Old School Cars Discussion

Old school cars market prices depends on supply and demand. Iconic and sort after cars sure higher priced. People don't want, price sure drop.....lol

Not just drop, probably a lot scrapped along the way too. Because nobody appreciates or want them anymore.

Yup, then suddenly come along an enthusiast, price shoot up, but if owner just want to get rid of it, enthusiast untung loh......lol:driver:

Very seldom an enthusiast wanted to get rid of "baby", esp after he spent time, money and sweated over the car. Most of the car kaki that have restored or resto-mod their cars would say the car will be passed down to his son to continue the legacy.

I know one case, whom the owner had to sell of his prize-toyota becoz the family member was really sick and possibly bed ridden....and needed money. Had to sell his car. I feel pity him. Family came first and he did the right thing.

Very seldom an enthusiast wanted to get rid of "baby", esp after he spent time, money and sweated over the car. Most of the car kaki that have restored or resto-mod their cars would say the car will be passed down to his son to continue the legacy.

I know one case, whom the owner had to sell of his prize-toyota becoz the family member was really sick and possibly bed ridden....and needed money. Had to sell his car. I feel pity him. Family came first and he did the right thing.

Enthusiast owner selling is different from normal owner selling to enthusiast......lol:rofl:

Old school cars market prices depends on supply and demand. Iconic and sort after cars sure higher priced. People don't want, price sure drop.....lol
So true, like the datsun 120Y and toyota KE70, both have a low market price and seems to be the most popular entry into OS cars in malaysia.
The AE86 is one prime example of high demand. There is one on sale now for 65K but i feel its been modified too much , with crazy ah beng skirts and diffusers.
Matters not about the era of cars I want, just have to be patient and keep looking. Problem is sometimes these cars are up for sale but the owner isn't internet savvy and uses the OS method. For instance in the skyline forum, some one mentioned that they saw a faded R30 skyline in Ipoh, hopefully forum members who see cars like these could give some heads up in these forums.

I also hate it when owners take the shortcut method and rid their cars of the side moulding and trims. Without those black trims in the middle of the doors, these cars look "cacat".
My criteria is a sporty looking 80s car, 2 doors (except skyline i willing accept 4 door), RWD, independent suspension, wedgy front look, so the corona, laurel, Silvia S11 ,KE70 dont qualify. I considered the starion and RX-7 too, but they both seemed too small.

Yup, then suddenly come along an enthusiast, price shoot up, but if owner just want to get rid of it, enthusiast untung loh......lol:driver:

Yeah but the bad thing about old cars maintained by non enthusiast is, most of them are not really in good condition. Because most people that I know will say, the car is old, not worth to put in more money to repair it because the repair cost is more than the value of the car itself. True in a way, but if one really cares and likes the car, he or she wouldn't mind spending a bit more on car care and maintenance. But I guess most people just see their car as another A to B transport machine.

Mostly those who sold off their cars are because other more important matters that pressured them to sell off the car. Most likely family related issues like having more children to care for or getting married. It is good if you get a car from these people because they sold off the car not because the car is problematic but is because of other factors not related to cars. Or getting cars from enthusiast who wants to upgrade into a better car or want to sell off the car due to insufficient parking space is also not a bad idea.

The scariest kind of sellers are those who sell off the car because the car is very problematic and they just want to get rid of it.

So true, like the datsun 120Y and toyota KE70, both have a low market price and seems to be the most popular entry into OS cars in malaysia.
The AE86 is one prime example of high demand. There is one on sale now for 65K but i feel its been modified too much , with crazy ah beng skirts and diffusers.
Matters not about the era of cars I want, just have to be patient and keep looking. Problem is sometimes these cars are up for sale but the owner isn't internet savvy and uses the OS method. For instance in the skyline forum, some one mentioned that they saw a faded R30 skyline in Ipoh, hopefully forum members who see cars like these could give some heads up in these forums.

I also hate it when owners take the shortcut method and rid their cars of the side moulding and trims. Without those black trims in the middle of the doors, these cars look "cacat".
My criteria is a sporty looking 80s car, 2 doors (except skyline i willing accept 4 door), RWD, independent suspension, wedgy front look, so the corona, laurel, Silvia S11 ,KE70 dont qualify. I considered the starion and RX-7 too, but they both seemed too small.

AE86 really is asking too much. But what I think is worse would be the 2 door Civic hatch like EG and EK especially. Unbelievable that these 2 door EK car sell like RM50k to RM70k nowadays. Most of them are not even JDM EK9 Type R or EK4 SiR chassis which I believe these are the reinforced chassis. What is on sale would be some random 2 door EK Civic from local assembly or something. Those that came stock with 1.5 or 1.6 litre SOHC engine. RM50k to RM70k is a hell lot of money for an ordinary compact car chassis with modified parts.

One could get a real performance car chassis like GC8 or Version 7-9 Impreza WRX STI for that kind of money. I mean, you get an original reinforced chassis built for performance, original Japanese made parts built along with the car unlike these Civic which looked like some cars with various 'rojak' parts. I'm not saying these Civic are bad cars, they are very good cars in their category. But paying for that kind of price for an ordinary Civic seems too much.

Plus, for that money, you could even get some real sports car like FC3S RX-7, Z32 300ZX, Mitsubishi 3000GT... I know their maintenance costs more but they are real sports car, so you can't expect anything less in terms of maintenance costs.

Yeah but the bad thing about old cars maintained by non enthusiast is, most of them are not really in good condition. Because most people that I know will say, the car is old, not worth to put in more money to repair it because the repair cost is more than the value of the car itself. True in a way, but if one really cares and likes the car, he or she wouldn't mind spending a bit more on car care and maintenance. But I guess most people just see their car as another A to B transport machine.

Unless the enthusiast looking for something to mod and start fresh will be just nice. All stock can throw.....lol:biggrin:

At one time when drifting scene became popular the KE went up in price......lol:biggrin:

Bro, were you the one who saw a R30 in your hometown ? yes KE30 went up a bit only, still can get good contdition 2 door version for 8k only.

Unless the enthusiast looking for something to mod and start fresh will be just nice. All stock can throw.....lol:biggrin:

Provided that the body and chassis did not rust. If not, it will be a big headache to solve these rust problems.

With so many RWD old cars around, don't know why most people pick KE70. Maybe is because of the compatibility of parts with AE86.

ahh, its another guy with similar nick as yours . 20vturbo

That name is probably referring to 4A-GE 20 Valve with turbo while VR2 here is 4G63T VR-4 but running 2WD. :biggrin:

Mostly those who sold off their cars are because other more important matters that pressured them to sell off the car. Most likely family related issues like having more children to care for or getting married. It is good if you get a car from these people because they sold off the car not because the car is problematic but is because of other factors not related to cars. Or getting cars from enthusiast who wants to upgrade into a better car or want to sell off the car due to insufficient parking space is also not a bad idea.

The scariest kind of sellers are those who sell off the car because the car is very problematic and they just want to get rid of it.

AE86 really is asking too much. But what I think is worse would be the 2 door Civic hatch like EG and EK especially. Unbelievable that these 2 door EK car sell like RM50k to RM70k nowadays. Most of them are not even JDM EK9 Type R or EK4 SiR chassis which I believe these are the reinforced chassis. What is on sale would be some random 2 door EK Civic from local assembly or something. Those that came stock with 1.5 or 1.6 litre SOHC engine. RM50k to RM70k is a hell lot of money for an ordinary compact car chassis with modified parts.

Yeah, the 2 door civic hatch is overpriced for the age of the car, and sometimes overrated. Of course, this is just me. These car are also hot item among car thief.

In the category of small hatch/sedan with NA engines lower than 2 litre, they are probably the best of the class. But now, their price is sneaking up to be on par with real performance/sports car price.

The good thing that I can see from these Civic are lower maintenance cost (cheaper roadtax, acceptable FC, cheaper performance tyres since most are running on 15"), lightweight, agile, good handling, good power from VTEC...

But I don't think it is worth it for that heavy price tag and the high risk of being stolen... Everyday living in fear thinking about someone might target your car.... A 4A-GE 20 valve AE101 can cost under RM20k (still have cash to spare after buying unlike Civic). Not as great as Civic but close enough.

The civic "dolphin" looks rather sport, low and age-well. Those are the plus points. However, for the same asking price, I am quite sure there are other formidable cars out there that could match or better the performance of this civic.

Today's civic are getting larger and heavier, and definitely not nimble anymore....As time goes, things will change.....

The civic "dolphin" looks rather sport, low and age-well. Those are the plus points. However, for the same asking price, I am quite sure there are other formidable cars out there that could match or better the performance of this civic.

Today's civic are getting larger and heavier, and definitely not nimble anymore....As time goes, things will change.....

Sure there are other cars around that price who are able to match the performance of this Civic. But again like I mentioned earlier, low maintenance cost for Civic is a big important factor. Probably that is one reason why a lot of people are drawn to it. Easy to source aftermarket parts as well. A car that is fast and fun to drive, but maintenance is just slightly higher than an ordinary car. Performance wise, much ahead of ordinary car.

In the category of small hatch/sedan with NA engines lower than 2 litre, they are probably the best of the class. But now, their price is sneaking up to be on par with real performance/sports car price.

The good thing that I can see from these Civic are lower maintenance cost (cheaper roadtax, acceptable FC, cheaper performance tyres since most are running on 15"), lightweight, agile, good handling, good power from VTEC...

But I don't think it is worth it for that heavy price tag and the high risk of being stolen... Everyday living in fear thinking about someone might target your car.... A 4A-GE 20 valve AE101 can cost under RM20k (still have cash to spare after buying unlike Civic). Not as great as Civic but close enough.

Bro, agree with you price is sky rocket for 2d Eg and Ek due to hot demand not just in Mys but round the globe. Be it touge, street or track, these cars are very quick, nimble and very fun to drive. I've owned ae101 BT 6 speed before and in term of performance, there is no way for 20V(with high-cam, standalone ecu or even 7age) can beat those rojak B20b and B18cr. Perhaps 4agze mod to gte can come close.

I have been thinking, if really want to go for B series VTEC, why not just go for DC2 Integra. At least that one is a performance oriented car and it looks better and more exclusive than ordinary Civic. Yes, I heard that due to its longer wheelbase, DC2 is not as agile as EK 2 door at corners but still, it is an Integra compared to a Civic. DC2 Integra are selling around 40k plus which is still cheaper than EK 2 door.

4A-GE may not be able to beat B series in terms of power but they shine in their own way. The sound of their 20V 4 throttle is really unique and I'm quite sure they are more responsive than B series. Theft rate for Corolla is also lower so, I guess you don't have to worry so much unlike Civic. Cheaper price for Corolla means a lot too. Let's say if you have 40k to spare for a car. Would you spend it on a 2 door Civic or spend 20k for a 4A-GE swapped Corolla and use the remaining money to restore or mod the car? If you spent 40k on the Civic, you still need to fork out more to restore things and probably to improve the car's security.

But if you are aiming to be the fastest on track or on street or competition, then by all means, go for the fastest one. :biggrin:

Provided that the body and chassis did not rust. If not, it will be a big headache to solve these rust problems.

With so many RWD old cars around, don't know why most people pick KE70. Maybe is because of the compatibility of parts with AE86.

That name is probably referring to 4A-GE 20 Valve with turbo while VR2 here is 4G63T VR-4 but running 2WD. :biggrin:

Buy time, sure check first loh....

I think easy to mod and plenty parts. Heard Cheap way was to weld and lock the rear gear so act like LSD.....lol

Wah! you remember....:driver:

Buy time, sure check first loh....

I think easy to mod and plenty parts. Heard Cheap way was to weld and lock the rear gear so act like LSD.....lol

Wah! you remember....:driver:

The horror of these rust issue would be that they might be patched up with some cheap layer of paint. Later bought back few months later, rust start to show themselves... :banghead:

If don't weld and lock rear gear and remain as stock, can't drift? Ipoh still got a lot of stock KE70 almost every where.

Hehehe, what could VR2 possibly mean other than 2WD VR-4.