Newbie Question Regarding AMP

ryws

To all sifu,

I have a newbie question to ask.

If I were to use a pair of component speaker, one powered by HU alone and another powered with AMP.

If I turn on the same loudness. (HU might require volume level 30, and HU with AMP , might require just volume level 20)

Is there a different in term of Bass? Vocal ? Sharpness?

* the loudness here means normal volume, which HU can handle it.

difference will be noticed according to your tuning on your amp... ie. if you tuned it to be more high frequency then the sound will be sharper than the one that is powered by the HU... beside loudness la...

most of the time the driver that connected to the amp will sound nicer... than the one powered by the HU... unless your amp is really really crap...

hope this helps...

having an amp will definitely give you more detail, louder bass and clearer vocals. of coz also depends on the amp quality also la..

you need power to move the speaker and with more power will give you better results.

The reason you push your volume with those speakers connected to the Hu is that Hu internal amp is only rated between 20 - 23 watt rms and most of the time you push ity until clipping.

First question,
how many speakers are you having? 4 mids and 4 tweeters?

Second question,
Your amp is 4 channel or 2 channel? Good brand or ayam one?

Third question,
Does your amp support 2 ohm load?

Item
1. You cannot get the same volume level if you connect the speakers that way. Reason, you amp is amplifying signals from the HU. So, lets say HU is now playing at level 20, with amplification, the speakers is not actually producing a level 20 volume.

2. Normally, people would connect a front component set to the amp (use 2 channel). The other one, used for rear fill will be using signals from the HU. That way, you will not have your rear speakers overpowering your front ones. So, you get better staging.

3. This is just a crazy idea that I have, other sifu might need to confirm. How about powering both component with your amp? If your amp is 2 ohm stable, it should be able to push 2 component sets on one channel with more power right? Assuming you wire it in parallel.

Hope this helps. If you really wanna look into this yourself, get some basics from www.bcae1.com.