
with a msd and ignition tuning , im sure turbine will kick in sooner

What you want is to squeeze more torque from your 1.6 longblock. :angel_smile:

Seriously good fun on 0.9bar boost for a mivec. Again impressed with your project keep us updated on stage 2 or 3.

FYI, for those who saw the mivec turbo mons. that currently rest at Drager Racing, pls. do not missunderstand that we have blow the engine.

Our second stage in on-going, and our target for 2nd stage is to achieve 300bhp on wheel for a daily drive monster.

when we talk about daily drive monster, below is the important things that we concern...

1- low fuel consumption,
at our 1st stage, we manage to travel 400-450km distance(town and highway) with RM 60 which petrol price are still 1.62/l, ofcause with the help of PS Air Fuel Enhancer, believe that we still can get the same fuel consumption.

2- drivability,
no matter slow driving, crusing or racing, after bolt-on, we are still enjoying driving the car, not only have more power, but as smooth as a factory setting car.

3- no hassle,
a lot of ppl., when they think about mod. car, 1st in their mind is maintain cost high and lots of problem, but we are here to tell you, our 1st stage project already on the road for almost a year, totally no worry.

interested mivec bolt on owner, contact us to arrange test drive, you will be supprise for sure.

Actually how accurate is Links dyno chart....? Or other workshop dyno chart....?
Bro Joeker , can we share the dyno chart for the proton SOHC with 2xx hp....?

Can anyone share here about accurate of LINKS dyno....? cause i hear some workshop their dyno come out more hp than other.....which is correct...?

Oppsss...its not 238, its 232 only.

ANyway, here it is, the Dyno chart of Wira 1.6 SOHC Turbo with 232 ON WHEEL horsepower.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/Joe_Looi/DynochartWira1.jpg

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/Joe_Looi/DynoWira1bar1.jpg

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/Joe_Looi/DynoWira1bar2.jpg

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!

Dino@Casper said:
Who did the tuning?? looks like the power still got way more 2 go... 7k rpm shouldn't be the maximum.. did john or kee do the tuning? anyways sweet nice car there...

the car was not tuned by Links..it was there only for the dyno run..

indeed..great effort by the tuner and the owner of the car..wish I could have that..hehe..

make it fair... does the 1.6 sohc tune by GT? and no mine not tune by LINKS, we just send for dyno.

"p/s: no offecnce to any party" some ppl do bussiness like x company tune ur car, at the same time x company dyno for you, obviously the power over the graph will be higher, reason is to keep customer satisfaction.

and refering to the graph, after 5k RPM... seems like knocking? any sifu can explain?

Bro Joeker , thanks for the dyno chart , what ecu is this car using ? it's knocking from the high rev la....very dangerous.....should do something on the timing or fueling and check the air fuel ration.....