Old School Cars Discussion

If don't weld and lock rear gear and remain as stock, can't drift? Ipoh still got a lot of stock KE70 almost every where.

Hehehe, what could VR2 possibly mean other than 2WD VR-4.

Engine not enoguh power to drift mah!

VR 2 Gen.....lol:driver:

Sticky tyres are good to certain extent.........sticky tyres can exert lots of stress to the suspension and chassis of a car during GRA. I have seen some suspension hardpoints developed hairline cracks after GRA sessions.

Old skool cars are (especially) susceptible to the problem.

I seen an old KE70 in GRA event that it cornered so hard that the fuel tank/hose somehow disconnected and spilled fuel, in the car and out on the tarmac. I dont know the actual root cause to such incident though...

Sticky tyres are good to certain extent.........sticky tyres can exert lots of stress to the suspension and chassis of a car during GRA. I have seen some suspension hardpoints developed hairline cracks after GRA sessions.

Old skool cars are (especially) susceptible to the problem.

I seen an old KE70 in GRA event that it cornered so hard that the fuel tank/hose somehow disconnected and spilled fuel, in the car and out on the tarmac. I dont know the actual root cause to such incident though...

If so, that means those rods or arms on the suspension might be damaged due to sticky tyres? Especially if they are already very old. Is it due to too much stress is transferred to them instead of being absorbed by the tyres?

Of course when one force increases, it is transferred elsewhere. I wouldn't be too worried about suspension components developing cracks, i will be very worried if the chassis develops cracks.

Heard about this before from forum moderator Izso. This is what he said.

The Putra I was harping on about had slightly more than 300whp and went on track every other weekend. Sepang once had his bumper fall off supposedly because of his canards and it was producing too much front downforce it tore the plastic joints right off. After about half a year, the owner noticed a lot of strange squeeky noises and after some checking discovered cracks (very visible) along the front left absorber mounter area near the engine mounting and the front radiator chassis area there. Cracks. I never thought it'd be possible crack a chassis especially the reinforced area around the suspension mount.

Seems very scary if such thing happens.

I heard that some modern mini inherited problem of suspension mounts crack. There are some aftermarket reinforcement to counter the prob. Just google it....

Once power is increased and used to the max on track, the other parts are stressed out, that is why you have daily drive and purposely built cars for race, not daily drive mod to race.......lol

Or have something like in between. :biggrin: No need a full fledged race car on normal roads what.

Used as daily drive ok mah! but if in track usually will max out.......lol:biggrin:

Oh, I got your message wrongly earlier. You mean go all out and push the car to the limits on track. I thought it was going max with mods. :rofl:

Heard about this before from forum moderator Izso. This is what he said.

The Putra I was harping on about had slightly more than 300whp and went on track every other weekend. Sepang once had his bumper fall off supposedly because of his canards and it was producing too much front downforce it tore the plastic joints right off. After about half a year, the owner noticed a lot of strange squeeky noises and after some checking discovered cracks (very visible) along the front left absorber mounter area near the engine mounting and the front radiator chassis area there. Cracks. I never thought it'd be possible crack a chassis especially the reinforced area around the suspension mount.

Seems very scary if such thing happens.

Sound scary to me already. Duno how long wira body can tahan.
Still follow adviced from frens, don flooring in 1st and 2nd gear.
Same story also from the workshop. Satria swap evo engine. Got cracks after few months.:hmmmm:

This is one reason why I don't consider 4G93T swap if I want to swap engine. If I really want to swap, I will go for NA power 4G92 MIVEC or 4G93 DOHC.

Don't floor on 1st and 2nd gear means can't really feel the raw power from engine. At most how much you press on the throttle during 1st and 2nd gear?

Don flooring mean, not everytime ..... not every traffic light/toll. Is ok, You can swap 4g93t. :driver:
Gov still allow 1.8 swap...lol.
1st and 2nd gear ratio short. Cannot tarik...

1st and 2nd gear ratio too much power.......lol:biggrin:

4G93T originally tarik 4wd......However, cars converted with 4G93T tarik 2wd at the front only. Power only concentrated at the front, so most likely the front mount of the car develop cracks.....esp when whacked frequently in 1st or 2nd gear.