http://www.grassracingautosports.com/grassforum/index.php?topic=425.135

hot topic....!!!!!! panas, panas

Congrats to the winners~!!!!

Bad condition.. my driveshaft kong.. but did enjoy the sliding.. hehehe =p

nothing to say liauuuuu laa me .. all oso been spoken liauu .. hahahhaahaa

Yeah!! It was running thru my mind too.

What is the BIGGER AND BETTER PRIZES?

I am also wondering.

I believe a lot of drivers also put in a lot of energy to fight for championship positions. A lot are unseen, but only the drivers themselves will know. I really respect those who drive in from out stations to compete. Bravo to them all!!

yalorr ... last year missed out by a few point in overall standings coz no $$$ to accomodate those extra outstation expenditures ... this year mati mati jimat go but end up like this ... haaaizz .. was pretty disappointed laaa ...

if it is like this, then what happend to all of your investment throughout the championship? burn like that only aa?

lightningfield said:
if it is like this, then what happend to all of your investment throughout the championship? burn like that only aa?

yalorr ... can consider like that lorr ... spend $$$ on travel & makan tido outstation ... plus buy semi sliks for car .. repairs on higher wear and tear .. few thousand gone liauu ... can be considered payment for those trophies lorrr ..

y dont u guys sell your winning trophies in ebay..at least can get some money kan? eater as well, pewter manyak mahaii wooo. hahahahaa j/k guys..

QiW said:
yalorr ... can consider like that lorr ... spend $$$ on travel & makan tido outstation ... plus buy semi sliks for car .. repairs on higher wear and tear .. few thousand gone liauu ... can be considered payment for those trophies lorrr ..

sifoo alan no mix up in trophy this year ka?

keep your "cup" properly don't use to store house keys like some other TA champs ok. :P

now oso looking at where to put those trophies liauuu .. wife already sound liauuu .. taking up space in her cupboards .. hehehe ... maybe just put in box laaa later ...

Dear All..

Unless you haven't realised, since the TA was linked up to D1GP Malaysia this year, TA has been relegated to "2nd-class citizens", for which Faisal, Gary, and myself have contested against. We have fought very hard to even get any ounce of respect from the organisers and promoters.

This goes to explain why we were shoved to Carpark N for the last 2 rounds in Shah Alam. This explains why in Rnd1, Time Attack prize giving was not given the respect of a proper podium and quiet by the D1GP organisers.. do remember that? Do you remember that they didn't even want to let you guys into the kart track compound for prize giving, and Faisal nearly got into a punch-up with the jokers at the gate.

This is why the course in Danga Bay was what it was, as we had to negotiate around the D1 course. And this is also why there no longer are any companies that, althought they showed support to sponsor prizes earlier this year, did not materialise as the pomp and glamour went to D1GP and TA has been left with the short end of the stick.

Admittedly, we haven't even delivered on last year's voucher on the racing suits to last year's champions..

For this year, R3 ourselves have sponsored the championship prizes and and managed to get approved: Vouchers for R3 parts worth almost RM 10,000 in total to the top3 in all the classes. Alas, other sponsors are no longer interested, having taken their $$$ elsewhere.

It is for this reason that next year we will take back the Time Attack and hold it close to our chest: we started it, it got taken away from us and butchered, but now it is ours again and we will make sure it runs properly for 2007. There is no more association with D1GP and it will be wholly organised and managed by R3 again.

This is why, the entry fee will remain at RM 100 and won't go up. Also, we have committed and submitted to AAM 6 dates for next year's championship.

We aren't getting anything from running Time Attack: it does not make any money, nor does it get much mention in magazines and papers. We don't get any extra pay, and in fact management do not want to support it next year. We do it because it's a good event which everyone looks forwards to and wants to participate in.

However, we will still run it on it's own, whether or not it's officially called "R3 time attack" or just "time attack by the R3 boys"... if you get what I mean. Time Attack is in danger of dying, but we're going to do our best to ensure it runs.

The entry fee literally covers the cost of the event. As other organisers of similar events will attest, it is not cheap to run.

If we promised "bigger better prizes" for this year, then we were lead astray. As I said above, unfortunately it didn't work out and the support didn't materilise. The regulations however, do not state any promise by us that there will be any prizes save for trophies, as these are the regulations for a Club-level event.

The saving grace is that as R3 is so involved in all sorts of things, usually Time Attack champions always get first choice of preference when it comes to special occasions ie when the MME selection drive was created from this year onwards, we opted to push for selection from Time Attack Champions. And we will continue to do the same. Time Attack Champions will always get top priority for special gifts and niceties from R3: because they have earned it and deserve it!

I cannot promise you anything now on this, but you can trust that something special will materialise as long as we are running the show.

As for the other competitors, I beleive that everyone joined for the spirit of competition ie to see who was the bigger kahuna. In that respect, you're all champions for making the effort!

frankly guys, I'm very very disappointed to read all the comments on "prizes" here, especially from the people i know personally(you know who you are).

I have volunteered my own personal time to help R3 on these events for quite some time now. I do not get paid a single cent, and receive no recognition for it. I do so for the love of the sport, and the desire to help provide an outlet for enthusiasts. I would rather be a competitor and driving myself any day, than organising an event, but somehow, I've recognised that it is far better to be providing something for many than to be doing something just for myself.

Yes, R3 might have promised bigger prizes, but the intention to do so is based out of their own desire to provide these prizes to benefit their competitors.
Unfortunately, this year, many things have transpired that are out of their control, which has led to no BIG PRIZES this year. There was even the possibility of the recent event being cancelled, but R3 decided to go ahead anyway, and bear the consequences themselves. The "promise of prizes" in the webpage is an oversight. I do not believe R3 was out to "deceive" you people.

Also, incase you don't know, or have forgotten, R3 or Proton does not make a single cent out of running the TA series. In fact, it is purely an event run to benefit enthusiasts like yourself, to get a taste of motorsports and competition. Each year, almost RM300,000 is spent on average to make this series a reality. Proton and R3 are the main, and only monetary sponsor. R3 staff also do not need to run this event. It is not part of their job scope. in fact, management has no interest to continue this event at all.

If entering R3TA just to win "big prizes" is your ultimate goal, then I will suggest that you not enter anymore, as unfortunately, R3 cannot promise "bigger prizes" at this point of time. we apologise for that.

Ok.. here's some info. I wasn't at the prize giving ceremony, so in the hustle-and-bustle our side forgot to mention the R3 Vouchers to the top-3 winners of each class. RM 800 for 1st, RM 500 for 2nd, and RM 300 for 3rd.

All winners, pls contact Faisal (016 262 4299) or Amin (016 229 8717) to collect your vouchers.

/adian

Just SMS your full name & home address to the numbers above and we'll get it posted out.

But I'm sure there will still be complaints.. it's human nature

The R3 Vouchers are for Top 3 championship winners or R3TA round 5 winners??

I know some ppl will think this is stupid question, but just like to make sure!

I believe that the ultimate goal to compete in autox is the interest in motorsports.
Prizes r secondary...but of course the more the merrier.
What we want is just an explanation...coz as competitors, we really dont know whats goin on on the organizers side.
We r not demanding for something that never existed.
But naturally ppl do get disappointed after seeing "bigger prizes" n yet getting nothing at the end of the day.
If R3 were to announce that due to unforeseen circumstances, there will not b prizes this year...then there will b no issue at all.
We r not saying that we r being deceived...just need an EXPLAINATION...thats all.

Just like if your boss were to suddenly cut your commission without informing, u will b disappointed...but if he were to announce in advance that its part of cost cutting exercise, u will accept it.
Thats the difference here.

I really agree that you guys really did a fantastic job in running this event n u guys already have the recognition from autocrossers n also forummers here.

So finally...i think this issue has already been resolved.
My rear view mirror always tells me that Adian is the fairest of them all...snow white is old news!

The prize are just like a reward to us, i believe that the prizes are nothing compare to what most of us have to spend on our car to for this type of event for the whole year.

like what Fork have just mention......all we need is an explaination......
Dont just keep quiet and hope everybody had forgotten about it. We as a normal human behavior for sure there is complaint if we dont get any explaination. The best is explain before not after.

I believe if there is no prizes and chekai throphy an auto-x lover will still join for the thrill or excitement.....
(there will be an event if there is COMPETITORS)

adian said:
Dear All..
Unless you haven't realised, since the TA was linked up to D1GP Malaysia this year, TA has been relegated to "2nd-class citizens", for which Faisal, Gary, and myself have contested against. We have fought very hard to even get any ounce of respect from the organisers and promoters.

This goes to explain why we were shoved to Carpark N for the last 2 rounds in Shah Alam. This explains why in Rnd1, Time Attack prize giving was not given the respect of a proper podium and quiet by the D1GP organisers.. do remember that? Do you remember that they didn't even want to let you guys into the kart track compound for prize giving, and Faisal nearly got into a punch-up with the jokers at the gate.

This is why the course in Danga Bay was what it was, as we had to negotiate around the D1 course. And this is also why there no longer are any companies that, althought they showed support to sponsor prizes earlier this year, did not materialise as the pomp and glamour went to D1GP and TA has been left with the short end of the stick.

yup, i know the behind the scene politics & the relegation by *am....x* of Time Attack in relation to D1.
we know, & again i would like to thank adain, faisal, gary & the guys behind the scene.

adian said:
For this year, R3 ourselves have sponsored the championship prizes and and managed to get approved: Vouchers for R3 parts worth almost RM 10,000 in total to the top3 in all the classes. Alas, other sponsors are no longer interested, having taken their $$$ elsewhere.

It is for this reason that next year we will take back the Time Attack and hold it close to our chest: we started it, it got taken away from us and butchered, but now it is ours again and we will make sure it runs properly for 2007. There is no more association with D1GP and it will be wholly organised and managed by R3 again.

open for suggestion to make it more lively/involved? open to the floor? I like the outstation trips, yes they are more heavy on the pocket (hotels, food an all) but it serves up the experience. 15-20 years from now, you can tell you kid how a naughty father you have been in those trips...opss, how enjoyable those outstation experiences.

adian said:
We aren't getting anything from running Time Attack: it does not make any money, nor does it get much mention in magazines and papers. We don't get any extra pay, and in fact management do not want to support it next year. We do it because it's a good event which everyone looks forwards to and wants to participate in.
getting mentioned in magazine it does, yes. i dont think it will be neglected. at least i know some local mags makes the effort.

adian said:
However, we will still run it on it's own, whether or not it's officially called "R3 time attack" or just "time attack by the R3 boys"... if you get what I mean. Time Attack is in danger of dying, but we're going to do our best to ensure it runs.

The entry fee literally covers the cost of the event. As other organisers of similar events will attest, it is not cheap to run.

If we promised "bigger better prizes" for this year, then we were lead astray. As I said above, unfortunately it didn't work out and the support didn't materilise. The regulations however, do not state any promise by us that there will be any prizes save for trophies, as these are the regulations for a Club-level event.
The saving grace is that as R3 is so involved in all sorts of things, usually Time Attack champions always get first choice of preference when it comes to special occasions ie when the MME selection drive was created from this year onwards, we opted to push for selection from Time Attack Champions.
i did enjoyed the open invitation to track along with R3 guys in sepang & get a seat to be driven by R3 track masters. I think this little thing adds up the whole experience.

adian said:
And we will continue to do the same. Time Attack Champions will always get top priority for special gifts and niceties from R3: because they have earned it and deserve it!
proton owners rejoice!!

adian said:
I cannot promise you anything now on this, but you can trust that something special will materialise as long as we are running the show.
As for the other competitors, I beleive that everyone joined for the spirit of competition ie to see who was the bigger kahuna. In that respect, you're all champions for making the effort!

have a variety or something unexpected form the usual race. (more spectator friendly, etc) , its about the spirit of competing. maybe shoving ballast for previous round winners to make it more competitive? ala super gt style? (it might sound silly but em looking at ways to make it very involved/competive/fun for all)

getting a R3 car drive aside getting podium (been done before but worth repeating) etc.

THANKs...

Now i would be getting my racing suit from R3 finally...!!!! woo HOO!!!...i am glad..thanks....

the winners that should be getting the suit too, Hammond, Mike Yap, Ho WK, Ivan and ME!!!