PVC Pipe For Your Turbo

dudes, it's quite strong, actually, they can withstand corrosion, pressure, age, but i do not know whether they'll withstand too much heat.

as far as i know, it only came in 90 degree bends which is a bit larger than the pipes themselves, and you can't get 'em in hardware stores (i think, cuz we get 'em frm a supplier).

and they're a LOT larger than your normal intercooler piping. i'm not sure if you can find any smaller, say.. 2-2.5"? but u can try lor. :biggrin:

Yeah, they are tough. Burned a 2" think grey PVC pipe with a lighter just now. Burned for 3 minutes, it gets a little white and soften at the surface only. That was just a quick test, how about endurance heating and cooling? :biggrin:

i've use a pvc pipe as adapter for air filter. After few months, the pvc shrink.
Dun think its a good idea to use.

It shrinks :hmmmm: ? I used as an end socket for my NA for about 6 months; PVC grey colour. Tomorrow i see got shrink or not~ Scary if it shrinks and pops out~ :mad:

Yeah, they are tough. Burned a 2" think grey PVC pipe with a lighter just now. Burned for 3 minutes, it gets a little white and soften at the surface only. That was just a quick test, how about endurance heating and cooling? :biggrin:

i happen to have a pic of the place where our company store the pipes we use (the black one)

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/7638/0717102822hz9.jpg

if you notice there's rolls of 'em black ones over the right far side of the caterpillar thingy.

that's how we keep 'em fer YEARS and no discoloration, no shrink etc. so i'm not worried about the endurance cuz the pipes are gonna be buried and we expect' em to last as long as we can!

so it's the engine heat i'm concerned of, cuz it's waaaay hotter than the sun's ray, aight?

PVC (PolyVinylChloride) pipes will harden and brittle under hi-temp.

Initially it looks to work well.

But after some time, the PVC will crack easily when slight impacted.

PVC pipes in our homes are still working well because they're constantly flowing water.

PVC pipes which are left dry and under hot sun will harden, brittle and crack.

If that happens inside your turbo engine, say goodbye to your turbo.

If you can find ABS (ActylButaStyrene, hope my spelliing correct) pipes, it may work though.

In fact, some automakers are starting to use ABS platic for their intake manifold.

PS : If you see coffe shop selling "Hacks" candy, the container is yellowish, brittle and cracks all over rite? That is made of PVC material.

New containers are from PET. (PolyeEhyleneTaraphatalate)

PVC pipes in our homes are still working well because they're constantly flowing water.

If you can find ABS (ActylButaStyrene, hope my spelliing correct) pipes, it may work though.

In fact, some automakers are starting to use ABS platic for their intake manifold.

PS : If you see coffe shop selling "Hacks" candy, the container is yellowish, brittle and cracks all over rite? That is made of PVC material.

what he said.:burnout:

i happen to have a pic of the place where our company store the pipes we use (the black one)

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/7638/0717102822hz9.jpg

if you notice there's rolls of 'em black ones over the right far side of the caterpillar thingy.

that's how we keep 'em fer YEARS and no discoloration, no shrink etc. so i'm not worried about the endurance cuz the pipes are gonna be buried and we expect' em to last as long as we can!

so it's the engine heat i'm concerned of, cuz it's waaaay hotter than the sun's ray, aight?

Agree bro, these pipes are tough! They are going to be burried underground :love: . Where is your workplace? Gonna do some night project. :biggrin:

i guess what they meant as the PVC pipe here in this thread are those HDPE water pipes... note that the HDPE poly pipe has 2 types.. the one with sirim and without sirim....its cheap.. one whole bloody roll of 50m will only cost u less than rm700bucks for the 3 inches PN10 pipe.. which can operate up to 10bar....

Thanks for the information bro. We are discussing about those house pipes and all sort of pipes that we can use~ :love:

Thanks bro! :love: ABS would be nice~ :itsme:

Where is your workplace? Gonna do some night project. :biggrin:

.. http://209.85.62.25/6364/148/emo/violent105ie3.gif
i'll pobably hafta ask 'em to get more dogs while they're at it.

anyway, if anyone ever decided to experiment on the pvc pie do post updates.

:biggrin:

.. http://209.85.62.25/6364/148/emo/violent105ie3.gif
i'll pobably hafta ask 'em to get more dogs while they're at it.

anyway, if anyone ever decided to experiment on the pvc pie do post updates.

:biggrin:

No worries, i'll bring lotsa doggie food for you more doggies. Will check my 6 months old house PVC pipe socket in NA engine soon~ :love:

ken,don't forget about me.i want IN too...:creep:
i want to try n make intake pipe out of it.

hks...pass the add ler....

ken,don't forget about me.i want IN too...:creep:
i want to try n make intake pipe out of it.

hks...pass the add ler....

you two GOT to be kidding me.. :burnout:

anyway i asked one of our engineers about the black pipe, in his reply he quotes:
  • very good impact resistance
  • good strength and stiffness
  • fair heat resistance
  • good chemical resistance
  • moderate price

anyway i asked one of our engineers about the black pipe, in his reply he quotes:
    [*]fair heat resistance
  • moderate price

what is the highest temp capability of this pipe???

according to him, 50 degrees (C) max.
the pipes are SIRIM approved, and gonna be installed few feet underground, where it's cool n wet. extreme heat (as in automotive-related) wuz never the main concern here.

intake temp reach ka 40~50 deg?

under hood temp should be more the 50 degree bro.aduh....:hmmmm:
tak jadi la if like that.if only the pipe can take temp of 100 degree,
i'll sure try it.

• fair heat resistance
  • moderate price

Good one bro~ :love: Last thing left is the temperature factor~ :hmmmm:

under hood temp should be more the 50 degree bro.aduh....:hmmmm:
tak jadi la if like that.if only the pipe can take temp of 100 degree,
i'll sure try it.

Normal house PVC pipe can withstand up to 210 degree celcius~ But the reliability is the problem~ :hmmmm: I checked my socket, no crack no shrink~ :biggrin:
Must test more before really going for it~ :burnout:

got to tell u guys...
i have a temp reader at my engine bay (bside the right side of my adjustable, i put it by myself for fun)..
the temp never go above 50c... i can safely say its around 45c-47c...
maybe its because of my air vent above it...

but to think abt it, the temp sensor (digital air cond/mitsu users) also doesnt show max temp at all...
most of the time around 42-43c.....

got to tell u guys...
i have a temp reader at my engine bay (bside the right side of my adjustable, i put it by myself for fun)..
the temp never go above 50c... i can safely say its around 45c-47c...
maybe its because of my air vent above it...

but to think abt it, the temp sensor (digital air cond/mitsu users) also doesnt show max temp at all...
most of the time around 42-43c.....

WOW~ :adore: Temperature reader in engine bay~ Nice nice~ :biggrin:

Thanks for the information bro~ :love:

What reader did you use? Mind to share?:adore:

i just put 2 temp probe in my engine intercooler pipes.
1st temp before intercooler (put inside piping at inlet). another 2nd temp after ic, but at tb inlet.

if driving normally, 1st temp about 50c. 2nd temp lower than 50c (~45c).
while boosting the 1st temp rises up to ~80c. 2nd temp usually ~20~25c colder than 1st temp.

this is on current weather, cold/rainy.