My Snail Rebuild Integra DB8

yes bro. thats what i m trying to do, hehe. thanks for the advice. mine is only 2 weeks and 2 days now.

its RM2k for the paint job inside out and RM1.1k for the IM and TB.

May I know what is IM and TB? 2k is for the white colour? If I went for dark crystal green would the price be more?

Mine is crystal white, not 2k white. so, the price should be ard the same. But i am not sure. my paint guy quoted a slightly cheaper price for the 2k white. its best that u check with ur paint guy.

as for the IM n TB, IM is intake manifold and TB is throttle body. I know that u surely know this but i think it did not strike to ur mind cuz v were all talking about paints and colours, so much so this IM n TB thing is like out of the topic. lol... i plan to do this once i get back my car.

whooooooooooohoooooooooooooo!!!

should be getting my car tomorrow. i'll post more pics taken today later on. its friday nite and i need to celebrate. will keep y'all posted.

cheers!!

CAR IS READY WITH LOTSA LOTSA PICS!!

Well, as i said earlier, i got my car on Saturday 24/9/11. What a relief.. Words just cant express how i feel. Late for a few reasons, 1st, i was too happy that i got my car and was driving around or looking at it most of the time. 2nd, it takes too long to upload the pics to photobucket. now that i finally found time and uploaded the pics, here they are.

taken on 23/9/11
parts were being put together
23092011213.jpg

lights fixed
23092011216.jpg

door trims waiting to go in as well
23092011217.jpg

i saw this at the trunk, any idea what this is?
23092011218.jpg

door trims are in
23092011214.jpg

trims are gathered to be sprayed to give them a fresh look
23092011219.jpg

the process of the trims being sprayed
23092011220.jpg

23092011221.jpg

23092011226.jpg

almost done rear view
23092011222.jpg

side mirrors being installed
23092011223.jpg

side mirror installed - it has this two tone, crystal white and flat black, just love it
23092011224.jpg

23092011225.jpg

trunk looks nice and "clean" with anti rust
23092011227.jpg

dont know what u call them but they are supposed to go to the trunk
23092011228.jpg

23092011229.jpg

head lamps are in
23092011234.jpg

23092011233.jpg

fixing the bumper now
23092011230.jpg

new addition to my car
23092011235.jpg

23092011232.jpg

23092011236.jpg

just before i left, they were looking for uneven surfaces and...
23092011237.jpg

23092011238.jpg

had to go as it was getting late. was just so excited. couldnt wait for the next day to come. had smtg to do in the morning. but as soon as i was done with that, rushed to the paint shop to take more pics and watch how they work. not to check how they work but just love to watch how it is done. so, here they are:

taken on 24/9/11
on my way to the shop, saw this car, nice plate
24092011243.jpg

hope the owner doesnt mind

they were polishing
24092011244.jpg

24092011245.jpg

while i was there, noticed this Hyundai matrix had this in the engine bay. wonder what was that????
24092011246.jpg

more polishing
24092011247.jpg

late addition to the car, end result futher down
24092011248.jpg

u know smtg, i was there quite often and was feeling smtg was missing that makes the car look blank, lifeless.. but couldnt figure out was it. until this... seriuosly i'm telling u, when this was fixed, it made me feel proud and good to be a honda owner. hehe. so i had to take 4 pics front and back
24092011249.jpg

24092011250.jpg

24092011251.jpg

24092011252.jpg

got ntg to say bout this cuz i dont think it helps in anyway unless if there's a box or smtg. can i get it anywhere?
24092011253.jpg

another thing i realised about this jdm front db8 is that from the side view, it looks quite similar to Proton perdana. dunno why, maybe its just me. but with the spoiler, it tot it looks very much better and i love it.

spoiler going in
24092011254.jpg

and its in, i must say here they were really careful in not damaging the paint here
24092011255.jpg

checking my lights, tot they were working fine till i got home. had to DIY just now with the help of my neighbour. me alone equals zero diy. hehe. the signals were not working too.
24092011256-1.jpg

car was being washed, getting closer for me to ride home in my db8 after bout 3 weeks
and this was the last minute addition. wat do u think? hehe.
24092011257-1.jpg

24092011261-1.jpg

in the mean time, i saw this at the shop. 1 of the conti i like.
24092011258.jpg

whatever washing and cleaning were done as i went out to get some kuih and drinks for the ppl at the shop. a small token of appreciation as they were all working together to get my car ready as time was already 6 smtg. so no pics of the cleaning and wiping and all.

THEN, AT 7.15 P.M., MY CAR WAS READY!!!
here are the last few pics of the day taken at the shop.
24092011263.jpg

24092011266-1.jpg

24092011264-1.jpg

24092011267.jpg

noticed the masking tape on the windscreens? they're there to hold the rubber that was just silicone-d.

and i was off, driving proudly all the way from the paint shop to my houz as a proud owner of the car, satisfied with the job and praying for no more worries on the bodywork.

anyway, i still have to go back sometime this week to do some final touch up of the silicone on the windscreen. the rubber has shortened over time and so there is a small gab that needs to be silicone-d.

comments please.. what do you'll think?
also a few questions posted above, kindly advice

Advice ka? Repaint it orange. :biggrin:

Joking joking!

Nice job dude. Can you share how much you spent doing all that? And it looks like your headlamps need cleaning. I'll post up a DIY mythbuster soon that'll help you with that. Perhaps next week.

Oh and that thing you asked that you saw in that engine bay is a "broquet". Google that. It's one of those voodoo things you plug into your fuel line.

Btw, go and custom fabricate an airbox using acrylic or if you have $$$, carbon fibre.

Bro, really nice and rare breed of honda i must say...
Love it when people restore their honda and keep it the simple and nice way... (not over do it)

Do keep posting on your journey to the glory! :)

Advice ka? Repaint it orange. :biggrin:

Joking joking!

Nice job dude. Can you share how much you spent doing all that? And it looks like your headlamps need cleaning. I'll post up a DIY mythbuster soon that'll help you with that. Perhaps next week.

Oh and that thing you asked that you saw in that engine bay is a "broquet". Google that. It's one of those voodoo things you plug into your fuel line.

Btw, go and custom fabricate an airbox using acrylic or if you have $$$, carbon fibre.

WHAT?? REPAINT? HAHA... enough dy la bro. haha. what i meant advice is by telling me what are the do's and don't for a new painted car or maybe minor improvements la. repaint is too drastic n too costly. haha.

bout the headlamps, yeah it needs some work on it. i'll be looking forward to ur post. thank you n keep me posted.

that broquet thing not only saves fuel but gives u more ponnies too. i saw an ad in lowyat when i googled it.

talking bout that airbox, i actually had this in mind
mugen-airboxs.jpg

and this
JDM_DC2_KEVLACOLDAIR_DUCT.jpg

and eventually get this
411463680a11681245260l.jpg

js.jpg

dont u think it would be awesome if i can actually do this?

i know i can get the mugen airbox but will it serve the same purpose as a custom airbox?
and about the air duct, where can i get it? in malaysia?

since we were talking bout custom carbon fibre, where do they do it? is this service available here?

Bro, really nice and rare breed of honda i must say...
Love it when people restore their honda and keep it the simple and nice way... (not over do it)

Do keep posting on your journey to the glory! :)

thanks bro. nice to hear ppl appreciating this car. many would prefer the 2 door dc2. and its really dont make me feel bad at all for spending that money when good ppl like u said that the work done is nice. u too izso. thanks. n of cuz, i feel :proud::proud: when u say things like that. haha.

basikal, i'll definitely keep posting when i see encouragement from u ppl.

now i'm seriously asking for advice for new paint? do's n dont's? i need this paint to last and look good as long as possible. :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 04:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:43 PM ----------

more pics coming up later tonight. check it out.

thats a j's racing airduct... not sold here unless u can find someone to replica

check the marketplace... theres some EG6 Js ducts for sale...mebbe they can custom for ur car oso

MORE PICS!! I did a photo shoots of my ride yesterday. Not profesional shoots. Amateur with handphone camera only. Hope u like it.

thats all for now. trying to find time and place to take a nice night photo shoot. need to improve on my photography skills too. still very far away compared to the car wallpapers u find on google.

cheers!!

---------- Post added at 09:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:30 PM ----------

thats a j's racing airduct... not sold here unless u can find someone to replica

check the marketplace... theres some EG6 Js ducts for sale...mebbe they can custom for ur car oso

yeap, just found out that its the j's racing air duct. replica cf air duct also will do. just dont know where to do it.

any idea if the mugen air box will work. i'm thinking of bringing the air hose from the bumper through the fender and come out at the opening at the fender like in the picture above but pull it out longer to fit straight into the mugen box. is this possible? any has tried it, pls share. thanks.

bro...were in malaysia... u do that u run a high risk of water getting sucked in and hydro locking ur engine...coz u have a box so the hose is the only source of air...

if purely open pod then not much of an issue la...

bro...were in malaysia... u do that u run a high risk of water getting sucked in and hydro locking ur engine...coz u have a box so the hose is the only source of air...

if purely open pod then not much of an issue la...

bro, mind to explain in more detail and simpler. i apologise firstly if my question is silly but i really dont understand.

---------- Post added at 06:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:14 PM ----------

Good as new :)

thanks man!!

if u put the box and hose and direct the hose to the duct at the bumper... u have to remember that the only source for the filter to get air is through that hose....

imagine u driving in heavy rain, then u run over puddle or watever and basically alot of water gets into the airduct...all that water is gonna be sucked into ur engine...not good...engine koyak

this is scary.. so, can i say that its best to leave it as it is? or is there anything else i can do?
thanks for the explanation bro.

get a heatshield for ur air filter...

u can still get the duct... and route the hose to ur duct...kow tim.

is this what you are referring to?

• air_filter_heatshield.jpg
    air_filter_heatshield.jpg
    120.7 KB · Views: 222
madman,
right now i have my air duct and the hose as shown in the pics below. n i guess its not serving its purpose.

so, please correct me if i'm worng, i need to get a heat shield like the pic in my previous post in order to help increase the performance even if its by a small margin?

• 24092011253.jpg
    24092011253.jpg
    73 KB · Views: 168
  • 28092011280.jpg
    28092011280.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 181
thats actually pretty decent already... getting the Js duct will help to direct more air into the hose...

ur already supplying cold air to ur filter... a heatshield will minimize the amount of hot air being sucked in.

my car dun even have heatshield... cai hose oso dun have :P

thanks for explaining mate.

updates from now on is gonna be slow. just as the title of this thread.

anyway, sometime next week, hopefully, i should be able to do the IM n TB.