My Snail Rebuild Integra DB8

For high revving, rev happy cars like the Hondas, I wouldn't recommend OCI 20k. Stick to max 10k km and the amsoil oils are pretty good. Dunno about the filters though, I use cheapass Bosch ones.

iszo, iszo, i dont know how to thank u today. u helped me save on the plugs and now the oil filter as well. hehe.

i saw the bosch oil filter for sale at tesco. i read the packaging but it did not state its for b20. wonder if i could use it??

anyway, since mine is a b20 block and b16 head, should i use b20 oil filter or b16 oil fitler? or are they the same? lol.. why i'm asking is because i prefer to buy them myself and get it done by the mech. if i were to buy from the mech, i know for sure i'm paying more for it.

well for me when in doubt,go bck to oem,wakaka...coz nth will go wrong,well as per izso sifu recommended lo,go to spare part shop and ask,haha,i oso go all around shop and ask,wakaka...so far none of them use broom to smack me,wakaka

the last time i serviced my car, the guy just had only one type of oil filter. can i say that all b series engines use the same oil filter?

I would stick with OEM Honda oil filter bro.
If I'm not mistaken, all B-series use the same model (product code) for its OEM oil filter.

OEM is usually the best la. And if OEM is the big sized oil filter, then stick with the big sized filter even if the small one fits. There's a reason why the big one is big, better filtration and probably higher oil pressure.

Last time I used a tiny Vios oil filter on my Unser, gawd that was bad.

Kazukimy : me no sifu la. Appreciate the acknowledgement but I'm not a sifu seriously. Xtremeleo is a sifu, I'm just hellokitty compared to him

thanks be5rsk for the clarification.

izso, if i'm not wrong, i came across only one size of oil filter for my car. for my old sa6, that uses a big oil filter but for my db8 i think its the smaller one.

can anyone clarify if there is a big one? or shall i just walk in a spare part shop n ask?

just got the Amsoil oil

its 0W30, i know in our hot country we dont really need 0W. just wanted to try it out. dont know if its good. 0W30, should i be worried cuz its only 30? i used 10W40 before this. guess shouldnt be a problem rite?

will be getting oem plugs and oil filters later. n prolly service tom or sat.

anyway, back to my rebuild thing. I was talking to my mech yesterday. he said my car needs some tuning and its also important to have something to tune since i'm using b20. he suggested hondata n quoted RM2800 for the thing plus installation and tuning. i asked him whether its s300 or what? he showed me the pic in the attachment. what is this actually? i mean i know its the ecu but which model? my friend in KL checked in N1 for me, they also suggested to use this. RM3k with installation n tuning.

i tot i have to use the s300/s300j which is cheaper. less than RM2k in mudah. whats the difference between this two? i know s300 must use back my current ecu box but the other one no need.

anyone can help clarify this?

• 18102011343.jpg
    18102011343.jpg
    82.1 KB · Views: 130
  • 18102011346.jpg
    18102011346.jpg
    44 KB · Views: 140
  • 1903450434.jpg
    1903450434.jpg
    40.2 KB · Views: 146
thats basically the S300 which has already been installed... wat ur mech offered u is supposedly better than buying the s300 board and soldering it into the stock ECU. and at 2.8k i think its a pretty decent price. i got offered the s300 board with install n tuning etc for 2.5k.

i saw get this... n keep ur stock ECU for spare. or u could even sell it to cover back cost

icic. now i understand. 2.5k just for the board plus tuning and all is quite expensive though. how much does it usually cost to tune only?

madman, can i know ur b20 OCI? oil filter is oem?

OCI? oil change interval? i use fully syn so i hentam 10k only change...

oil filter im using HAMP

icic. one seller told me that he can assure me that it would be ok to change at 20k or 25k if i use amsoil oil filter. whats ur take on this? hamp is honda aftermarket parts rite? at first i thought it was all honda aftermarket parts. just few weeks back i got to know its actually like a brand or smtg. m i rite? where do u get them anyway?

i wouldnt go more than 10k no matter wat anyone says....just for my own pieceof mind.

hamp...yes...its a brand of some sorts....got it at exceptional auto in glenmari shah alam

If not mistaken, HAMP is the OEM manufacturer for Honda oil filters, like Idemitsu is the manufacturer for honda engine oils,Nissin for brakes,NTN bearings, Keihin....etc.

whoa long time no updates. went on hols and came back with a lot of work waiting for me.

If not mistaken, HAMP is the OEM manufacturer for Honda oil filters, like Idemitsu is the manufacturer for honda engine oils,Nissin for brakes,NTN bearings, Keihin....etc.

i managed to get the hamp oil filter but the packaging was in bad condition, the box i mean. must be old stock.

before i went for hols, i did a few things for the car. just basic maintenance like servicing and alignment. and now i have a lil concern over a few things.

when i went to service, i found that the engine oil found its way to one of the spark plug area. was told to change the o-ring rubber.
this is it:
03112011373.jpg

and this is the new rubber
21102011353.jpg

the rubbers must have hardened over time. thats what the mech said. just to confirm should i be worried bout anything else?

then when the plugs came out, things got worse for me.
check this out:
03112011374.jpg

why is the one on the far right so rusty compared to the others? the mech told me that its because water went in prolly when i wash the engine. is that the only cause?

anyway, i replaced with these. is this ok?
03112011372.jpg

then, to replace the o-ring rubber, the head valve cover had to come off.
21102011350.jpg

21102011349.jpg

21102011348.jpg

since it was off and i wanted to know what cams are in it, i asked the mech there. he said it "looks" like b18c type r cams, meaning that he's not sure. i was thinking i was using the b16 cams. even though 2 of them said it looks like b18c type r cams, can i get a confirmation from Honda sifus here whether or not its b18c type r cams or whatever cam it is?
hope this pics will help.
21102011351.jpg

21102011352.jpg

cant really tell what cams are those unless we see the ends of it. at least, for me. i dont think there's any other way to tell unless u remove the cams.

That's a lotta varnish. What engine oil you using?

cant really tell what cams are those unless we see the ends of it. at least, for me. i dont think there's any other way to tell unless u remove the cams.

noted. thank u boss. just hoping for a shortcut. hehe.

That's a lotta varnish. What engine oil you using?
whats varnish and why? i mean i know varnish but what has it got to do here? the oil dirty? i was using honda semi synt in my previous service.

btw, in my previous post, i mentioned bout the spark plugs. is there any problem with it? why so rusty?

noted. thank u boss. just hoping for a shortcut. hehe.

whats varnish and why? i mean i know varnish but what has it got to do here? the oil dirty? i was using honda semi synt in my previous service.

btw, in my previous post, i mentioned bout the spark plugs. is there any problem with it? why so rusty?

Varnish is usually indicator of a poorly broken down oil or you extended your OCI too long. Look at my pics, mine can still see the silver bits of the aluminium with very little gold. Yours has a lot of gold. Either shorten your OCI or use better oil.

Rust is caused by moisture and oxidisation. Either you washed your engine bay and didn't cover the plugs properly and went for a hot run or you have a constant supply being fed to your plugs (don't know how)

thanks. my guess is the oil. i was told that i could use semi synth for 8k km. but i changed it just over 5k km. so i dont think its the oci. anyway now i'm using a different oil. in my next service, how would i know if there is a lot of varnish without opening the valve cover?

does anyone has any advice on what gear oil i should use? i have been reading quite a lot. some say use honda mtf, some said use brands like torco, redline n amsoil. some even asked to use motor oil. i m confused. hope to get some help here as i'm close to change my gear oil real soon.

---------- Post added at 11:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:12 PM ----------

and also how many litres of oil is needed? because i see them selling 1L of gear oil. just wanna know how many i should buy.