R3 Time Attack 5dot6 - Shah Alam

Yes, well done to the organisers. Next year the Kookaburra will be back, but no more Golf GTI. Alas, Mike Yap has also sold off his Golf GTI. The 2 of us may share a car next year (a jap), leaving eoj the sole rep for the Golf GTI.

Sadly, we all saw how the TA was the big event back in the Proton test track days to the "side show" that it is today. Big round of applause to the R3 guys for keeping it alive.

Fork Sports,
i'm w u in dis 1.....an explanation is good n i think to those who followed thru out d championship really deserve one....so,it seems an explanation has already been given n seasoned autocrosser like u haf accepted,so does dis mean dis case is close?if so,i dun haf much 2 say as i'm a noobie.....
din really get 2 enjoy it coz my car broke down....just sad was not given enuff time 2 get it fixed & at least come back 4 Timed Run 3.......but like wat i heard sum1 sed,dis is racing......so i accept my faith....

n just wanna touch on a lil matter...i just dun think dis event is sorta spectator frenly....coz frm my point of view,d spot right in front of d organizer's tent IS d best viewing spot 4 spectators.......but its blocking d organizer's view.....abit susah lor......but watta heck?no one's perfect.....any motorsports event is better thn none.....c u guys in d final round of GRA....

ps:my car is up on d hoist,AGAIN!!!!...damn!hahahahhaha

akuma, thanks for your support.
like wat i said, im speaking from a neutral ground.
anyway...i was confident that Adian...the wise one...will give a logical answer instead of playing tai-chi n pointing fingers saying that competitors r so demanding in terms of prizes.

i totally agree with clement...the value of the prizes in all the autocrosses event are far from the amount of investment we spent to prepare our own cars.

thats the true meaning of the phrase "for the love of motorsports".
but of course if there r prizes at stake, we shall not b denied of them without a decent explaination.
just that plain simple...

so lets put this issue behind...n look forward for R3TA 2007!
drivers...start prepping up your cars!!!
however....do put those semi-slicks on hold
hehehe

"do put those semi-slicks on hold"---->*mumble* *mumble* *mumble*...hehehehehehhe

Quote from: faisal on Today at 08:08:37 AM
R3 spent RM1.9 Million on our Exige 300RR.

Wining 2 MME in a row only gained us RM90k.

Your thousands pales in comparison..........

my reply,

1.9mil...double WOW :omg_smile: :omg_smile:
wait...maybe i should fake a faint or something like that.
like i mentioned in zth...
1.9mil out of revenue of at least 10bil is just 0.019%

we autocrossers' average investment in R3TA alone...per year... is about 3% of our annual income.
u do the maths!!!
that means if we were to run EXIGE in the same scale...we'd b spending 300mil :sarcastic:
thats approximately 175 times more in terms of equal scale :Not_Impressed:
now tell me about being pale :X-:

Quote from: faisal on Today at 04:32:37 PM
Gareth @ Benzer,
Since you replied to me directly earlier, my reply to you is as Gary's.
Don't enter. Save your hard earned money and spent your time elsewhere. I'm sure you wouldn't want you waste your time in R3TA anymore since the prizes aren't enough to satisfy your craving hunger for Prizes.

my reply,

as an organizer...im sad 2 say that it's quite unprofessional for making statements like this to participants :sad_smile:
We r not demanding for something which does not exist.
If u have made a mistake somewhere, just b a little bit more humble n explain in a professional manner.
Its really unfair to just point fingers n make negative remarks towards participants :baring_teeth:
Up till now...i think no one has made any direct negative remarks bout R3 on this issue...which shows that we really appreciate R3 n the efforts from R3

Quote from: faisal on Today at 04:41:15 PM
So you have now shown your true colours. Only care about what you can receive but not about what others have done to provide for you.

Unless i'm much mistaken it's only at R3TA 4dot6 in august 06 did you actually finished 1st in an autocross. But of course all you remember is not that First Win but the fact is NO BIG PRIZES .

I feel sad for you.

my reply,

your interpretation of showing true colors is actually just being frank. the amount of effort R3 has put in is really indescribable...in other words...priceless. but thats really besides the point...here.

The fact that every1 will remember "NO BIG PRIZES" is when u announced bout it early this year but kept quiet thoughout the prize giving ceremony.

Let me remind u again that we r not demanding 4 something that never existed. We were merely reminding u of something which was made known to all of us earlier this year which u chose to ignore.

yes, we definitely feel sad too...but the difference is...we dont feel sad for anyone...just sad that things were not made clear in the beginning :confused_smile:
luckily for U, there's Adian around to make the correct statements with the right words n right attitude.

adian said:
Dear All..

Unless you haven't realised, since the TA was linked up to D1GP Malaysia this year, TA has been relegated to "2nd-class citizens", for which Faisal, Gary, and myself have contested against. We have fought very hard to even get any ounce of respect from the organisers and promoters.

This goes to explain why we were shoved to Carpark N for the last 2 rounds in Shah Alam. This explains why in Rnd1, Time Attack prize giving was not given the respect of a proper podium and quiet by the D1GP organisers.. do remember that? Do you remember that they didn't even want to let you guys into the kart track compound for prize giving, and Faisal nearly got into a punch-up with the jokers at the gate.

This is why the course in Danga Bay was what it was, as we had to negotiate around the D1 course. And this is also why there no longer are any companies that, althought they showed support to sponsor prizes earlier this year, did not materialise as the pomp and glamour went to D1GP and TA has been left with the short end of the stick.

Admittedly, we haven't even delivered on last year's voucher on the racing suits to last year's champions..

For this year, R3 ourselves have sponsored the championship prizes and and managed to get approved: Vouchers for R3 parts worth almost RM 10,000 in total to the top3 in all the classes. Alas, other sponsors are no longer interested, having taken their $$$ elsewhere.

It is for this reason that next year we will take back the Time Attack and hold it close to our chest: we started it, it got taken away from us and butchered, but now it is ours again and we will make sure it runs properly for 2007. There is no more association with D1GP and it will be wholly organised and managed by R3 again.

This is why, the entry fee will remain at RM 100 and won't go up. Also, we have committed and submitted to AAM 6 dates for next year's championship.

We aren't getting anything from running Time Attack: it does not make any money, nor does it get much mention in magazines and papers. We don't get any extra pay, and in fact management do not want to support it next year. We do it because it's a good event which everyone looks forwards to and wants to participate in.

However, we will still run it on it's own, whether or not it's officially called "R3 time attack" or just "time attack by the R3 boys"... if you get what I mean. Time Attack is in danger of dying, but we're going to do our best to ensure it runs.

The entry fee literally covers the cost of the event. As other organisers of similar events will attest, it is not cheap to run.

If we promised "bigger better prizes" for this year, then we were lead astray. As I said above, unfortunately it didn't work out and the support didn't materilise. The regulations however, do not state any promise by us that there will be any prizes save for trophies, as these are the regulations for a Club-level event.

The saving grace is that as R3 is so involved in all sorts of things, usually Time Attack champions always get first choice of preference when it comes to special occasions ie when the MME selection drive was created from this year onwards, we opted to push for selection from Time Attack Champions. And we will continue to do the same. Time Attack Champions will always get top priority for special gifts and niceties from R3: because they have earned it and deserve it!

I cannot promise you anything now on this, but you can trust that something special will materialise as long as we are running the show.

As for the other competitors, I beleive that everyone joined for the spirit of competition ie to see who was the bigger kahuna. In that respect, you're all champions for making the effort!

At last, we get a proper explanation from R3. Just like ForkSport said if the explanation was done earlier to everybody, I am sure many would have understand and appreciate what R3 has done for the community. The explanation should have come much earlier and not after the community said something. Come on la.... we are all human. We all make mistake. The only thing that we need is just an explanation. As simple as that.

All this R3 hammering thingy happenned because the autoX community was kept in the dark. People felt cheated coz they assumed all this while the "BIGGER PRIZES" are coming their way. Top 5 winners were hoping for something on the grand day and they walked off with nothing except a couple of good quality trophies and with NO explanation or whatsoever from R3. R3 cant blame them for blowing their tops in the forums.

Yes..... I must say that some forummers were not so nice in their postings to R3. But..... thats because they felt "cheated" with no proper explanation (which should've done from Round 2) and they get accused for "I RACE FOR PRIZES" instead. This could be avoided if things were to be handled professionally.

Thanks Adian for the explanation. The community needed that. I feel much better now after reading your explanation.

Thanks R3 for bringing this wonderful event to us.

thanx for the explanation . n really appriciate what R3 hav done to local grassroot motorsport . most of the forumer hav said what i want to say . for me , the BIGGER PRIZES is just a bonus , not the main thing for me to join R3TA . but if u hav promised den u hav to do it..thats the point . after the explanation , i can understand what R3 hav do . Thanx. n hope R3TA can b bigger n better in 2007 . :) cheers...

despite all this,

my team and i will continue to race in the R3TA series. Thanks Adian, Gary, Faisal and numerous unsung heroes for making our passions a reality.

Fork Sports said:
Quote from: faisal on Today at 04:32:37 PM
Gareth @ Benzer,
Since you replied to me directly earlier, my reply to you is as Gary's.
Don't enter. Save your hard earned money and spent your time elsewhere. I'm sure you wouldn't want you waste your time in R3TA anymore since the prizes aren't enough to satisfy your craving hunger for Prizes.

my reply,

as an organizer...im sad 2 say that it's quite unprofessional for making statements like this to participants :sad_smile:
We r not demanding for something which does not exist.
If u have made a mistake somewhere, just b a little bit more humble n explain in a professional manner.
Its really unfair to just point fingers n make negative remarks towards participants :baring_teeth:
Up till now...i think no one has made any direct negative remarks bout R3 on this issue...which shows that we really appreciate R3 n the efforts from R3

Quote from: faisal on Today at 04:41:15 PM
So you have now shown your true colours. Only care about what you can receive but not about what others have done to provide for you.

Unless i'm much mistaken it's only at R3TA 4dot6 in august 06 did you actually finished 1st in an autocross. But of course all you remember is not that First Win but the fact is NO BIG PRIZES .

I feel sad for you.

my reply,

your interpretation of showing true colors is actually just being frank. the amount of effort R3 has put in is really indescribable...in other words...priceless. but thats really besides the point...here.

The fact that every1 will remember "NO BIG PRIZES" is when u announced bout it early this year but kept quiet thoughout the prize giving ceremony.

Let me remind u again that we r not demanding 4 something that never existed. We were merely reminding u of something which was made known to all of us earlier this year which u chose to ignore.

yes, we definitely feel sad too...but the difference is...we dont feel sad for anyone...just sad that things were not made clear in the beginning :confused_smile:
luckily for U, there's Adian around to make the correct statements with the right words n right attitude
Forksports, Thanks You for bringing my comments out from GRA forum here. How kind of you. Maybe you might want to post it on Autoworld, R3 Forum, Drift.com and elsewhere to show what a REAL BASTARD I am?

BTW in my earlier reply it was Adian's words not mine. But yet I get the blazing barrels. So yeah Adian is Snow White while I'm the Bad cop,whatever I say. What else is new?

Strange that Gary was the first to say "Not enter anymore" and I was only agreeing with him that I should bear the Brunt of your attack.

It seems everything I say is ammo for you.

So my question is, did I wrong you in a past life? Did I run down your little puppy when you were a child? Did I inadvertadly overtook you on one of my track day outing is my 20yr old underpowered classic?

I don't understand how the promised prizes can be my personal fault. I just relate what I've been informed. In case you must know in TA my job is Competitor Registration/Info, Data/Time acqusition, Overall Event Operation. Prizes Acqusition were not my responsibility. Never was.

On a personal note, I'd rather be anywhere else on Saturday morning.

Maybe I can tell Adian he can Run TA by himself, as I've lost interest. I could think of many better things to do on a Friday nite & Saturday...

Guys,
We've been in our own little community for so long... so to all who've been playing warcraft on this forum lately, please... let's make love, not make war :angel_smile: . I guess we've all learned something new over the weekend, which is not racing but "Managing Expectations" :_: That's wat's all it's cracked up to be. So are we all happy campers now?

I hope that the R3 Time Attack series will continue to grow in strength n size for i know that most ppl doing the time attack really do it for the love of racing, except for 1 guy hahaha. Anyway, u guys r the pioneer.

Let's sidetrack a bit here : Let's compare at some past n present : Back in 2004 when the guys at R3 first started TA, there were at least 20 blokes managing the event. They're so experienced at handling it now, that there's only the familiar Faisal, Gary (trophies giving time , hahaha:_: ), Adian, Amin, on management side, and on operations, Zairi, Suhaimi, Shahril, Delloyd (chubby checkers) and rest of the guys at R3, totals not more than 10. I don't think there's any other team to run a time attack as efficiently as these guys. Furthermore, these are also the guys who've helped me out during MME recently. On the competitors' side, when SSO first started, the more experienced rally drivers normally triumphs in any class. Nowadays, all time attack drivers are getting so competitive nowadays that it really boils down to what equipment one has in his car, i.e. lsd, lightweight, tires, suspension, power, alignment etc. I can safely say that a 1st timer (even experienced track or rally driver) joining time attack, driving a stock standard car will not b able to beat any guys in the top 3 of any class (yikes i hope you live up to it). This is all experience over the years. My point is, with all this, let's not kill the sport, instead, make it bigger. An example : Back in the 80's Malaysian rallying was much much popular than what it is today. We've heard of the then big names like YSKhong, Tengku Mahaleel, Yoong Yin Fah, William Mei, etc. Then, some money matters happenned, and it has gone downhill since. Let's not make autocross another casualty. So how big can we make this? - In Japan, I was told that a gymkhana event can draw a total of 170 participants over a 2 day event! In US, the SCCA rulebook for autocross is almost 300 pages long - and that's before the race. For those who love racing, it is up to us to make it.

OK, back to topic proper - So, being in the community let's all work together to make R3TA2007 a much bigger success than previous years. Some suggestions to R3 for 2007 : Bring back the team event; Have an FTD title, Create an open class; Have a round in the proton oval track; Have a new class for cars that have 2.0VTEChatchbackcar2doorallstrippedoutsemislick :_: haha fat chance.
An R3TA event still has close to 80 participants in EACH round!!! And since we all know each other, it will be interesting to see who will change to what car next year.

Last but not least, to all the winners, congratulations. To R3, again, u have done a great job despite the limitations. There may b some ppl who really doesn't have the clear picture, but it's clear now. I'm sure running it standalone next season will be much better, as I've experienced it in MME. We're all grownups, wat's a little dark sky n awan jahat, heh. :regular_smile:

minyak sudah naik...prize went up already...what to do...
some racer didn't win what, but some of thier name are all stated in history...
"R3TA...waaaa...that fella...eater_EG6 sure sifoo one...sure fast..."
"wahhh this tom's guy his rival..."
"wahhh this fellar 3 legged car..."
heeee and many more...for mee it's for fun and getting the feeling...want a bigger prize, then get 1st place loorr...:_:

for sure when thing really got famous, all sorts of people, all sorts of complaining will come in...time changed, iether getting better or getting worse...join or don't join in...it's the fact...when thing got famous, a lot of things have to be done, got to hire more marshall, got to do this and that...but the fee remain the same...like R3 ppl said, they will do something on it...so for me i'll wait, all i can see...the WINNERS are getting more prizes then for those who's not winning...sooo get your ass up in the podium to win some...it's not cheap to get sponsor to play in MME maaaa...:cry_smile:

BTW : where's the R3 pictures aaaa...anyone...?

KillerB, I salute you. Spoken like a true champion who sees the big picture.

I think in the midst of questioning the organisers and demanding our prizes and what not, we've all forgotten why we participate in the first place - to compete and to have fun. Prizes are, like eater_eg6 said, "a bonus".

Let's look forward to R3TA 2007 with renewed vigour and confidence. Support this event with passion, just as how the organisers have run it all this while - with passion!

yah... lets make R3TA better n bigger . . . nak sampai bila our autocross can as big as gymkhana in japan ? ? :P

Crash said:
KillerB, I salute you. Spoken like a true champion who sees the big picture.

crash , KillerB betul betul true champion lar.... so v din c what he can c mar.... hehehehehe... :P

no thanks...i only log into zth n gra forum. i disagree that u r a real b*****d.

yes...u r the Bad Cop with a good heart...hahaha

yes...gary did mention dont enter...but it was a general remark whereas u did a personal one.

everything i say is the fact...right from the heart...not bullets.

nope...i dont remember my past life at all. i dont have a puppy when i was a kid. i seldom go track racing...even if i did...there were too many cars which overtook me...didnt bother to remember.

well...like i said...i find your reply to gareth quite personal...so i just reply only lor. Im sorry if i had offended u in any way.
ok so prizes r not your jobscope...so maybe u gotta b more calculative with your employer on the jobscope...hahaha...just joking
but wat i've written here so far (except for replying to your reply to gareth) are fairly made statements...
like wat ive said right from the beginning...read with an open mind as i m standing on neutral ground.

on your personal note...i think it would b somehow less interesting if u r not around during R3TA.

so since the explaination has been made...i think there is nothing else to talk about on this topic.

Drivers doing battle for next year, unless someone else can do something about it :
1.3 : Chan Yau Koon, Ian Khong, Asriyadi
1.6 : Christopher Chin, Galen, Ho WK, Ho Wai Hoe, Clement, Chee Wah,
1.8 : Soo, Julian, Gareth, Ivan & Ian, Vernie Man, Stan, Alvin Lim :omg_smile:
2.0 : William, Allan, Mike Yap, Teoh Joe Ming, n yours truly
Above 2.5 & Turbo : Mickey & Ricky, Mike Ng, Teoh Jon Tatt evo 6, Ivan Khong, Prozac, and hope that Gary wil bring in his 2.8 litre hahaha.
Sportscar : Mickey (yes, again), Dominic, Marcus Chye?, Mr. Oh KB, Dennis, Johnson, not forgetting MK (founder of the Curb Climbers' Club, aaahahahaha)

Looks like a good balance. All the best!

We should all be so lucky that a few blokes decided to revive the grassroots scene back in 2004. Up until 2003, grassroots events are few and far in between, you can count them on one hand.

I say do whatever it takes to keep the scene and events alive. If it means cutting down on prizes then so be it. I'd rather have mementoes and memories than not have an event to drive at all.

ok .. topic closed ... next year got 6 rounds weeiii .. hahahhahaaaa ..