Problem with my 20v BT (auto)

clement

My engine got the sluggish problem since conversion i guess (many years back)

this engine was taken out from an BT 20v wagon half cut
this engine is fully stock standard with TRD drop in filter and TRD plug cable

I used to owed 20V silvertop manual
i find the the torque is quite acceptable

But on this current corolla that i owned at first i thought it is normal for auto, until i tested another 20V auto. the torque is so much better (not on dyno reading but the driving feeling..haha) i felt that my car damn sluggish, dragging kinda feeling like ur puttin on a 20inch rim on a stock standard 1000cc car

another problem is my fuel consumption if very inconsistent.
40 lit of fuel (vpower,97,95 all tested) sometimes give me 300km, 320,350,380,400 and sometimes 420km (town daily drive)maybe partially is because of the way i drive but i dont think there is so much diff rite?
i've sent my car to 1 mech early this year to try to troubleshoot this problem. (reputable mech for toyota cant remember the name @ seminyih where alvin aka toms do most of his toyota's)
i think he change most of the oil seal cox got oil leak and he set back my timing
he told me my timing was out before that la. After fixing it, it was good for the first 2 months
the torque is better than before and the fuel consumption was good (avg 400km)
After 2 months same thing happen... sluggish and fuel inconsistent (timing lari ka?)
and the oil leak again (not the first time after changing this happen, it happens ALL THE TIME)

and 1 more problem is the timing
idle 1100rpm
recently sometimes 1100, 1500, 1700 rpm while the car idle and on neutral gear

anyone face this kinda problem b4?
for those who drove an 20V BT auto do u face this kinda problem?
Im running it on a corolla seg 1994 chasis

im getting fed up with it
i was thinking maybe this engine is unhealthy since the day i got it.
the mileage when i got it was abt 120,000.

my choice of solution
1) overhaul the engine
2) buy engine kosong and replace

sifu out there, any other suggestion/solution? or any idea what is wrong with my car engine?

Clement ...wahh...long time didn't see you into Toyota forum...
how are you man ?

The mech shop in Semenyih was Angah's shop,PowerSpeed...a reputable mech...

What would you expect a 120,000km half-cut...expect the unexpected...
crazy idling may due to certain reasons...2 of it, vacuum leak and dirty ISCV...

based on your 2 solutions...i would rather go for engine full build up...
at least you'll know that the engine is freshly build-up and can last years to come...

Hi Clement,

Send to Fei Lou at Semenyih to do the overhauling. Well, though i'm not driving an auto, but after I did my top overhauling, my car now feels much better. A lot of torque. Dynoed and got 15kgm if not mistaken.

Mine was the top leaking badly...very bad indeed. Valve loosened..dunno what is valve loosen anyway. that's what fatty told me. And the worse part, bearing gone. The only think I added was the Metal Gasket. Now the car feels good.

Check it out man...

Hi Clement, why not check/do the following before going for your expensive solution?
1) any check light? If have, read the error codes and fix the problem.
2) clean up the 4-throttle (must strips down into pieces).
3) clean up the ISCV. Make sure "click" sound is loud and clear when connected it to the battery.
4) check the TPS is in correct position (you may need a DMM to do this).
5) set the timing at 10deg @ 800rpm idling.
6) check the ECU is in good condition (you may want to swap it with your friend's).

With all above in position, my previous oil leaking SVT A/T can out run a 39000km BT A/T at first
gear (similar body) :biggrin: :biggrin:
Don't change the car for just a flat tyre ah.

Hi Clement, why not check/do the following before going for your expensive solution?
1) any check light? If have, read the error codes and fix the problem.
2) clean up the 4-throttle (must strips down into pieces).
3) clean up the ISCV. Make sure "click" sound is loud and clear when connected it to the battery.
4) check the TPS is in correct position (you may need a DMM to do this).
5) set the timing at 10deg @ 800rpm idling.
6) check the ECU is in good condition (you may want to swap it with your friend's).

With all above in position, my previous oil leaking SVT A/T can out run a 39000km BT A/T at first
gear (similar body) :biggrin: :biggrin:
Don't change the car for just a flat tyre ah.

Agreed:driver:

wanna check ECU can go to Wong...
if want to check VVT running or not...can check with the VVT indicator light ...:biggrin:

chinozie,
im here from time to time, just dint type anything only mah... hahaha
im fine man, how bout urself? dint see ur car in action for long time d man

throttle body clean before, it was just slightly better that time

i guess there is just 1 thing i never try yet (swap ecu)

but i wonder why, it was ok for the first 2 months after i send to PowerSpeed.

i really cant remember what he did that time but i surely know 1 of it was set my timing
the power was good after that but why la 2 months later back to what it was before

there is no check engine light
i think my ecu is ok cox after he fix the car was good
is it possible for the timing to run by itself?
semiyih far sia!!
near easy lah...hahaha
i think i just gonna drop my car to him again and ask him to look at it
hopefully it wont be for just 2 month again
hjahahah
anyone got auto 20v ah?
i wanna drag and see the diff
hahahahah

eh, how come there is no more gathering for toyotarian @ taipan Fri nite?
miss those days man
i can said toyota 4ag gathering is still the best lah
other than that and other manufacturer no comment lah
hahaha

so when?
no hantu to post up gathering d ka?

i'm good man...my car ? hahaha...i'm too slow n getting old hahaha...

set the timing...hmmm...
maybe...your torque convertor start to give it symptom...who knows, happened to one of my friend, dyno'ed...the number keep on lowering... :( ...BT 20V auto...due to that...

before you sent it to Kajang again...try to reset your ECU...i've always reset it went the engine felt sluggish n didn't used for a long time...

TTT @ taipan ? Syed Ariff aaa...that restaurant closed already :( :(
since that...there's no more used to be good laugh, good food, easy parking, all join in TT...
plus all "party" member...busy with their family life...

no more FFK list...no more sirap bandung...
no more Blackhowling hard to show...hahaha..peace peace...
no more talk cock...

BTW...where's Guru Besar Mike ? :D

For Toyota that make in the year of '91 to '95.
The ECU already reach the end of its life span.
Periodically checking the ECU will save you lots of unnecessary spending.
Hope this help.

wah
i dint know toyota ecu got a life span

---------- Post added at 11:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:25 PM ----------

set the timing...hmmm...
maybe...your torque convertor start to give it symptom...who knows, happened to one of my friend, dyno'ed...the number keep on lowering... :( ...BT 20V auto...due to that...

before you sent it to Kajang again...try to reset your ECU...i've always reset it went the engine felt sluggish n didn't used for a long time...

since that...there's no more used to be good laugh, good food, easy parking, all join in TT...

no more talk cock...

hahaha
i seriously dont know where goes most of the members
i still see alvin once a while - busy with his business
banzai bump into him once a while also
eg9 only keep in touch when it comes to tembaking "someone" online ...lol
yoga i think into photography d
the rest seriously batang hidung also never see
hahahahaah

all guru guru retired liao.....after we quit going to syed ariff the mamak business drop a lot n tutup gerai......hahaha......

ya try reset ecu......pull out the "efi-fuse B" or is it "efi 2" to reset ur ecu.....rec remove fuse for few second but i normally leave it for few mins... ur u can remove the fuse....smoke 1 batang ciggie then pasang back......then start the car let it run for the ecu to read all over again n normally i leave it run for few mins......the rpm will increase after doing this coz it is learning

mari kita buat Tits tits session......hahaha

Hope this help.

very true...levin sifu helped checked my ECU before, and got endorsed by him...:)
without him i wouldn't have know the finer details of our ECU lifespan.

tom's
you organise la
make sure the tits tits got nice Tits to see
hahahaha

wahh.. looks like toyota got auto listing 1 ehhh... all thread oso got auto listing... hehehehe

set the timing...hmmm...

no more talk cock...

huh????

my bt auto also had same sluggish and idling problem. almost wanna die engine (sometimes) when break at traffic light. cleaned the throttle body and ISCV plus changed the ISCV's sensor thingy and it solved the problem. the only minor problem now is slight knocking (sometimes too) at rpm between 2000-3000. can anyone solve my little problem now? thx.