News -> Department seizes 35 fish without chips

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Department seizes 35 fish without chips
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/1/12/nation/13090165&sec=nation

Sinchew (Chinese)
http://www.sinchew.com.my/content.phtml?sec=1&artid=200601111565
http://www.sinchew.com.my/content.phtml?sec=1&artid=200601111538

If you read the chinese SinChew online(IF you can read chinese), and compare it with The Star version, you will find that many negative comment about Second Link Customs from Essam Al-Bala has been sensored or removed in The Star.

Yes please do enlighten us if the Sin Chew article provides more insight as the one in the Star is a little sketchy on details. It's hard to form opinions when there is so little to base them on.

-According to Sinchew, the "kakitangan" working in custom "insult" him,
"Wah, you have so many money, so no problem settle the fine lah"

-Arowana is very sensitive, after the examination, the wonderful "kakitangan" just put the fish (with the plastic bag) on the floor, instead of putting back to the box, althought the owner did tell the "kakitangan" that may kill the fish.

some other also "advice" him that dun mess with Customs or Malaysia goverment, or else his business license might be suspended.

put the fish on the floor? geez.. the 'kakitangan' no otak ar? why not when they go for health/body examination by the doc.. .the doc put them in an aquarium after examination? nuts wei...

BlackSamurai said:
-According to Sinchew, the "kakitangan" working in custom "insult" him,
"Wah, you have so many money, so no problem settle the fine lah"

-Arowana is very sensitive, after the examination, the wonderful "kakitangan" just put the fish (with the plastic bag) on the floor, instead of putting back to the box, althought the owner did tell the "kakitangan" that may kill the fish.

some other also "advice" him that dun mess with Customs or Malaysia goverment, or else his business license might be suspended.

Thanks bro, that's a little clearer. The officers are just out on a power trip and ask for stupid things just because they can. Total disregard for other ppl's property, what more live property. Sometimes I wonder if they are really ignorant and know no better or if they are doing it on purpose.

Duke Red said:
Sometimes I wonder if they are really ignorant and know no better or if they are doing it on purpose.
I would say both reasons. Because they can and because they really are that stupid.

si|verfish said:
I would say both reasons. Because they can and because they really are that stupid.

That's the thing that annoys me most of the time. You have to be really literal with some people because they just don't get things otherwise.

very obviously the gomen officers are hinding him to give kopi duit.....

if you deal with kastam you will know....even you are follwing the rule they will also said your goods got problem or your declaration have problem bla bla bla...so once you sent a middleman to settle then they only left your stuff come in.....all them want is an excuse to look for $$$$$$.......

really hope the next robber victim is those off duty police officer or kastam officer....let them feel the horror of the normal citizens.......

I think our gomen really really sick nowadays...many civil servants are just looking for chance to get their kopi duit rather than working on their duty...

polis, kastam.......see them also sick....

damn...pity the fish wei... such highly prized ornamental fish... haizz... endangered summore.. wahlao... my silver aro, imcomparable in prize or value to those red/gold aro, die , i oso heart pain like hell...

si|verfish said:

welcome to the legacy of "we can". we inherited it. it will take another 2 generations to realise the concept proper.

I was coming back from Singapore last month. My dumbass friend for some reason bought 5 boxes of Ferrero Rocher chocolates. The officers then asks us why so many boxes and started to hint that he wants a box too. I just told them its a gift for family and friends and not for comercial sales. He gave me a look but obviously he had no choice but to let me go. Just don't know why are they so greedy. Its just 5 boxes of chocolates, yet he wants one.

Another case happen when my Singapore colleague came down for our exhibition in June last year. He brought about 50 pcs of sun glasses with our company logo. Its just a cheapo glasses with dark lens thats all. Its for souvenir give outs to customers. When the customs saw the sun glasses, they immediately say its illegal and the goods will be subjected to taxes. My colleague argued there's no comercial value at all and its not even in a proper packaging. The customs then ask to settle it by giving him 5 pcs. Had no choice but to donate to them.