no more petrol car on the road?

normality78

Taken frm the recent Q&A with Proton adviser Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad with Edge media.

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.jsp?
id=com.tms.cms.article.Article_e7cfc47d-cb73c03a-126ba640-65740b46

"A: Because every year cars are improving, more electronics have been put in,
and just to tell you, in Europe, by next year, all vans are expected to
be non-polluting. In other words they may have to be either hybrid, or
electric engines.

So Proton is actually working hard to produce hybrid cars. This is the
first time I ever announced this. We have been working at it for five
years, not been easy to go into hybrid and also electric cars.

But we have to look into the future, in future petrol cars and all that
will not be allowed on the road at all.

Q: Target? Five years?
A: We hope earlier than that."

why u hope earlier? i just affraid that not enough time for them. Or they just put the name hybrid engine but not hybrid just like campro, only name, real campro still not there...

why?? i think 20-30years afta diz.. petrol as expensive as gold... and dangerous weapons... i think the world will become like i-robots movie.. i dont mean about robot control the world, but about the cars... people'll affraid to use petrol car in the next gen...

We will eventually have to convert to greener or hybrid, its just a matter of time. I guess the best alternative now is to use the natural gas option.. NGV i think like the taxis. Its cleaner and cheaper.

cleaner maybe but cheaper? if energy is not market driven how can it be cheap?

yeah yeahhh..hopefully Toyota Prius will be available soon.. :D

campro oredi got problem ... now play hybrid... duh ...

if can develop hybrid... y dun focus develop their own engine ??? still need to use Renault engine???? duh....

no more petrol car... :(
den cannot goboosting liao?

mmm...
but here in MY got alot of hybrid wat...
eg1.8 mivec, bi6+b20...

aiyoh... i prefer basikal than Proton's hybrid. Maybe later get electrocuted when wash the car. BtZZZZ!!!!!!

mmm...noe lah
jus speaking hybird mah...
tis + tat also hybrid

btw tis hybrid of hydrogen & fuel engine seems to be the future
as most of them either hav their own
or sum how get it from their partners
even buy it from some1 else