Newbie in ICE. [SQ]

Andiboi

hi all..
i need some opinion for Amplifier..
now my target is to get a very decent 4 channel amplifier..
there's a amp in my mind now which is howie introduced to me; Agako Reference series.
i need more opinion of this amp, the sound quality of it.

besides, i found that many component set to chose at.
i need some suggestion of this one too, my budget for component is 2k and below.
Sub and mono/2channel amp
thx thx.

ur HU le? tat is ur weakest link if ur not getting a 'proper' HU.

hehe, bought it from howie second hand..
howie, now the sound are much much better than b4..
janeson(forgot his name liao), turn off the loudness for me.. and test for me and tell me that loudness is not good..
set my eq to bass/mid +1, i found out the sound nicer than b4 very much..
now i am poisoned liao.. i need more more goodie!!.. hehehe..

hi all..
i need some opinion for Amplifier..
now my target is to get a very decent 4 channel amplifier..
there's a amp in my mind now which is howie introduced to me; Agako Reference series.
i need more opinion of this amp, the sound quality of it.

besides, i found that many component set to chose at.
i need some suggestion of this one too, my budget for component is 2k and below.
Sub and mono/2channel amp
thx thx.

2 channel amp maybe u can try Phd 2200 and other good brand,never go for chap ayam stuff or else u will be wasting ur setup,while subwoofer u can go for Seas Lotus SW300 - 12 inch just RM1k plus nia,its a musical sub.

Don't make any decision to buy just based on shop recommendation alone,u should join ice tt organise by mycarhifi.com to judge for yourself what suit you, u will gain a lot of pratical knowledge from there when u audit all different kind of ice setup, which they are ever willing to let u audit. They have tt in Kinrara Curry House Jalan Kuchai Lama, every Monday night if not mistaken. If u wanna play ice, do play with proper setup otherwise u will end up like most average lousy sq system,just like one Ice Guru always mention " U cannot turn garbage into Gold!" :thefinger:

so if youre budget is 6k total for sub, amp and component? wah very good...i suggest u browse all the local forums to get some good 2nd hand items, will give u much better SQ.

zenn.. can pm me me the local forum?.. lolz
i only know lowyat, gr8tune,zerotohundred, ice hifi, iasca, cari..
all i not so active one.. i only read read..
>.< agako is a chap ayam brand?.. i found the website are really ugly actually.. lolz, seem like korea brand(based from the website la)..

how about Kicker amp? ZX, SX series? how's the SQ performance between these series of amp..
now i more concern in 4 channel amp.. after that, i will go for component set..
and also the Alpine PDX series, so far in malaysia own these stuff?..
i found the design of Alpine PDX is really aesthetic and nice(just like looking leng lui)..

anyway, i need people to explain how to see the amp good or not?
i know there's a lot of thread already explained.. but i need someone to summarize it short and easier understand..
if don want explain or reply back "there's search button, go search for it", please do not reply back instead.. thank you.. =)

How to differential the class of amplifier, wikipedia did explained it.. but i don understand la... anyone can explain in the easy understand way...

>.< agako is a chap ayam brand?.. i found the website are really ugly actually.. lolz, seem like korea brand(based from the website la)..

how about Kicker amp? ZX, SX series? how's the SQ performance between these series of amp..
i found the design of Alpine PDX is really aesthetic and nice(just like looking leng lui)..

i know there's a lot of thread already explained.. but i need someone to summarize it short and easier understand..
if don want explain or reply back "there's search button, go search for it", please do not reply back instead.. thank you.. =)

How to differential the class of amplifier, wikipedia did explained it.. but i don understand la... anyone can explain in the easy understand way...

Yawoh.. i'm interesting on differential of the class of amp also... can anyone do a simple explaination??? :burnout:

info from crutchfield.com
Class A = highest quality sound but inefficient and easy to get hot
Class A/B = the most common car amp design, run cooler and therefore run more efficient than Class A.. with low distortion and high reliable.
class D = hmmm? -_-"!?!??!?!?

trust in ur ears... if agako reference sounds nice, then get it. If Alpine sounds good... then go for it. at the end of the day... its u who listen. Zenn, Tohsan and the rest of the sifu can guide u only...:)

i saw kicker ZX650.4 and Rockford T8004 look nice tho..
it's seem like these model is not available yet in malaysia(enlighten me please).
so i plan to ask my friend to bring back these amp from USA.. hmm?
hmmmm hmmmmm.... hmmmmmmm -_-"!??????????

other local forums would be gr8tunes.net, mycarhifi.com and icehifi.com

i wouldnt go far to say agako is cap ayam, maybe cap ikan or cap kambing, hehe, just more ppl use it to play SPL/streetbass. same goes for kicker, not very SQ oriented. and the new alpine pdx, is just as u say, looks good, but sq wise, so so...

how to know an amp is good or not? that u have to research lah, see reviews by other users, and also see the amp's brand reputation. just like everything else, good amps will cost a lot, so for 2k u can get a really good amp but 2nd hand lah, so depends on your timing whats in the used amp market right now.

for newbie knowing what class of amps isnt important, since most are class a/b anyway. class d used more for subwoofer. class a very rare in car audio.

i suggest u attent few TT first and listen to few setups before u take the plunge. there are friday TTs every week at either jln kuchai lama or tmn dagang in ampang, if youre in klang valley lah... even JB and penang also organise their own TTs, u can check it out at the other forums....

just browsed the forums and at the moment not many gems around, except for these few:

Dynaudio 240mkII speakers RM1500
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4401

Helix A2 Amplifier RM2200
gr8Tunes.net - Car Audio Forum - [FS] Helix A2 competition class A amp

Arc Audio XXK4150 Amplifier RM1800
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4315

Steg QM 310.2x amplifier RM2100
Steg QM 220.2x amplifier RM1600
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4450

USAmps TU4360 4ch Class A tube amp RM1250
Bravox 12" subwoofer and box RM650
http://www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8637

RS Audio Component speakers RM1200
Genesis 12" Subwoofer and box RM900
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4415

JL Audio 12w3d1v4 subwoofer with box RM950
a/d/s P450.2 amplifier RM1100
http://www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=5860

RF 250m monoblock amp RM850
http://www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8862

PG Xenon x200.4 amplifier RM1600
PG xenon x600.1 mono amp RM1200
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4333

Peerless XLS 12" sub RM850
http://www.icehifi.com/index.php/topic,925.0.html

DLS UR36 3 way component set RM1000
http://www.icehifi.com/index.php/topic,1148.0.html

Xtant 2140c amplifier RM800
http://www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8871

Precision power A600 amplifier RM900
http://www.icehifi.com/index.php/topic,1155.0.html

Genesis Dual Mono Amplifier RM1800
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4416

PHD FB12.1 subwoofer with box RM850
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4310

DLS subwoofers RM2000-2300
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4377

Mcintosh Component set RM9++
http://www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8820

Image Dynamics IDMax subwoofer RM900
http://www.icehifi.com/index.php/topic,1113.0.html

Precision Power A404.2 amplifier RM800
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3895

i think with your 6k budget can get something like this......

dynaudio speakers, genesis dual mono amp, genesis sub and RF mono = RM5050 and got extra for good cables...

or rs speakers, helix a2 amp, phd sub and pg mono amp = RM5450 also got balance

zenn
you really a ice guru, thank you so much for the recommendation..
*now looking at the website u gave me, learning hard*.

edit: ba, cant login mycarhifi.. register already and need to wait the confirmation.. haizzz... *potong heat*

2nd edit: i found that US amp class a that u post above.. i go surf of it review... and it do sound very nice.. the sound quality is no doubt.. but it's no so efficient and get hot very fast... -_-"... *cant wait to go in mycarhifi forum*

3rd edit: McIntosh MSS630 6.5 Component Set, is this a very nice set?.. i found it interesting because of the price and the brand name as well.. any comment?

Becareful of Mcintosh comps as i heard there are lots of fake speakers circulating in the market. Make sure you do a validation before you make a leap. Few brands that you should be more careful are Focals, DLS, JL Audio, Rockford Fosagate and perhaps Mcintosh and Dynaudio too. Speakers are prone for imitation compare to amps and HUs. If you are serious into SQ, you will not want to settle for a Class D amp as Zenn our great sifu said although it is more efficient.

Class D amp or monoblock is all about monster power like Rally car, u just wanna finish the race as soon as possible. i.e Rockford Fosgate,Eclipse.........
class AB amp or monoblock is like drift car, u can have load of power yet u are in control of the power to show off your drifting skill! i.e Tru Technology,Phd,Helix........ :thefinger: