Putra or Civic? How to choose?

Civic or Putra

• Honda Civic 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Proton Putra 1.8

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
i'm in tis kind of dillemma too, last yr... i'm glad i've chosen a civic EG (2doors) instead of putra :biggrin: .

it's not bout the age, it's bout how the previous owner take care of their rides. Believe me, i've seen some cars with only a few years old are in desperate state of condition. :thumpdown

Overall chose Civic, since you're not gonna touch the engine rite??? so u'll have VTEC to play wit. Wit normal drive pattern, (i.e. early shifting of gears) you'll save $$$ in fuels. And you still able to gun it at the straight if you suddenly have the urge for speed....

And dun forget, it's 1.6 litres....... you qualify for tax reduction. It might not be much, but when you're paying your monthly installment. it'll seem much.......dude

furthermore, EG (2doors) design are nicer compared to Putra..... putra==wira (from front) :tee:

so wat if putra comes wit Recaros??? you can get recaros at Chop Shop for reasonable price

of course, the maintainence is higher than putra.... but the satisfactions are there!!! :rock:

drewn123 said:
i'm in tis kind of dillemma too, last yr... i'm glad i've chosen a civic EG (2doors) instead of putra :biggrin: .

it's not bout the age, it's bout how the previous owner take care of their rides. Believe me, i've seen some cars with only a few years old are in desperate state of condition. :thumpdown

Overall chose Civic, since you're not gonna touch the engine rite??? so u'll have VTEC to play wit. Wit normal drive pattern, (i.e. early shifting of gears) you'll save $$$ in fuels. And you still able to gun it at the straight if you suddenly have the urge for speed....

And dun forget, it's 1.6 litres....... you qualify for tax reduction. It might not be much, but when you're paying your monthly installment. it'll seem much.......dude

furthermore, EG (2doors) design are nicer compared to Putra..... putra==wira (from front) :tee:

so wat if putra comes wit Recaros??? you can get recaros at Chop Shop for reasonable price

of course, the maintainence is higher than putra.... but the satisfactions are there!!! :rock:

thanks for your info, bro. Now i'm gathering information to make my decision. :biggrin:

Dunno if wat i'm goin to say would be of any help but its just my 2 cents.Hopefully it will help on ur decision making.I used to own a proton millenium 1.6 auto.Bought it brand new.After a year and 7500km dashboard started shaking.Fitted with v-kool sumore so cant b e the heat which has done it.Power windows gave problem after 1.5 yrs.Fuel consumption was bad.Car was serviced regularly and not trashed.Using fully synthetic sumore.In 2004 mileage was only 30000km.Was overseas most of the time.Couldn't take the rattling.Tried to tighten here and there but after sumtime the sound used to come back.Finally got fed up and sold the car.Bought a honda prelude next 94 model with 107000km.No v-kool but normal tint.The car was also exposed to sun a lot.been having the car for a year edi and no rattling or squeeking from the dashboard.So naturally it shows that the build quality is much better.Hopefully this info helps a bit.Gluck in ur decision

well.. i was in ur shoe (hawick) whether to pick a Civic EG, Putra and Satria Gti couple of mths ago. In the first place.. my first choice will b Satria Gti due to built in recaro seat, body kits and sporty look. At the same time i oso think of re-sale used car value.. cos probably few years more, i might change to a better car and i noticed the price of Satria and Putra decrease a lot every mths. Mayb due to 2 doors/coupe car has bad second hand value (stock). In term of design..as mentioned by drewn123.. Proton has over-used the front design and it's bore to c it everywhere. Well.. EG model might b older but objectively the design is still decent and cool than sum other latest model car. Honda sporty parts and body kits, that 1 is available almost eveywhere whether it ori or not. After mths of consideration.. i get an EK instead... thou a monthly installment can cost quite a lot. But i m sure u never regret playing wif Vtec monster either. Happy Picking. :smile:

redbluez18 said:
i get an EK instead... thou a monthly installment can cost quite a lot. But i m sure u never regret playing wif Vtec monster either. Happy Picking. :smile:

sure...... EK is a monster, big eyed monster :eek: ... especially TYPE-R.

Ya... wira/putra/arena/satria used the same damn front.. tat's y ppl change to mivec, evo look la.............

you can get reasonable Honda's Civic EG parts (used) from many Chopping Shops cuz many ppl use EG in Japan last time... hehehehe. Nickname for EG 2Doors are "BULLET"..... go FIGURE

Furthermore, if bored with the HP, convert to B16B ka, B18C ka....... :eek: it'll make putra look like a :turtle: but maintanence/fuel sure shoot-up la...

hawick said:
I know you are driving Honda Accord, so what?! My family do has Honda Accord, is this mean that i can look down to others?

I hope that you can learn from mistake, rather than fight back. :mad:

1st - did i ever say that i look down to any? you not happy coz i dont like / anti proton?

2nd - your family own a accord but is't you?

3rd - why i need learn from a mistake? from what? maybe from not own a proton is my mistake? :dancing2:

if i had an opportunity to choose like you, seriously no doubt i will choose CIVIC rather than PUTRA. my satria '99, enjin bunyik macam².. body not so good. my father's civic EK '96, still stay strong. body tiptop condition. now just waiting till i finish to pay my loan. then i'll get EG or EK, definitely. (",)

p/s: MALAYSIA BOLEH! JAPAN CARS BETTER! LOL!

addrick said:
if i had an opportunity to choose like you, seriously no doubt i will choose CIVIC rather than PUTRA. my satria '99, enjin bunyik macam².. body not so good. my father's civic EK '96, still stay strong. body tiptop condition. now just waiting till i finish to pay my loan. then i'll get EG or EK, definitely. (",)

p/s: MALAYSIA BOLEH! JAPAN CARS BETTER! LOL!

may i know which model is your satria 99?
what engine is it? 4G15, 4g92, or 4G93?

Throw these two cARS into corners, and you'll see how agile the EG is, with the stiffer body, better build (Honda vehicles before the Malacca plant was set up, had better build quality than current Hondas)

Of course, you have to put in good effort to look for a very good conditioned one, anyway, congratulations on your new Honda. Putra? forget it, it might looked sexy, but it's hideous down under, badly build.

Driven many of them. Of course, A-B its good enough. But being a sports coupe with a relatively good engine, it needs to have a more rigid body. :)

Civic EG on the other hand, is even better build than a 98-03 Accord. They lasts!

civic or putra?

hi bro hawick.. just to share my opinion.. i own a putra, but mine is the last model of putra 2001 auto transmission.. stock conditon..

1. fuel consumption - RM20 @ 140km
2. performance - for me, very good/excellent,
3. road tax - no discount maa...
4. exterior - nice & sexy putra rear looks (facelift wira la), nice sedan coupe
5. but 2 doors la..
6. spareparts - very easy to find..
7. RM - just nice..

as far i drive putra, no major problem occured..

Mugen Power

Without any doubt I'll go for Honda Power and Design
Just imagine B16A engine cranking 150 to 200BHP raw power.
Anyway that's me the MUGEN way

Ingolstadt said:
Driven many of them. Of course, A-B its good enough. But being a sports coupe with a relatively good engine, it needs to have a more rigid body. :)

Civic EG on the other hand, is even better build than a 98-03 Accord. They lasts!

Oh i see, you just driven Putras....i thought you own one.

nuggyn said:
Oh i see, you just driven Putras....i thought you own one.

I had one parked in front of my house now, my bro helping his friend to sell. Hence... still, the same: glovebox-cannot-close-rattling-wira-look-alike-coupe.

P.s : If it weren't build that bad, it's better looking than tonnes of cars out there, for 90's Jap coupe, i'd reckon the EG Ferio coupe is the best looking, then Putra, then 22B STi. :D

if i in ur shoes... i never picking putra n also civic. those car r not really suit.

why? becoz putra 2 doors only.... 1 year eg.. u might boring of the door.
civic eg? also bad..old design..look like old car for stock cond.

better u choose another car!

sorry if i make unhappy to u guys! tq

Brother,

Owned a Putra 97 model before opting for DC2 now.

I had no complaint when i drove my putra. With a stock engine and 17 inches, it performs and behave really well. Maintanance is almost same as the previous 4g92 96 satria. With minor touch, you will have yourself a car that people will admire.
Be prepare for some minor problem such as power window, speaker board chipping, eek..eeek sound coming from the bushes, paint and trottle body gear.

Like fellow forumers, i do agree Putra is still the best option for a daily driven car.

Maintaining a Honda on the other hand, just prepare to fork out additional 20 - 40% extra from proton (especially on the drive shaft part...gosh i have change 3 times this year). But you will get the prangggggggggggg satisfaction. It is worth every single cent i dumped to that car. Talking about interior, a guess Honda still have the quality over Proton

b6 clair > stock satria > minor mod putra > minor mod dc2 > turbo putra > s15 (not yet)

2 Doors Rock

Hope this help.

hawick said:
these are the factor cause dilemma between 2 cars :frown:
...performance?
......maintenance?
.........quality?
............exterior design?
...............practicality?
..................monthly instalment? etc.
:hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:

Cannot have them all at the same time, must give and take
speaking from my personal experience...
Performance = depends on how much u wan to mod
If ur talking about stock vs stock...no matter how good vtec is...the putra wont be far behind...esp if it's the 97 batch ecu.But If you're talking bout slightly mod4g93 vs B16a..it still won't be much of a diff...due to putra has an advantage as a 1.8 car.But if you insist on highly mod car like the b20b...well the amount of money spent is almost equivalent to a VR4 transplant...no?
Maintenance = both are an old car.With the civic bout 5 yrs older.Honda's quality might be better...but think again...putra has an advantage of being at least 5 yrs younger..so again...i think it's the same...of course like many had said b4...it depends a lot on the previous owner....
Exterior Design = My choice is putra...well...a nicely done putra...not those ah beng type...and definately not stock...as for EG...i donno...but for me...it looks like a snake head to me...
Practicality = 2 doors??But putra has bigger boot...and i think EG can park easier compared to putra
Monthly installment = i dun wan to repeat it...but come to think of it...say 5 more years down the road...when u wan to sell the car...which car would have the higher value?u figure it out urself...
and one last thing though...it's extremely diff to find a 'nice' condition MANUAL putra..not in kl...donno bout EG though cos it's my good fren's car...my choice after all the rubbish i said?Putra...so...all the best to u