My Snail Rebuild Integra DB8

IMG_1806.jpg

RM200 is ok for JB i guess.. considering here oso i get around RM190

Okay. So this is the one. I shouldn't be taking it if its anything else apart from this packaging right? Is that MTF-3 the same?

from what i googled... the MTF-3 bottle is 25 litres hahahahahahah

@ddv_nk12: just noticed u replace your previous Denso Iridium Spark Plugs with normal nickel one,why not replace by the same Denso plug or upgrade to a better one instead of downgrade it ~

from what i googled... the MTF-3 bottle is 25 litres hahahahahahah

25 litres? wow...
anyway, I got my gear oil dy. yay!!
this is good for lsd and non lsd right?
here is the pic. hehhe..
25112011431.jpg
[/IMG]

@ddv_nk12: just noticed u replace your previous Denso Iridium Spark Plugs with normal nickel one,why not replace by the same Denso plug or upgrade to a better one instead of downgrade it ~

I was very confused on which plugs i should use. So, i asked around here and found that the more expensive plugs don't help in performance or what so ever. Its just that the more expensive plugs can be used longer compared to this.

Latest update on my DB8 rebuild. Yay!!! Wait up for more details. Stay tuned.

EXhaust upgraded. Here are the updates. Sorry for the delay.

Well, last Friday, I went to the exhaust shop with my friend just to survey around for his car. Since I was there, I talked to the shop guy about my car. I know my mech sends his cars to this shop as well. So, some how, I was already keen on changing my muffler. So, I went home and brought my car.
He was kind enough to let me test a few mufflers.

First, the old muffler had to be brought down.
25112011419.jpg

This was the old muffler I was using.
25112011420.jpg

After testing a few, I decided to go with this.
25112011421.jpg

It's cheap and sounded good too. Performance wise, I was told it's the best since it's a straight flow.

Other views
25112011423.jpg

25112011422.jpg

Did not change the piping but he checked to see if there was any leakages.
25112011425.jpg

25112011426.jpg

As it was good to go, here he's working on it.
25112011430EX.jpg

PBEX.jpg

Feel free to comment and advise.
I will post a video on how it sounds soon.
So, stay tuned.

Aih, my car no screaming all la. Normal VTEC sound only. Hehe. The vid is just gonna have some idling and revving sounds only. Plus, my muffler isn't that loud. On the highway, I can even forget that I changed my muffler. Hehe. Look big only but not loud.

VAFC on the way!! After thinking so long whether to get Hondata or VAFC first and then upgrade to Hondata, I've finally decided. VAFC is the way to go now. Might be doing it tomorrow if everything goes well.

Before that,

1) I need to ask a few things. VAFC I or VAFC II? Is it safe to say that the only major difference between those two is that VAFC II can be tuned at 16 points compared to VAFC I's 8 points? Due to this, is there really a very big difference?

2) Road tuning or dyno tuning? I asked my mech what's the difference. He said of course it's better to do dyno tuning and I only have to pay a little extra and I'll get better tuning result, know my car's hp although he said road tune is actually quite essential.

3) I know VAFCs are "hot" and tend to attract thieves. The last thing I want is for someone to break into my car and steal it. I have seen some people install it on the dash or behind the steering wheel which I think is not safe. Any idea where to install it in a DB8/DC2 interior? Is there any need for me to view the screen display while driving? I mean I know what is displayed but are those info necessary for me to know while driving?

4) Lastly, at least for now, the pricing of installation. Is RM250-RM300 reasonable for installing and dyno tuning? If road tune, RM200.

Thanks. All with answers to any of these questions, please shed some light. Need answers quite urgently.

1.hmm vafc 1 or 2 also ok bro...

2. i have done on the road and on dyno before.. both diff tuner..for me, the car came out stronger when done on the road...then again cause diff tuner also...either way..some ppl say dyno is the best as its more accurate...

3.yup reasonable and quite standard price.

I just realised something.

BLASPHEMY!

A Nissan muffler in a Honda???

:biggrin:

1.hmm vafc 1 or 2 also ok bro...

2. i have done on the road and on dyno before.. both diff tuner..for me, the car came out stronger when done on the road...then again cause diff tuner also...either way..some ppl say dyno is the best as its more accurate...

3.yup reasonable and quite standard price.

Thanks ad_eg for the quick reply. Mind to share who your tuners are? Where do put your VAFC? On the dash? Easily visible? While driving, do I need to see anything on the display??

---------- Post added at 11:52 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:08 PM ----------

With my setup, just some bolt-ons, IHE, stock internals...

How many HP should I be expecting? Just excited.. Haha. No, seriously, because I don't want to be disappointed with the dyno result. I am expecting about 140whp-150whp because stock b20b is 126 i think. Anything less, I'll definitely be very disheartened. So, please let me know, so that I won't be shocked tomorrow. Hehe.

u can install the VAFC in the glove compartment...

expect about 180whp on a dynojet.

u can install the VAFC in the glove compartment...

expect about 180whp on a dynojet.

WHOA... 180whp man... although I don't know on what dyno machine. thanks for the suggestion madman. I was also thinking of installing it there but wasn't sure if there were any readings that would be useful while driving.

Oh ya, 180whp is bad, good or normal with what I have atm?

sorry bro dv was in a rush when replied ur post..

tuner - Ah Han from tung chun motorsport. higly highly recommended.

install in glove compartment - and place magnet bar on dashboard, and on vafc stand. if u wanna use the display for throttle position, correction,vacuum etc... u can place on dash. when display not in use or wanna hide keep in glove compartment...if parked for long time, just remove and take with you. it comes with 2 sockets which can easily be removed and put back on within 5 seconds.

170whp~180whp is what that commonly expected...and actually if you are going to dyno @ works..expect higher figures. but bro...don rely so much on these figures...doesnt really mean much...

VAFC not going to be used. My mechanic said I'm gonna be wasting money with it. He had a long chat with me the other day asking me what are my plans and explaining what to do next. He said I might as well go with Hondata now since I need a management even with these simple mods. So, guess I'll be going with Hondata as advised. Sad.. For the delay and slow progress.

bro regarding tuning..i think is better for u to road tune as the power loss to the wheels are calculated and the exact AFR is to be set. yours is a B20B or B18C?

well going VAFC or hondata it depends on the budget.if big budget than straight HONDATA. maybe when u back to seremban than can chit chat.

i have seen ppl go on dyno and come bk to road tune to a different mechanic to fine tune..

HO HO HONDATA!!! MERRY HONDATA!!!! Christmas came early for me this year!! HAHA.

Just installed Hondata. More pics and info coming later. For now, I'm gonna go test drive here and there.