Review: Q8 Oils

I plan to change in my next service.
I stay in Penang.
My current oil is Mobil 1 5w/40

Please give recommendation on place and availability of oil here. Thanks.

tibun...u also want arr..hehe...im asking also...hehe.....yeah....wat car u drive...2moro nite will u go....go lah....i just know u...u r the 1st ppl i tok with ler..hehe... :tee:

Just to share my Q8 Oil experience

I am a Q8 semi synthetic user. Previously, I was using other top brand of semi-synthetic oil.

I used my car daily and I do trash my car in autocross events regularly. I would say that Q8 is on par if not better than other top brand semi-synthetic that I used before. I switched to Q8 because it is proven in various types races before.

Go for it guys.

wah julian pang...1st in class b,c,d in Grass Racing Autocross Round 1 wor...all diff car r u drive?cun man...1st in so many class....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v432/ahmadizan/IMGP0225resize.jpg

hks is good,but Q8 much better for me :biggrin:

MiTec-i said:
wah julian pang...1st in class b,c,d in Grass Racing Autocross Round 1 wor...all diff car r u drive?cun man...1st in so many class....

I was driving the same 1.6 Wira to enter class B and 2 other upper classes. Luckily, the car made it through all the class and nothing broke. I was afraid that it wouldnt last but it made it.

That time, I was running on Q8 semi-synthetic. Q8 oil worked well that day for me.

wah...u damn gaya la...all oso diff class oso u win...chun man
good driving skill la...

TiBuN said:
I plan to change in my next service.
I stay in Penang.
My current oil is Mobil 1 5w/40

Please give recommendation on place and availability of oil here. Thanks.

You can call Mr. Tang from Q8 Oils and ask him where you can get it in Penang. His number is 012-3034378. Please post the shop name after you talk to Mr.Tang.

i have been using Q8 for close to a year now. Initially F1 and now also using the Synthetic T670 5-40 in my other car. While i am very happy with the oil, I am more concern about the prices.

up to 6 months ago, i could still get Q8F1 for Rm155 for 4 litres. After that RM40 a litre. Now they are going for RM43, rm42, RM44, Rm46 and NO I HEARD RM47 per litre.

very soon, due to the popularity and advertisement, i think it may go even more.

Point is, is there any standard price for this oil? WHO DETERMINES THE PRICE? IT IS VERY CLEAR THAT THERE ARE CERTAIN PARTIES TRYING TO MAKE EXTRA PROFIT HERE. of course, the usual story goes, oil price increase la, cheaper than MOBIL 1 la, this and that. what bullshit.

LASTLY, i am a little fedup with the differences in prices and WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHICH PLACE GIVES THE BEST PRICE in the KLANG VALLEY. WHO IS THE OFFICIAL DISTRIBUTOR IN THE KLANG VALLEY?

if the price is so inconsistent, i may switch to Royal Purple.

the price only Increase RM3 compare to old price since October/November......my fren told me

should be RM43-45 like tat in market if not mistaken (vary from place n seller)....

aircooled said:
i have been using Q8 for close to a year now. Initially F1 and now also using the Synthetic T670 5-40 in my other car. While i am very happy with the oil, I am more concern about the prices.

up to 6 months ago, i could still get Q8F1 for Rm155 for 4 litres. After that RM40 a litre. Now they are going for RM43, rm42, RM44, Rm46 and NO I HEARD RM47 per litre.

very soon, due to the popularity and advertisement, i think it may go even more.

Point is, is there any standard price for this oil? WHO DETERMINES THE PRICE? IT IS VERY CLEAR THAT THERE ARE CERTAIN PARTIES TRYING TO MAKE EXTRA PROFIT HERE. of course, the usual story goes, oil price increase la, cheaper than MOBIL 1 la, this and that. what bullshit.

LASTLY, i am a little fedup with the differences in prices and WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHICH PLACE GIVES THE BEST PRICE in the KLANG VALLEY. WHO IS THE OFFICIAL DISTRIBUTOR IN THE KLANG VALLEY?

if the price is so inconsistent, i may switch to Royal Purple.

more questions

1. Any reason for the increase? because other brand also increase or because Q8 in Leeds also increased the price?

2. Or is it the distributor, i am not sure who and which is the official one, having seen the oil is getting more popular, trying to make more profit?

3. RM43- to RM45? why the RM2 difference? where does the difference come from? what is the cost of the F1. Does the Rm1 and Rm3 difference go to the so called independent suppliers?

4. How bout T670 5-40. How much is it officially for 4 litres? I am paying Rm145. Some are selling for RM149.

5. i used to buy the Q8 coolant for Rm20. Now i am payign RM25 and there are some shops selling for RM27 just because it is a "PERFORMANCE" ITEM.

i am really pissed off with these type of business attitude. If it is RM43 it will be RM43 and I personally see no reason why the other shop should charge RM45. i have seen people charging RM46 a litre as well.

these bastards can go to hell.

edited.............

aircooled said:
more questions

1. Any reason for the increase? because other brand also increase or because Q8 in Leeds also increased the price?
other brands motor oil such as Esso,Bp,Caltex,Shell ll increased the price in Jan/Feb 2005 due to fuel price raised up...Q8 didnt raise at tat time coz they stil can afford to bear the expenses, Q8 increased the price recently(Rm3 i think) to cover the expenses only....beh tahan oledi.....tis is wat the distri told me

2. Or is it the distributor, i am not sure who and which is the official one, having seen the oil is getting more popular, trying to make more profit? distributors wont try to get extra money la..dealers perhaps.

3. RM43- to RM45? why the RM2 difference? where does the difference come from? what is the cost of the F1. Does the Rm1 and Rm3 difference go to the so called independent suppliers? diferences in price is depends where u get n who u get from......

4. How bout T670 5-40. How much is it officially for 4 litres? I am paying Rm145. Some are selling for RM149. tis i not sure....i nvr sell tis..hehe

5. i used to buy the Q8 coolant for Rm20. Now i am payign RM25 and there are some shops selling for RM27 just because it is a "PERFORMANCE" ITEM. - rm25 is market price a..u get rm20 maybe is fren price o old price

i am really pissed off with these type of business attitude. If it is RM43 it will be RM43 and I personally see no reason why the other shop should charge RM45. i have seen people charging RM46 a litre as well. - eg, u buy a pack of maggi in Carrefour for RM3,doesnt mean u get tis price at Jusco,Tesco,giant o even Macro....u get my mean?> juz my example

Many Thanx huakenny,

can you tell me the address of the Q8 ditributor then in KL. I think in Damansara right?

i will go there directly and buy. Why the fug should i pay extra for dealers.

Yes, your maggi story is true. but this is engine oil we are talking. It should b a controlled item and i see no reason for dealers to make profit.

it could also be a prob started from the distributor. They should give these dealers a special price so that they can sell it at a fixed price but yet still make some money.

in Kepong la i think...there is a memberselling Q8 in zth,recently selling in 'engine n performance'....u can source him out n ask for price....may cheaper..

aircooled said:
Many Thanx huakenny,

can you tell me the address of the Q8 ditributor then in KL. I think in Damansara right?

i will go there directly and buy. Why the fug should i pay extra for dealers.

Yes, your maggi story is true. but this is engine oil we are talking. It should b a controlled item and i see no reason for dealers to make profit.

it could also be a prob started from the distributor. They should give these dealers a special price so that they can sell it at a fixed price but yet still make some money.

I think RM2 or RM3 different in pricing for Q8 oil is very well under control, if u search around for other type of oil, u will find out pricing different is much more than that.

I believe those dealer whom sell it at RM45 per liter is the RRP price (RM45) not markup the price, just some of them didnt follow the RRP & sell lower (RM43), so you can't blame them whom follow the RRP price (they are not selling in higher price)

Just my 2cent.

I think the marketing team for Q8 have to work harder, I have been inquiring where to get this oil for my ride previously and have been days since I got reply where to get it, furthermore no one got back to me with the retail price for this engine oil. Maybe one way of Q8 production team to secure its database of customers is advertising the correct price of where the end user enjoys. In this way the customers are educated with the retail price they get and cut throats can be avoided.

Please consider the approciate.

I have seen the list of dealer's price and MSRP(most suggested retail price).. and price gap..ah well.. what can i say is wowww!!!.. the gap keep widening till the highest range of the product. I hope there will be MSRP war among dealers so we (customer) can get the best price as possible..hehehe.

Btw, I'm using Q8 semi and switched from castrol magnatec for the recent oil change. Engine feels much more lighter and won't refuse to rev. Tappet sound has been reduced at quite acceptable level. It's really make alot of difference that I will continue to use Q8 from time to come

julianpang said:
I am a Q8 semi synthetic user. Previously, I was using other top brand of semi-synthetic oil.

I used my car daily and I do trash my car in autocross events regularly. I would say that Q8 is on par if not better than other top brand semi-synthetic that I used before. I switched to Q8 because it is proven in various types races before.

Go for it guys.

julianpang,

thank you for your support.......as for myself, ive used the T650 and the Q8 formula advance semi synth, compared to other good performance oils Q8 oils is really good and i appreciate the response that the oil gave me for a stock b16a engine.....

huakenny said:
in Kepong la i think...there is a memberselling Q8 in zth,recently selling in 'engine n performance'....u can source him out n ask for price....may cheaper..

its true alot of dealers are most situated in kepong.....but price for the oils itself is controlled by them, they can sell higher but may not sell lower...for this however will spoil the price market and as for end users will not get to enjoy to buy good quality oil....

Price however plays a vital role in selling one's product.........as for Q8, the quality will always maintained.....

As u see....it is made in the U.K and the brand itself have been patented and registered under the Kuwait Petroleum Corporation. It is an 100 % imported and not MADE LOCALLY.....

Thanx